We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quite simply stunning and unmissable!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tangalle, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Russian first
Any
English first
GeorgeJel...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Quite simply stunning and unmissable!”
Reviewed 16 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

From the moment you walk down the steps into the hillside home, you are enchanted by the architecture and surrounds, with three stunning bedrooms surrounding an open area for lounging by the ample pool. And then the food starts.... Madura, the chef, previously worked as a chef at Nobu in Dubai and in the Maldives. His cooking is exquisite, but more importantly, nothing is too much trouble, even catering for this westerner's tricky dietary requirements. The other staff need no lessons in hospitality either, including Wally the loveable ex-Police dog, who enjoys nothing more than snuggling up to you are playing on the lush lawns. Our group of four had the house to ourselves, as is the usual deal, and while we only stayed three days, we agreed that it was the best part of our trip to Sri Lanka. It is a must!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2018
Dear George
Thank you for your kind review. I am so glad that Madura and his team looked after you all so well. We are incredibly lucky to have him on board and his cooking gets 5 stars from all guests so I am delighted to see that he continues along this path.
Isn't Wally lovely...so affectionate and gentle.
Please come back soon.
Regards
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
faussett1
Bath
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth”
Reviewed 24 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Possibly the most perfect setting for Christmas in the sun!
The house is amazing, the staff are excellent, food amazing whilst being situated in a beautiful setting just above a stunning beach.
Highly recommended!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2018
Thank you for taking the to leave such a glowing review. It was a pleasure to host you and a Christmas in the sunshine is indeed hard to beat. All of us are so glad you had such a lovely time.

Thank you for your comments regarding the staff and the food all of which will of course be passed on and I am sure they will be thrilled to hear them.

We hope to see you back out in the sunshine again soon. Regards, Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDeligh...
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Blissful from start to finish!”
Reviewed 10 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The Walatta House is a very special place. Its garden leads straight onto a great little beach, the house is gorgeous and almost entirely outdoor except for the bedrooms meaning you are in and surrounded by nature the whole time and the staff are exceptional. I booked some time ago and was very worried about one terrible review a while ago... beach access was described as 'beyond dangerous' but we found a steepish slope but no danger at all. We also found that many other points did not match up to our experience. We found the property was kept to an excellent standard and we were waited on hand and foot by Madura and his great team. Meals were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. We did yoga overlooking the sea and enjoyed massages every other day - all organised by the team. We would go back in an instant!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review - it was a pleasure to host you. We are extremely glad to hear that any of your fears were allayed and that you had a wonderful holiday. Your comments regarding the team will be passed on to them and we hope to host you again in the future..
Regards, Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dagmarsed...
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wish I could stay longer...”
Reviewed 1 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing villa and its surrounding and very nice, professional team to make your stay so memorable. Unfortunately I could spend only 2 days, but hopefully I return some day... Awesome location, views and sunsets on the nearby beaches. The pool is fantastic...wish I could stay longer...The local team is incredible proffesional and friendly. They think on your individual needs before your arrival - really something that you do not face on other places...I do thank you for unforgettable stay...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review and I am glad that you had such a lovely time. We are lucky with our beaches directly in front of and close to the house and it is great that you were able to explore them although I agree that simply relaxing in the pool can be quite inviting. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and please come back soon as we'd love to look after you again.
Best regards
Jack Eden
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jnolan1
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Walatta met all our expectations... and more”
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Walatta met all our expectations and more. We're a family of 4, 2 boys aged 5 and 7.

The architecture and design of the house was very special with a balanced mix of outdoor and indoor living, and the interiors are super stylish and functional.

The property is walking distance to a very private beach. There are some other holiday villas close by but the beach was not crowded at all. There is a very sweet bar at the beach for a late afternoon drink and fresh mussels.

The walatta staff were great. The food was outstanding. One morning we walked to a nearby beach to watch the fishing boats come in and the house chef (alwis) was down there selecting our fresh fish for the day.

We travelled to nearby beaches for some surfing and adventuring which was all very easy but to be honest we ended up just staying at the villa and enjoying it... our boys still talk about chasing the fireflies at night. We can't recommend it enough if you're wanting a relaxing and grounding holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2017
Dear Jen, Thank you for taking the time to write the review. It is great that 'food to table' is just a few minutes when selecting fish...and I am thrilled that the small beach bar appears to have a 'foodie' in the kitchen also.
It would be our great pleasure to welcome you back and so I hope you will consider Sri Lanka again for your next holiday.
In the meantime many thanks.
best regards
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing