We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Tanjuro

Villa Tanjuro 1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Tanjuro 1
Villa Tanjuro Mawella Beach...few kilometers away from villa tanjuro
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
49 reviews
Villa Tanjuro 1
Villa Tanjuro
Mawella Beach...few kilometers away from villa tanjuro
Garden and Private Bungalow
Villa Entrance gate
Beach next to Villa Tanjuro, less than a minute walking distance
Beach next to Villa Tanjuro, less than a minute walking distance
Villa lounge area
Villa lounge area
Kitchen
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Delicious Sri Lankan cuisine
Breakfast
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tangalle, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
PaulSReil...
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 10 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Not our first time to Sri Lanka, but our first time to Tangalle. The villa is very well appointed with beautiful gardens and a very nice swimming pool. Very comfortable. The housekeepers provide excellent service and Prianca's cooking is highly recommended with very generous portions at very reasonable prices. We ate in about 8 nights of our 21 day stay. The housekeepers can also organise all your local trips and tuc tucs. We did the Whale tour, very good, the turtles, excellent, and the temples which were magnificent. We also did the blow hole, but it didn't blow on the day we were there, sea too calm. Tangalle town itself is a typical Asian town, plenty of ATM's and a decent supermarket with the "bottle shop" hidden behind the bus terminal. All the restaurants are along the beach front and all offer pretty much the same fair at reasonable prices. We particularly enjoyed The Red Banana, Harmony and Franjipans, but you have a lot of choices. Many restaurants are people's front gardens so you are getting Sri Lankan cooking and plenty of fish options. In the day time we mainly went to Franjipans, nice position on the beach and great to watch the fishermen hauling in their catch, and Harmony, nice cabanas, hammocks, good service and good food. But as said, there are many to choose from. Although we stayed for 21 days we had the impression that most visitors were passing through for a couple of days rather than extended stays. Still some development going on along the front but it is still very much a "sleepy" resort with no nightlife besides the restaurants and all quiet after 10:00pm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely gardens and pool
Liked least: No dishwasher
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenTall...
Mumbai, India
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay in Sri Lanka”
Reviewed 17 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at Villa Tanjuro! It was exactly what we were looking for in our stay. The villa was pleasant and welcoming. The pool was clean and well maintained as well as the grounds. The food was absolutely delicious every day. The villa is not far from the beach (easy walk). Easy walk to shopping as well or you can take a tuk tuk. It was nice and relaxing which was exactly what we needed. Thank you to Jayentha and Pryanka to making our stay pleasant and filling our tummies with deliciously prepared Sri Lankan foods. We would highly recommend Villa Tanjuro. The only thing I would recommend is to bring mosquito spray b/c there are alot of mosquitoes at night and Premetherin to spray the mosquito netting for the beds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, food, and pool are top on my list
Liked least: mosquitoes
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike E
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sri Lankan Experience”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful hidden jewel in the centre of Tangalle. Within easy walking distance of town and beach this villa was all we could have hoped for. Lots of home comforts, beautiful garden and a pool that was very well used by our children (and us!).

The hospitality of the Manager and his wife was second to none. We were treated like family and they went the extra mile to make our son's 12th birthday extra special. The dinners and breakfast they cooked for us were outstanding and gave us a real taste of Sri Lanka.

Thank you for the most wonderful holiday.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick L
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb villa in Tangalle - unforgetable stay”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week in villa Tanjuro in October 2015 and were very very pleased with our stay;

The colonial style villa is perfectly located, a 2 minutes walk to the beach and equal distance to the markets where you can source local fresh products. 3 rooms can accommodate up to 6 people in a very quiet environment and everything was there to make our stay unforgettable, especially the swimming pool, the large kitchen, fast Wi-Fi and ipod stations.

Above all, the villa manager helped us to book everything we needed, from massages to tuk tuk, and his wife cooked a fantastic lunch and diner with fresh products...for almost nothing...

Much better than staying in one of the many mid range hotels of the city...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The additional help and advices from villa manager
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2016
Merci Patrick! We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay @ Villa Tanjuro. Happy to welcome you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpatUAE9...
AbuDhabi
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal Villa in which to Relax”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The villa is situated within walking distance of the Tangalle and the beach. The villa itself has private gardens and an average size pool - good for enjoying a cool off as the temperature rises. The gardens are well tendered with a good variety of local plants. The staff that look after the villa are very attentive to the needs of the guests and will provide assistance with local transport -Tuk-Tuk or Vans for longer excursions and airport drop-off. The costs are reasonable. Meals can be provided and provide an opportunity to sample good local cuisine. The staff are man and wife and together provide a flexible support that can be tailored to individual needs. Overall a very relaxing villa and if you first time to Sri Lanka a good base for sight-seeing.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing