We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A big piece of heaven”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Saffron House

Looking due south across the veranda
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking due south across the veranda
Exceptional views and sea breezes Pool steps
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Looking due south across the veranda
Exceptional views and sea breezes
Pool steps
Two horizons
The Dikwella-Hiriketiya headland
From The Courtyard Bedroom
The Saffron House looking east
A storm coming in
The Croquet Lawn
Entrance steps
Looking towards the central courtyard
Hiriketiya Bay; a few minutes stroll down the lane
Fishing boats on Hiriketiya beach
Hiriketiya beach from the bottom of the lane
The Penguin and Japanese Araliya
The Veranda Sitting Area at sunset
The sitting area
Master Bedroom Two
Master Bedroom One Bathrrom
South east from the terrace
Bathroom shower
The Sea Bedroom from the east
From The Courtyard Bedroom
The Penguin by the pool
Nighttime across sthe pool to the coconut tree
Mater Bedroom One shower
Looking south west from the veranda
The Veranda Sitting Area
The Veranda Sitting Area at sunset
The Veranda Sitting Area at sunset
Desk in dining area and cloakroom
Bougainvillea on the drive
Heliconia
Master Bedroom One desk and chaise longue
Master Bedroom One
Master Bedroom One Bathroom
Master Bedroom One
Master Bedroom Two
The Courtyard Bedroom Bathroom
Master Bedroom Two and Japanese Areliya on the terrace
Master Bedroom Two
Master Bedroom Two
The Courtyard Bedroom
The Courtyard Bedroom
The Courtyard Bedroom
The Courtyard Bedroom
Master Bedroom Two
Master Bedroom One Bathroom
Japanese Araliya around the terrace
Nightime across the pool to the courtyard
Peacocks on the rocks at the bottom of the garden
Dikwella beach in the evening
From the terrace to The Sea Bedroom
The Sea Bedroom from the swimming pool
South east through the coconut trees
Gardens from the top of the drive
Lilies in the Koi Pond
Courtyard from Master Bedroom Two
South west across the Koi Pond
Looking south east from Master Bedroom Two
Heliconia in the flower garden
Whales occasionally pass the bottom of the garden within 400 meters.
The Courtyard Bedroom
The Courtyard Bedroom
Path up to the staff house
Looking south across the main lawn
Heliconia around the staff house
Looking south from the vegetable garden to the Croquet lawn
Looking west on the rocks towards Dondra lighthouse
More Heliconia in the flower garden
Looking West by the Croquet Lawn
The Croquet Lawn
Looking south west to The Sea Bedroom
From the Courtyard Room lawn
Side entrance from Dickwella side in the rain
Dickwella Beach to the west; a short stroll.
South east from the terrace
Looking south from Master Bedroom Two
From The Courtyard Bedroom
The Dikwella-Hiriketiya headland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Tangalle, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jamesk2s
swindon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A big piece of heaven”
Reviewed 14 May 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This is the most fabulous place. It's on an outcrop between two wonderful bays, the best of which is Hereketya Beach, and the view out to sea from the terraces is fantastic. The style of the villa is very upmarket Sri Lanka with four detached large bedrooms and the living area surrounding the pool and terrace, which makes you feel more part of the grounds (which are quite extensive) than part of a building. I could sit there for ever.
Christina and Jeremy are marvellous hosts. Chris's cooking and the kindness of both are second to none (if I wanted to go on Jeremy's food shopping trips to Dikwella then he would take me on the back of his motorbike - that's kindness!).
I've been to Sri Lanka a few times and the south coast is getting much easier to get to, with the new road to Matara. This has meant that Hereketya Beach instead of being completely deserted, and I meant completely, now has a small beach bar (Marty is great). Last time we sat on our own on the beach. This time was much more fun but still in a very quiet way.
Going back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The terrace, court yard and pool
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2016
Dear James,

Thank you so much for your kind review, particularly your comments about Chris & Jeremy; I know it makes a big difference to them when they know our guests have had a great time. You are welcome back any time!

Kind regards, Paul Deacon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xax2004
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A little paradise in south of Sri Lanka”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The Saffron House was without any doubt the best place we stayed during our trip in Sri Lanka. You can't dream of a better place to relax in a elegant and friendly way. You'll be welcome by a fantastic staff, very kind and always ready to help you. Chris prepared the best traditional srilankan food we ever tasted. You really have to ask her for her famous crab curry! The house is really beautiful, nice large rooms, an open lounge and a super pool big enough to swim and have a lot of fun with the kids. The view of the Indian Ocean is stunning. You can spend hours watching this beautiful unlimited landscape. Hiriketiya is the best beach we have tried in Sri Lanka and it's only a 5 mn walk.
Our stay at the Saffron House was the climax of our vacation. We hope to be able to come back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The staff, the food, the view
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words about The Saffron House, particularly about the staff; I know it makes a big difference to them when we get this sort of feedback. We are very lucky to have such friendly and capable people looking after our guests. Of course you are welcome back any time! Kind regards, Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitsimo
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stunning villa, great staff!”
Reviewed 23 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a fabulous 8 nights here in early March. The villas were very comfortable indeed, the bedding, pillows etc all top quality and ensured a good nights sleep. We had the sea villa which was lovely. The only downside was opening the shutters to get the view was such a hassle we kept them closed almost the whole holiday so really there was not much point staying down there. The general area was very comfortable with ample relaxation space. The pool was nice, if rather warm at this time of year. Food was very good indeed, best described as Sri Lankan home cooked food. All the staff were charming and worked really hard for us, even bring down lunch in a coolbox to the beach one day. Hiriketiya beach is getting rather busy now which is a bit of a shame, but still it is nice to be able to get some shade and have a beer on the beach. Two years ago i visited the beach and there was nothing there. Highly recommended villa. Thanks to Chris and the rest of the team!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2016
Dear Neil & Simone,
Many thanks for your kind review and your comments about the staff. Thanks also for the observation about the shutters in the Sea Bedroom. I agree they are a hassle to open & close which is a pity because the view is fantastic. I'll look into another mechanism and meanwhile ask the staff to open them up in the morning as a part of their routine. Thanks again for the positive review and we look forward to having you back again!
Kind regards, Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melw12342...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heavenly spot”
Reviewed 7 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We had a lovely time at Saffron House. Chris and her staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. She is a terrific cook so we ate extremely well. We loved the location overlooking the ocean and the house itself is beautifully done and very comfortable. The local beach is only a short stroll away and is the nicest we visited in Sri Lanka. We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Liked it all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Feb 2016
Dear Melanie, Thanks for your kind review. I'm so pleased you all had a good time and of course you are welcome back again! Kind Regards, Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“An Incredible stay”
Reviewed 30 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We were lucky enough to spend 1 week of luxury at Saffron House. The house is done to a very high standard. Extremely comfortable and spacious with terrific bedroom/bathrooms. We loved how there were Peacocks wondering around the garden.

The staff were extremely friendly and cooked us wonderful meals and they even had a masseuse who was fantastic! They organised day trips for us to see elephants and whales and a days shopping trip to Galle. I can't think of a better way to have your breakfast than sitting overlooking the sea eating freshly made fruit salad and banana pancakes.

One of the best beaches I have ever seen is approx. 200m away with a couple of bars and restaurants.

We will defiantly be coming back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2016
Hi Georgia M,
Many thanks for the feedback. I'm so please you had a good time and the staff like to know they are appreciated. Come back soon, kind regards, Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing