We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful Villa on a magic beach”
other travellers have booked this property
view from terrace over private pool to the beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view from terrace over private pool to the beach
pool deck with sun beds View pool to house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
view from terrace over private pool to the beach
pool deck with sun beds
View pool to house
Sala
Main entrance to the villa
orchids in the garden
Pool to house at night
Garden exit to the beach
Terrace ground floor -dining and sitting area
quiet ruaral surroundings near the small village of Rekawa
dining table to pool deck
courtyard to living room
Courtyard to main entrance
one of the visitors to the property - a peacock
one of the four bed rooms with double beds and Aircon
one of the 4 bed rooms with A/C
Bed room
one of the four bath rooms, each bedroom has its own bath
Living room with fsitting area and flat screen TV
Two of Sri Lanka´s most famous national parks are close by
First floor to beach view
Day bed on terrace in first floor with close beach view
Day bed
Colorful market scene in the near by village
excellent dinner
Beach directly in front of house, view to the East
Turtles come sometimes directly in front of the house to klay their eggs
Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Tangalle, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
W00dy1402
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pros and cons”
Reviewed 30 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Four of us stayed at this beautiful villa for 10 nights, lovely place, clean tidy, good chef and close enough to the beach, we enjoyed the water monitors visiting us by the lovely pool and even the odd snake!!
It is very remote but ideal if like us you wanted peace and quite. Only down side on the peace and quote was the building each side of the villa of two Cabanas whilst we were their.

One problem we had was there was no price next to the meals on the menu as we only had breakfast and the occasional evening meal, 2 cases of beer for the 10 days, this cost us around 110,000 SL rupees ( £540) . We felt we were always being asked by the manager and his brother for more money. Having travelled around Sri-lanka for a few weeks we thought this quite expensive. Maybe a mistake on our part. I would recommend the restaurants down the track though, the fishermans restaurant and the sunshine cafe, the food in both those places were superb and very good value.

All in all, a lovely villa, but watch out for the brothers grim.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2015
Hello Peter,

thank you for your nice review about the house , the beach , surroundings , cook and staff.

You see we try to offer high standards . Just the same we try with our kitchen which offers a variety of meat, seafood, fresh fish , lobster etc. always coming with different rice specialities and three side dishes of vegetables and salads. And finally European desserts: from mousse au chocolate or wanna cotta on mango mousse to crepe á la coco - only to mention a few.
All that you can have . But of course it is only a proposal ! One can also eat much more moderate and than of course much cheaper : it is just a matter of communication with the chef.

The menu , you mentioned, does not have prices because it is no real menu - it is just a kind of a sample of the dishes for our guests to see what the chef can do .

There are no "restaurant" prices in that "menu" as for all meals and beverages that you order the ingredients will be charged at market price.

And our guests decide themselves what they like to eat and drink .

Please do not compare us with the small and simple local restaurants sitting in the 3. row behind the beach, with no ambience, there you will never get the same quality !

A last word about Mr. Gayan: He is not one of our employees : In fact he owns a small resort by himself and
he is just a very good friend taking care of the house in our absence and taking care of our guests if they wish that. He is a very polite person and his only wish is to make people happy and to show them his wonderful country.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berry U
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A beautiful Villa on a magic beach”
Reviewed 21 December 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

After a long travel we arrived at the airport being picked up by the driver of Lanka Beach Villa. A beautiful drive in a comfortable minibus through scenic Sri Lanka we arrived at the Villa. WOW! A perfect spot on a golden beach with a beautiful house. The villa is well equipped and the staff is more than helpful. Everything is kept and cleaned in a perfect condition, the house, the garden and the crystal clear pool. You can enjoy the day at the Villa or the driver can take you in the minibus, to interesting, exciting, beautiful places all within a days travel. The location of the villa is a little remote but if you like a quiet place, this is the place to be. The staff will do the shopping for you or you can take the minibus or a tuk tuk to get you into town. Lanka Beach Villa is highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The villa with pool the beachfront and an excellent staff.
Liked least: The location is a little remote.
Travelling group: Tieners
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2015
Glad that you enjoyed your stay so much. We are always proud if our guests can appreciate the amenities of the house and of our staff...

We would be happy to welcome you back once again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve O
Seguin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The most relaxing vacation ever!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

After spending the last eight months in Kuwait (not exactly a garden location!), my wife and I spent one of the most relaxing weeks of our life at this villa. The villa, pool and grounds are kept meticulously clean. The meals were cooked and served to order. The staff were friendly, helpful and courteous. We really felt like we were at home. The sound of the breaking surf was a constant reminder that we were in an idyllic location. Our only visitor while we were there was a sea turtle who came up the beach to lay her eggs (which the staff moved to prevent anyone stealing them - very eco conscious). We will be back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: My own private villa on the beach.
Liked least: Surf was a little too strong for swimming.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2014
Thank you for your kind review:

We arevery glad you enjoyed your stay so much....

We always care very much for the turtles that come to "our" beach to lay their eggs. We released after your stay from that nest 62 hatchlings ( from a green turtle mama) - that was really a great feeling to see the baby turtles disappear into the sea...

Looking to have you back soon !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Reviewed 12 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hamburg
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 May 2014
Happy you liked your stay so much. Thank you for your nice review. Hope to welcome you back soon...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing