We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, romantic and breathtaking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2017

We slept two nights in the chalet and one night in the cabanas.
The chalet was very new, big and confortable. It has all the top european standars, quiet, private and with air condition.
The last night we slept in the cabanas. The cabanas are really nice, they have bastroom underground and it is really lovely to stay there, but there is no air condition, and unfortunatly it is really needed if you want to sleep!

Room Tip: choose for the air condition even if is more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valentina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2017

This place is great, with really well done cabanas, but it is quite far from everything else...
I stayed in one of the two "garden" cabanas (number 6) and it was great. Really good size room, with a huge bed (plus an extra single) and lovely polished concrete bathroom. There are nice chairs and hammocks at the front of it. I think you get a little more space and a better view from cabana 6 than #7. The garden cabanas are out of the breeze of the beach so I was worried it would be too hot, but the fan was really good.
The breakfast was OK, not the greatest we had on the island, but not bad. For dinner, they say you have to order meals by 5pm so that's what we did but, having read other reviews about eating there, I am not 100% sure that it is true... something to keep in mind if you are arriving late, because it really is quite far from everything else.
The location on the beach is lovely, and very picturesque, but the sea at the section of the beach in front of the cabanas is ferocious and you wouldn't want to go near it. There is a swimming area about 5mins walk away (a fairly tough 5 mins with the super soft sand and strong wind), outside the chalet restaurant.
As with most places, some staff were more helpful than others, but they always got the job done and were never rude or anything so I am definitely not complaining about that, at all.

In summary, great cabanas in an isolated location (although they are built fairly close to each other, but it was not a problem), with food and staff that were alright but nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: Garden cabana #6 seemed to be the better of the two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unikitty3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

Our family of 4 (with 2 boys aged 8 & 10) loved this place. Our chalet was polished concrete, very simple decorated and perfect for our needs. There were only around 10 other chalets on this part of the beach and they were set back 100m or so from the beach and surrounded by palm trees.

The Positives were:

Peaceful and idyllic setting
Cool, clean, spacious cabana
Stylish veranda
30m away from the fantastic beach bar / restaurant
Huge lagoon with free kayaks - perfect for spotting birds, lizards and monkeys from
Friendly staff
Clean, well kept beach
Great food and drink options at reasonable prices - lots of variety and very well executed.

Negatives:

Swimming -The area of sea you could swim in was pretty small and still required vigilance by both children and adults. It was an area of water mostly surrounded by a shallow reef. We couldn't comfortably let the kids swim in there without us very close by in the water as there was a strong current pulling out towards the open sea. However, it was fun as most of the time the waves were great for jumping into and body surfing back.

Food - No other nearby restaurant options (that we found) and no fridge in the chalet so you have to eat at the restaurant for each meal. We were there for 5 nights and found that, for that amount of time, it was great. Any longer and I think we would have needed a change.

For us it would have been perfect if there had been a little shop selling snacks, sun-cream, beach gear etc. I'm sure it would do really well with the captive audience!

Overall we absolutely loved this accommodation and think they are doing a great job.

Room Tip: The 'chalets' are perfect for families. We stayed in Number 8 and the location was ideal, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank yesmynameisalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

The location was stunning and the rooms very clean.
The beachside restaurant was the only place available for breakfast. The service there was very poor.
The place was significantly over-staffed by young men who lolled about playing with their smartphones.
Trying to get a boiled egg was a problem.They were too busy playing Pokemon or whatever. They seemed to resent you appearing to want something to eat in the middle of a good game.
It was a real pity because the beach was absolutely beautiful.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank IJDIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

I stayed just a couple minutes walking from my hotel to the place. It's a really nice view and the food is good and average price. The seafood dishes were fresh and the menu has quiet a few options. As I didn't stay there I can't say anything about the accommodation, but the restaurant is cool

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Everson F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
5.8 km away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
4.8 km away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#7 of 22 in Tangalle
352 reviews
6.1 km away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#4 of 22 in Tangalle
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Cinnabar Resort
Cinnabar Resort
#4 of 152 in Tangalle
301 reviews
1.1 km away
Ganesh Garden Beach Cabanas
3.4 km away
Buckingham Place
Buckingham Place
#1 of 2 in Rekawa
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets

Address: Kapuhenwela | Marakolliya, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 152 Speciality Lodging in Tangalle
Price Range: ₹ 3,740 - ₹ 7,608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets Hotel Tangalle
Mangrove Beach Cabanas And Chalets

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing