We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (618)
Filter reviews
618 results
Traveller rating
434
128
38
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
434
128
38
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree kayaksnatural poolbeach cabanasri lankapolished concretesafe areaswimming areamosquito netrestaurant area istwo nightsstrong currentstuk tukgreat cabanasparadise on earthhigh wavescold beerno hot water
Filter
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 618 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2015

We spend there 2 nights, to relax a bit after visiting the inland of Sri Lanka. It must be a taste of heaven : a beautiful beach, very clean, with coconut trees bringing some shadow, fine sand, great sunsets. You may lay on long chairs or hamacs. The sea is warm, just know that you can only bath before a small rock barrier, that protects you (partly) from waves and stream. It is too dangerous to go further than that. The chalets are comfortable, large and located under the coconut trees, a few meters from the beach. Note that they are open, but your bed is protected by mosquito nets. And last but not least, the restaurant, a few tables on the beach, is simply excellent. Complete breakfast (fresh juice, fruits, toasts, curd, coffee/tea), excellent seafood, nicely cooked ; and what a pleasure to eat on the beach, just looking at the Indian Ocean ! All the place is constructed with natural material, especially wood, some of it floated wood from the sea. And all that for a reasonable price (70 € incl. breakfast, for three of us).

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Knar-NP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2015 via mobile

We pre booked 4 nights at the simple beach cabanas for 50€ a night.
The place is wonderful set, right by the beach, surrounded by palm trees and hammocks, we felt like Robinson Crusoe.

We decided to change our plans and skip 2 nights. We did not accept a refund for the 2 nights, but without a question the management gave us the money back!
Wow, what a great service.

Breakfast by the beach was great, and the staff very kind and helpful.

Thank you BEACH CABANAS!

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Justin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2015

The cabanas are a great place for relaxing and just enjoying a piece of almost empty tropical beach. The sea is too rough for swimming, but luckily there's a natural pool close by. It's also possible to use kayaks for free in order to explore the lagoon. Nice! Staff and food is also top notch :-)

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nicolai B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2015

We stayed in the Mangrove Cabana for 3 nights and it exceeded expectations. It was the perfect way to finish our fantastic holiday in Sri Lanka. It is incredibly chilled out, quiet and we often felt like we had the run of the place and the beach to ourselves. The food was great and the service was fantastic although unobtrusive. A lot more low key than Unawatuna and Mirissa with less people and more space. The Cabanas are lovely- simple but spacious and clean. They have the recipe right here.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank PaulaMac76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2015

its great there; meals are normal; we ate the 1st evening cause shower rain; and morning after , it was sunny: we stayed 3 nights there; beach is cleaned every day; lots of palm trees , shadow on the chalet...ideal; we just regret that as i explained to them, that the chalet have lots of space open above doors, Windows and squirrels come Inside to piss and more on floor and mattress;we saw 1 squirrel eating after cutting the platic , cacao powder we bought in a shop... i asked cleaning persons to make correctly the floor cause it was smelling strong sometimes.the chalet are nice outside and Inside its cement color everywhere...( strange): look like as not finished
breakfast is ok
wifi possible only at the bar, not in rooms

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank patrick h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews