We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2012 via mobile

Located at the beach. Great food (fish of the day was awesome) and very friendly staff. Beach was quiet with some local fishermen and a few tourists. Two minor details need to be improved: - towels were of poor quality (unable to get dry), mattress was a little small and thin.
Overall highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marineau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 286 of 585 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2012

A little out of the way from tangalle.cabanas are well made and very clean. Nice ocean breeze blowing thru wooden slats and quirky underground bathroom.not recommended for anyone unsteady on their feet or with small children as stairs are very steep.shower has excellent pressure.a hook for the floor hatch would be a great safety addition so as to not knock you out if it falls down.they provide beach towels.beach is very rough,too rough to swim.guy who check us in was great but wait staff could be more attentive.having to order dinner at 4pm was a bit odd.their sister property has the same boaring menu.free wifi.nice location

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank propsgirlnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We just finished our stay at the Mangrove chalets and we cant wait to share a great review. It is simple, yet stylish. Prisitne postcard beaches that are virtually empty. Fantastic staff who bent over backward for us, even made us a birthday cake one evening. Simple but delicious food. Great for families because of the family chalets. We spent our days playing in thie waves as kayaking in the lagoon. The perfect holiday, we didnt want to leave!

Room Tip: The chalets are a bit more upscale than the cabanas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brusselsprout2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Well I'm a local. And for a local beaches of Sri Lanka is not much of a big deal. But that all changed when I visited Mangrove beach cabanas. The hotel was the most serene one I've ever been to. If you want to relax and let the stress go away this is the perfect stop. I stated for two days and the experience was amazing. Everything from environment to food was perfect.

There are no modern luxuries here. No TV, no wifi. (But there is hot/cold water) Who needs them when you come to relax. It's just complete calmness. The staff was so friendly. We do not experience the that level of friendliness in 4/5 stars in Colombo even. However none of these were the highlight of my visit.

It was the FOOD. First night I had a western meal which was great. Second day I opted for local cuisine which completely threw me off guard. It was so tasty that I ate so much. It was the best local food I ever had. Trust me. The cooking was simply unbelievable. My post may sound a bit over-hyped. But it is really that good. If you do get here make sure to ask for a fish curry with white rice and some veggies. You will be blown away.

Room Tip: If you are going for a family chalet make sure to pick one closer to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TM_Fallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This place is heaven! I was there last May and I am going again in 5 weeks time - must experience a great pleasure again! - it has a beautiful clean beach with no hawkers, very few tourists and only a handful of fishermen unloading their catch (which you will probably have at your meal later on!). There are cabanas and bungalows; I stayed in a bungalow and found it to be very comfortable; the bed linen was spotless as was the room and bathroom where everything worked. You can sleep with the windows open (they) have mosquito netting) listening to the sea and in the early morning, the birds. The food is extremely good; the staff are most helpful and courteous. It is so lovely there that I hesitate to "advertise" it as it would be such a shame if it were spoilt by hoards of tourists.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool, but who needs that when you are on an Indian Ocean beach?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatajiReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
5.8 km away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
4.8 km away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#6 of 22 in Tangalle
353 reviews
6.1 km away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#4 of 22 in Tangalle
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Cinnabar Resort
Cinnabar Resort
#4 of 153 in Tangalle
302 reviews
1.1 km away
Ganesh Garden Beach Cabanas
3.4 km away
Buckingham Place
Buckingham Place
#1 of 2 in Rekawa
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets

Address: Kapuhenwela | Marakolliya, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 153 Speciality Lodging in Tangalle
Price Range: ₹ 3,759 - ₹ 7,583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mangrove Beach Cabanas And Chalets
Mangrove Beach Cabanas & Chalets Hotel Tangalle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing