We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and homely”

The Trees Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 213 Restaurants in Tangalle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 1 - US$ 2
Description: A Family Restaurant for you all to enjoy Fabulous Sri Lankan cuisines in a local surrounding. Fresh Sea food daily from the local fisherman in the aria. Try us ones, we are different. you will be back. Serve Alcohol ,wine,beer.Kuma & Family..
Restaurant details
Description: A Family Restaurant for you all to enjoy Fabulous Sri Lankan cuisines in a local surrounding. Fresh Sea food daily from the local fisherman in the aria. Try us ones, we are different. you will be back. Serve Alcohol ,wine,beer.Kuma & Family..
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Went because of recommendations, was full. Bit beyond than the Tangalle strip, quiet lane without music. Family restaurant / service, very welcoming, cute little kid. Had full plates of tasty kottu roti and complimentary pancakes.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The T, Owner at The Trees Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Owner,The trees
(family father)
April 7 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to visit us,recently and for writing such a wonderfull review of your experience!

Welcome you back to paradise for another memorable experience.

Warm regards
The trees..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 107 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

We were delighted we went to TheTrees Restaurant. It was a Full Moon holiday, not many customers, actually we are the only table during our lunch. The owner is very friendly and showed me his garden with coffee trees, pepper trees, cinemon tree, and a lot other types. The food is really delicious, the prawns with the home made sause is perfect match, curry dishes are the best of the kind. defintely will recommend to others and my wife already decided to go there again.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank wilwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The T, Owner at The Trees Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Owner,The trees
(family father)
April 7 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to visit us,recently and for writing such a wonderfull review of your experience! Welcome you back to paradise for another memorable experience.

Warm regards
The trees..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Very good food, both fish and chicken. Cheap price. Charming family. You should go there if you are in Tangalle.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Maren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The T, Owner at The Trees Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Owner The trees restaurant
(family father)
March 29 2018

Thank you! Your Response is most helpfull, your Response to our family restaurant is very important.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely meal at The Trees. The food is authentic Sri Lankan and delicious, whilst the prices are very reasonable and far cheaper than the restaurants on the beach front for fresh seafood.
And what’s more, the restaurant is owned and run by a lovely local family who make the experience all the more enjoyable - all in all, this place is brilliant!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank MJN87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The T, Owner at The Trees Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Owner The trees
(family father)
March 28 2018

Thank you! Your response is most helpful, your response to our family restaurant is very important.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Myself and three friends decided to visit here and we were not disappointed. The restaurant is small and family run, the entire family make you feel very welcome especially Sunemoon the youngest staff member (3&1/2 years old) who was exceptional with guest relations, dancing and even putting a plaster on our friend's grazed knee! Kumar is a great chef.
We tried the seafood noodles, the kottu rotti and the prawns, the food was genuinely some of the best Sri Lankan food we have had in our 18 day trip, such lovely flavours and very reasonably priced.
I would without doubt eat here again.
You even get to write your name on their wall as a momento of your visit.
Perfect visit.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Edmundo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The T, Owner at The Trees Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Owner,The trees
(family father)
28.march.2018

Thank you! Your response is most helpful, your response to our family resraurant is very important.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Trees Restaurant also viewed

Tangalle, Southern Province
Tangalle, Southern Province
 
Tangalle, Southern Province
 

Been to The Trees Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing