We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant surf school ”

Tangalle Surf School
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Established in 2003 we are sponsored and supported by the Academy of Surfing Instructors sri lanka. We have a reputation for our open, fun and friendly atmosphere. Our Surf School headquarter is located at the eco beach Hotel just in front of medakatiya Beach, making our school the perfect and suitable place to learn surfing. Our surf courses is suitable for beginners and intermediate level surfers between the ages of 7 and 60. No matter if you are young or old, have never surfed, or just had a few go’s at it, and you’d like to learn or/and do more, Tangalle surf school is the right school for you. Not only do we provide surf lessons, we also offer surf tours around tangalle. Check out our affordable best rates, type of lessons & tours, schedule and start designing your surf lesson & tour experience with us today!
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

Went there with three teenage kids. Learned to surf in less than an hour !
Even me as an 50 year old ;)

Very nice and professional instructors Sam and Lashi, decent material, awesome surf spots and a good price (especially compared with the other surf school)

Would definitely recommend!

Thank Joris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maheshmahesh, General Manager at Tangalle Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Dear Joris

Thank you for your recent lesson had with us. We know that you have many options when choosing where to have surf lesson at tangalle . The Fact that you choose Tangalle surf school is an honor to us.

We sincerely hope you enjoyed your lesson and will come back again!
If there is anything which you feel like we overlooked then please let us know.
Looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Mahesh
T: +94716789932

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"fresh coconut"
in 2 reviews
"pick up"
in 2 reviews
"sam"
in 6 reviews
"instructor"
in 2 reviews
"beginners"
in 5 reviews
"towels"
in 4 reviews
"surf"
in 5 reviews
"lesson"
in 4 reviews
"waves"
in 4 reviews
"beach"
in 5 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

We very enjoyed this moment with the children ! They were so happy and the monitors are very competents and close to children ! It was in January but every body keep a very good memory about this moment ! Thank you very much to the instructors and we will be happy to come back to see you !

Lou of Reunion Island !

Thank FamilleBambou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maheshmahesh, General Manager at Tangalle Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Dear Famill

Thank you for your recent surf lesson had with us. We know that you have many options when choosing where to having surf

lesson at tangalle The Fact that you Tangalle surf school is an honor to us.

We sincerely hope you enjoyed your lesson and will come back again!

If there is anything which you feel like we overlooked then please let us know.

Looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Mahesh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

I had a lesson with Sam about a month ago, I had previously had a lesson in England with a group where I managed to stand about twice in 2 hours. With Sam there was just me and another girl and by the end of the lesson we were both catching waves consistently. He teaches a simple technique which was far easier than the one I had precisely learned.

He also has good taste in Reggae and is a lovely guy. I hope to go back and surf with him again one day

Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maheshmahesh, General Manager at Tangalle Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Dear chris

Thank you for your recent surf lesson had with us. We know that you have many options when choosing where to having surf

lesson at tangalle The Fact that you Tangalle surf school is an honor to us.

We sincerely hope you enjoyed your lesson and will come back again!

If there is anything which you feel like we overlooked then please let us know.

Looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Mahesh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

Sam was a fantastic and professional teacher. He picked us up from our villa in his minivan, he knows the local area really well and recommended beaches for our level of experience. He’s a great teacher with lots of advice and tips on technique. He speaks English really well. Everything is provided - towels, water and fresh coconut, surfboards obviously. Highly recommended.

Thank rpan34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maheshmahesh, General Manager at Tangalle Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Dear Rpan

Thank you for your recent surf lesson had with us. We know that you have many options when choosing where to having surf

lesson at tangalle The Fact that you Tangalle surf school is an honor to us.

We sincerely hope you enjoyed your lesson and will come back again!

If there is anything which you feel like we overlooked then please let us know.

Looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Mahesh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

First we were a bit skeptical regarding Tangalle Surf School, since we didn't manage to find their office anywhere in town. We booked one surf lesson with Sam and the day turned out to be one of the best things we had done during our trip. Sam was an excellent teacher and we had a blast, so there was absolutely no reason to be doubtful! I

f you are in Tangalle and are interested in surfing, you really should book some lessons with Sam. We wish we would have gone surfing earlier so that we would have been able to take more lessons!

Thank maaniittu23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maheshmahesh, General Manager at Tangalle Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Dear Mannittu

Thank you for Having surf lesson from us at Tangalle surf school I hope we achieved our goal in making your surf lesson

memorable by providing outstanding service.

We strive to make the experience at Tangalle surf school one you will remember forever. Therefore, your comments are very

important to us.

We Love to hear your feedback and use it to review and improve our services every day! Looking forward to welcome you again

soon.

Mahesh General Manager
T: +94716789932

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tangalle Surf School also viewed

Tangalle, Southern Province
Tangalle, Southern Province
 
Tangalle, Southern Province
Tangalle, Southern Province
 

Been to Tangalle Surf School? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing