We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,693)
Filter reviews
1,693 results
Traveller rating
1,331
273
62
21
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,331
273
62
21
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsforest dwellingprivate poolour honeymoonwater dwellingresident crocodilepaddy fieldssunken bathoverlooking the lakesri lankaon stiltseco hotelslender lorisnature reservegolf buggynight walkbathroom areaopen plan
Filter
Updating list...
1,449 - 1,454 of 1,693 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2009

We stayed at vil uyana for 3 nights at the start of our honeymoon tour of Sri Lanka. We stayed in a forest dwelling with private pool and i can honestly say that the hotel is fantastic. The room was amazing completely private with 10 metre private pool. The bathroom was on the lower level partially open air with a huge bath tub. The hotel was 5 star with very friendly staff, i would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 78gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

I stayed at Vil Uyana for 3 nights with my husband, kids and my parents, and it had to be one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in. The food was marvellous, and the hotel staff were absolutely great. We saw some beautiful birds, 2 crocodiles, quite a few monitor lizards, some great big frogs (very tropical looking things in bright green!!) and found a snake at the chalet we stayed in! A definite must for those who love nature.................... I look forward to the time when we can return to this beautiful place!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loveholidays1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

We spent the first five nights of our wonderful holiday in Sri Lanka at this fantastic hotel. From the moment we arrived to the time we left everything about this place was special. The beautiful setting, the extensive wildlife, the spacious and luxurious rooms, the friendly and efficient staff, the top quality food, the clean and relaxing pool, absolutely everything was top notch and we loved every minute of our time here.
For the first two days we just chilled in the peaceful, natural surroundings of the hotel, walking in the grounds past paddy fields, lakes and forests. Occupancy was low and we loved being the only guests swimming in the infinity pool and allowing the stressess of life to just melt away.
On our first morning walk after breakfast we saw both of the marsh crocodiles, a 4ft water monitor attacking and eating a snake, 4 peacocks, countless birds and butterflies and amazing views.
The food in the restaurant was superb, breakfast is a la carte, cooked, presented and served to a very very high standard - enough to last us all of the day. The fresh bread and pastry basket was a delight and something I will remember for a very long time. We only ate lunch once as we are early dinner people but there was a lovely choice on the lunch menu. Dinner was fantastic whether eating a la carte or the 5 course fixed menu. We did both and never had anything that was not first class it is preparation or presentation. The service was excellent at all meal times.
Days 3 and 4 we left early for excursions with our Driver/Guide Suresh who we organised before arriving in Sri Lanka - highly recommended. This hotel is perfectly situated for the Sigiriya area and we visited the lion rock (which we climbed!!), Polonnaruwa, Dumballa Cave Temple, Elephant riding and Safari in Minneriya National Park. Returning to the hotel at dusk for a freshen up, followed by pre dinner G & T in the library looking out over the lake with the one you love was as close to perfection as I think I have ever been.
We really, really loved this hotel for its peaceful and natural setting, high quality accommodation and excellent service and we cannot recommend it enough. Go on treat yourself......you're worth it!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sunshine805808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

This place was truly something. We arrived there pretty tired after climbing the Sigirya rock. Its quite a walk from the entrance to the reception, but they do have small carts to drive you around. The staff was really kind and friendly. They checked us in to this lovely two floor suite, ground floor is your swimming pool in the open. covered by bamboo's and stuff so you get all the privacy you need, and the first floor of the suite only the bathroom and the shower (huge) and the first floor is your bedroom over looking your private swimming pool :)
If you are not a nature lover and not on the look out for birds and snakes and other wild animals, then this is not the place for you. Ex: we were having breakfast and all of a sudden we see this huge crocodile swimming around the hotel lake, apparently its the local crocodile who lives there :)
Their food was pretty good, especially the rice and the curries. The staff was always helpful and friendly.

The only downfall about this place is the mosquitoes, unfortunately there is no mosquito net over the bed and the AC does not keep the bugs away.
4.2

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShawnWithCaterina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2009

Excellent location,well blended to the natural environment.Had a very beautiful holiday.Everything was amazing....the forest dwelling we stayed,private pool,massive bathroom,of course the FOOD.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.We had our little one with us and the restaurant staff was caring enough to prepare a special dinner for him to take away in case if he gets hungry in the middle of the night.Very impressed by the service.
Our families joined us to have lunch one day and they also had a very nice time enjoying the hotel environment and the services.Special thanks go to Anushka in reservations for arranging the day out for our family members.
Definitely we will be back next time.
Overall..ONE OF THE BEST HOTELS IN THE WORLD!!!!WORTH THE EXPERIENCE
Loved It!!!!!!!!!

A small tip: Try to contact central reservations by phone or jetwing website www.jetwing.com (which manages the hotel) when you want to book, to get cheaper rates. They are a really nice bunch of people!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UpuSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews