We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and eco tourism....and a view of Sigiriya rock”
Review of Jetwing Vil Uyana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2009

Sometimes being a captive audience can have its drawbacks, but in this "Small Luxury Hotels of the World" eco property, you are made to feel that you are one of the family.
Initially, as we arrived when the property was fully booked, our first impression did not convey this. However after one night, we were upgraded to a Forest Suite, where we woke each day to the calls of the peacocks and a view of one of the wonders of the world!
In this relatively new property of 28 bungalows set over either water, paddy field, marsh or in the forest , Management have worked with the local community to offer traineeships to youngsters to begin their hospitality careers. It's all about sustainability. There is a charming and informative Naturalist on site and the personalised tour is well worth the early wake up call!
Food & Beverage under the competent management of Roshan Sugathadasa, is an experience at each sitting. We celebrated an anniversary while there and every effort was made to make it as special and romantic as possible. We were made feel like royalty!
There is a beautiful spa managed by Dr Dinesh Edirisinghe who consulted and defined your body and best treatment program for your stay (we had a 3 day program) and the the magic hands of Chamini his assistant and his team worked on every tired muscle!
Overall a wonderful experience! The only slight inconvenience is transport within the site. There are two golf buggies with very friendly drivers, but when the property is full you may have to wait some time for your pick-up.
On departure we were farewelled by Mr Eashan Pathirana the Assistant Manager and other members of the Executive team and staff. After only 3 days. we felt as though we were leaving our second home.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annierodSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,292 - 1,296 of 1,505 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2009

We stayed at vil uyana for 3 nights at the start of our honeymoon tour of Sri Lanka. We stayed in a forest dwelling with private pool and i can honestly say that the hotel is fantastic. The room was amazing completely private with 10 metre private pool. The bathroom was on the lower level partially open air with a huge bath tub. The hotel was 5 star with very friendly staff, i would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 78gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

I stayed at Vil Uyana for 3 nights with my husband, kids and my parents, and it had to be one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in. The food was marvellous, and the hotel staff were absolutely great. We saw some beautiful birds, 2 crocodiles, quite a few monitor lizards, some great big frogs (very tropical looking things in bright green!!) and found a snake at the chalet we stayed in! A definite must for those who love nature.................... I look forward to the time when we can return to this beautiful place!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loveholidays1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

We spent the first five nights of our wonderful holiday in Sri Lanka at this fantastic hotel. From the moment we arrived to the time we left everything about this place was special. The beautiful setting, the extensive wildlife, the spacious and luxurious rooms, the friendly and efficient staff, the top quality food, the clean and relaxing pool, absolutely everything was top notch and we loved every minute of our time here.
For the first two days we just chilled in the peaceful, natural surroundings of the hotel, walking in the grounds past paddy fields, lakes and forests. Occupancy was low and we loved being the only guests swimming in the infinity pool and allowing the stressess of life to just melt away.
On our first morning walk after breakfast we saw both of the marsh crocodiles, a 4ft water monitor attacking and eating a snake, 4 peacocks, countless birds and butterflies and amazing views.
The food in the restaurant was superb, breakfast is a la carte, cooked, presented and served to a very very high standard - enough to last us all of the day. The fresh bread and pastry basket was a delight and something I will remember for a very long time. We only ate lunch once as we are early dinner people but there was a lovely choice on the lunch menu. Dinner was fantastic whether eating a la carte or the 5 course fixed menu. We did both and never had anything that was not first class it is preparation or presentation. The service was excellent at all meal times.
Days 3 and 4 we left early for excursions with our Driver/Guide Suresh who we organised before arriving in Sri Lanka - highly recommended. This hotel is perfectly situated for the Sigiriya area and we visited the lion rock (which we climbed!!), Polonnaruwa, Dumballa Cave Temple, Elephant riding and Safari in Minneriya National Park. Returning to the hotel at dusk for a freshen up, followed by pre dinner G & T in the library looking out over the lake with the one you love was as close to perfection as I think I have ever been.
We really, really loved this hotel for its peaceful and natural setting, high quality accommodation and excellent service and we cannot recommend it enough. Go on treat yourself......you're worth it!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R&RNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

This place was truly something. We arrived there pretty tired after climbing the Sigirya rock. Its quite a walk from the entrance to the reception, but they do have small carts to drive you around. The staff was really kind and friendly. They checked us in to this lovely two floor suite, ground floor is your swimming pool in the open. covered by bamboo's and stuff so you get all the privacy you need, and the first floor of the suite only the bathroom and the shower (huge) and the first floor is your bedroom over looking your private swimming pool :)
If you are not a nature lover and not on the look out for birds and snakes and other wild animals, then this is not the place for you. Ex: we were having breakfast and all of a sudden we see this huge crocodile swimming around the hotel lake, apparently its the local crocodile who lives there :)
Their food was pretty good, especially the rice and the curries. The staff was always helpful and friendly.

The only downfall about this place is the mosquitoes, unfortunately there is no mosquito net over the bed and the AC does not keep the bugs away.
4.2

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShawnWithCaterina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
10.4 km away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,682 reviews
5.2 km away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,620 reviews
6.7 km away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 16 in Dambulla
3,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
133 reviews
1.8 km away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Sigiriya
428 reviews
5.0 km away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Vil Uyana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Vil Uyana

Address: Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
#2 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range: ₹ 18,633 - ₹ 48,537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Vil Uyana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Infused with eco friendly, sustainable modern design, Jetwing Vil Uyana is nestled deep in the heart of the island paradise of Sri Lanka incorporating five main ecological zones from forests to marshes. It is a retreat perfect for tranquility seekers or for those who wish to be close to the island’s rich array of flora and fauna. The challenge of introducing a wetland system on reclaimed agricultural lands provides the unique backdrop for this exciting property. A strong ‘back to nature’ theme pervades your every moment at Jetwing Vil Uyana and the uniqueness of the experience is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Prestigia so you can book your Jetwing Vil Uyana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Vil Uyana Sigiriya
Jetwing Vil Uyana Hotel Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing