We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and very comfortable stay”
Review of Jetwing Vil Uyana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Sigiriya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2015

This hotel is incredibly beautiful. The staff is very helpful and the manager, Indika, is very hospitable and attentive. I will def stay there again and I will recommend it to friends and family. I stayed there for one night while visiting Sigirya Rock. Its very close to the rock and offers a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lara_Sul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review us on your stay at Jetwing Vil Uyana. We are very pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you have essentially enjoyed our warm Hospitality in every way. Giving the best of us to our valued guest is our upmost satisfaction and seeing them happy is nothing better than anything for us here at Jetwing Vil Uyana.

We have shared your wonderful compliments with the entire team, which will lead them a long way in this journey. Do visit us back soon again for another memorable time with us here at Jetwing Vil Uyana.

Ayubowan,

Indika Gamage
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

442 - 446 of 1,505 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2015

The Jetwing Vil Uyana is far from being a traditional hotel. The main entrance is situated at the side of a fairly lengthy unmade road which is itself some distance from the town of Sigiriya and its famous Lion Rock which is visible in the distance from the upper level of the hotel’s main building. This road was characterised by numerous deep potholes presenting a real challenge to the unwary motorist.

Arriving at the entrance all that is visible directly inside is an elevated boardwalk seemingly leading directly into the jungle and the unprepared could be forgiven for wondering precisely what they’d let themselves in for. The main hotel building is reached with the assistance of a small electrically powered buggy.

All the hotel’s rooms, which are actually self-contained and separately constructed small thatched roof dwellings, are located as well as partially concealed in a setting calculated to represent living in a jungle. We had 'room' 134 which was actually several minutes’ walk along a firmed dirt track from the main hotel building which itself is designed to blend in with its surroundings. Much wildlife is in evidence in the immediate surroundings of each room and, in our case, we had a resident peacock, average sized monitor lizard, and innumerable frogs all of which serenaded us with their melodic croaking during the night. I found this quite pleasant but others might disagree according to personal taste.

Our room was actually a small two story storey thatched house with its bedroom on the upper floor and a large bathroom area on the ground floor complete with walk in shower and Jacuzzi constructed from natural stone. I was unimpressed with the two sinks in the bathroom which were rectangular in shape and far too shallow. Neither of the sinks had a plug which worked and, when I pointed this out to the man responsible for maintaining the room he merely shrugged his shoulders and told me that the plugs were broken, a fact of which I was already well aware. No attempt was made to rectify this minor problem during my four day stay. The bedroom air-conditioner was located directly above the bed and was so sited that it blew a draft of cold air directly downwards onto our heads. Again it proved impossible to adjust the direction of the air flow – even with the assistance of the room attendant.

The room also had its own private plunge pool and sunbed area directly to the rear of the premises which was a particularly welcome facility in the cloying heat of the late afternoon.

I particularly enjoyed the afternoon ‘high tea’ which was served to us in a small open sided and comfortably appointed area called the ‘library’ which directly overlooks the small lake forming the central area of the hotel complex. Several fresh water crocodiles could be observed swimming within this lake in addition to many fish of varying sizes and waterfowl of differing species.

The restaurant, which is also open sided and on the upper floor abutting the lake, is well appointed. The menus, while not extensive, were varied and the quality of the food served was excellent both at dinner and breakfast. Without exception the hotel staff were all friendly, courteous, and attentive.

This is an excellent hotel for those seeking a tranquil location as well as a base from which to explore locally interesting sites in the Sigiriya area at a relaxed pace.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Juan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank You for taking time to review us on your stay at Jetwing Vil Uyana.
We are glad to read that you had enjoyed the overall service and facilities of the hotel and would like to thank you for your positive feedback on the room, the breathtaking view of the hotel, delicious food and about the staff.

With our unique concept and different types of rooms forest dwelling takes a special place in our guest’s heart due its calm, private and soothing effect.
We do apologies for the in connivance caused on the House Keeping Service.

However rest assured that we have taken necessary action on that incident to prevent any in - connivances as well as on the breakdowns. We always strive to improve the quality and standards of our service and your honest feedback is much appreciated. Our friendly and professional associates are always dedicated to provide the best service to our loyal customers.

Being an eco hotel our priorities are committed to nature activities. Jetwing Vil Uyana is a prime location for bird watching and for other nature lovers. We organize nature trails such as bird watching, Safari tours, Village walks, sightseeing tours and latest being the Loris watching during the night which is only available at Jetwing Vil Uyana.
Once again, thank you for being with us and guaranteed that your feedback have been passed on to the entire team.


Ayubowan,

Indika Gamage
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2015

Absolutely superb, a real escape set in a beautiful wetland. We stayed in a ‘Forest Dwelling room’, which has 2 levels with a very spacious room upstairs and the Best part, the private swimming pool downstairs. Well-appointed with everything you needed. The facilities are nothing but extraordinary. Even though the meals were not buffet it was delicious. Everything about Vil-Uyana is PERFECT!!

Room Tip: Forest Dwelling rooms have private swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bhagya_S_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review us on your stay at Jetwing Vil Uyana. At Jetwing Hotels we greatly value our guests feedback as we constantly attempt to maintain the top level of personalized service at all the times.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed our overall experience and were pleased with the services and facilities on offer and specifically for recognizing our luxury rooms to our delicious meals which the efforts comes out from our entire team.

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing Vil Uyana for another memorable experience.

Ayubowan,

Indika Gamage
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2015 via mobile

My girlfriend and I visited Vil Uyana for 3 nights (they do a great 3 nights for the price of 2 deal) as part of a two week holiday in Sri Lanka, and I can safely say that not only was it the highlight of our visit, it is also the best hotel that either of us has ever stayed at. More a set of villas set in a stunning nature reserve than a typical hotel, Vil Uyana has it all.

Everything about the hotel is sensational. The accommodation is brilliant - we splashed out for a Forest Dwelling, meaning we had a private pool as well as our two-story chalet. Even though we were terrified of the little bats that whizzed around the downstairs area at sundown, it couldn't take away from how much we loved the accommodation!

The food is phenomenal. 7-8 course tasting menus at night, multi-course menus for breakfast, all absolutely sublime. The curries are great throughout Sri Lanka, but here they were the absolute pinnacle.

Staff are very polite, friendly and helpful, couldn't ask for more. Not obtrusive at all, but very happy to help.

Saving the best til last here - the wildlife! Just jaw-dropping. Crocodile in the lake, water monitors, land monitors, otters, beautiful birds, butterflies, the ominous dusk flyover by the giant fruit bats, and the amazing nocturnal wildlife. Make sure you go on the slender loris spotting walk with Chaminda, the brilliant naturalist. It's so rewarding when you finally see these amazing little monkeys, worth getting bitten non-stop by mosquitos. We were also lucky enough to see the rusty-spotted cat, one of the rarest wildcats in the world.

It's very well placed to visit Sigiriya Rock, which is stunning. We had planned to do more sightseeing but the hotel had so much to offer that we ended up staying there instead.

We loved this place so much that we got engaged here, and we'd love to come back on our honeymoon!

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing us on your wonderful experience at Jetwing Vil Uyana. We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us very well and it was a pleasure to note that we met your expectations in every way.

We have shared your good wishes with our entire team, especially with the Kitchen and with our in house Naturalist and they were evenly happy to learn that their personalized service and efforts were much appreciated.

Thank you once again for staying with us and for recommending Jetwing Vil Uyana to visit at anytime for a well experience relaxing and a memorable stay to enjoy. Once again we invite you to come to our little paradise as you mentioned for your Honeymoon as well as for another time you get to relax to experience the Jetwing Vil Uyana hospitality as it was a pleasure having you with us always.

Ayubowan,

Indika Gamage
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2015

Unfortunately our relaxing stay was spoilt somewhat by an uninvited guest in our room: a giant cockroach! The staff came promptly to take away the remains once we had dealt with it with the impromptu use of a flip-flop as a swatter but there was no apology. We called up our tour operator Red Dot tours who got in touch with the management at Vil Uyana and then there were profuse apologies but this really should have happened without any prompting and actually there should not be any cockroaches in the rooms to start with. Very disappointing, since otherwise this is a very beautiful site, nicely designed with a lot of care and attention and a village feel due to the design concept.

The grounds are immaculate and all the buildings have been designed beautifully and the main lounge and restaurant area look especially stunning in the night time. The food was very good and the Sri Lankan options on offer were quite authentic (some hotels feel the need to water down the Sri Lankan food to suit western taste for some reason, this was not the case at Vil Uyana).

Staff were very polite and attentive and service was very good. Our paddy marsh dwelling had a private plunge pool which was lovely to cool down in and was reasonably private but was overlooked slightly by other dwellings. The plunge pool has a slight design flaw: it is outside the dwelling which means that if you go outside in your swimwear without your key you will get locked out! There isn't a phone outside so then it's a case of walking to reception in swimwear and potentially barefoot to try and get access to the suite again. Not sure why the design is like this but there's nothing much that can be done about it now. Quite stupid in our opinion.

If it hadn't been for the cockroach incident we would have rated this property "very good" rather than "average". Unfortunately not somewhere we would want to return to

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ErRuW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review us on your stay at Jetwing Vil Uyana.
It was a pleasure to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate on your feedback regarding our hospitality and the personalized service rendered to you by our dedicated team.

However we are of course most concerned to learn of your dissatisfaction and would like to extend our sincere apologies for your experience regarding the cockroach inside your room. Please let me assure you that we are taking all the necessary action to prevent the same from taking place in the future.

We were concerned to note that you were not totally satisfied with the overall services and facilities provided during you stay. We will examine the situation to minimize any glitches in our services and rest assured that we have reviewed the matter with the team.

Do give us a second chance on giving you the best of Jetwing hospitality and It would be our great pleasure having you back with us where as to give you the greatest memorable experience where you will not regret at all coming back again for your vacation.

Ayubowan,

Indika Gamage
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigiriya
10.4 km away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,682 reviews
5.2 km away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,620 reviews
6.7 km away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 16 in Dambulla
3,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
133 reviews
1.8 km away
Elephant Corridor Hotel
Elephant Corridor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Sigiriya
428 reviews
5.0 km away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Vil Uyana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Vil Uyana

Address: Sigiriya 21120, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Sigiriya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sigiriya
#1 Family Hotel in Sigiriya
#2 Spa Hotel in Sigiriya
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sigiriya
Price Range: ₹ 18,633 - ₹ 48,537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Vil Uyana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Infused with eco friendly, sustainable modern design, Jetwing Vil Uyana is nestled deep in the heart of the island paradise of Sri Lanka incorporating five main ecological zones from forests to marshes. It is a retreat perfect for tranquility seekers or for those who wish to be close to the island’s rich array of flora and fauna. The challenge of introducing a wetland system on reclaimed agricultural lands provides the unique backdrop for this exciting property. A strong ‘back to nature’ theme pervades your every moment at Jetwing Vil Uyana and the uniqueness of the experience is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Prestigia so you can book your Jetwing Vil Uyana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Vil Uyana Sigiriya
Jetwing Vil Uyana Hotel Sigiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing