We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,693)
Filter reviews
1,693 results
Traveller rating
1,331
273
62
21
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,331
273
62
21
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsforest dwellingprivate poolour honeymoonwater dwellingresident crocodilepaddy fieldssunken bathoverlooking the lakesri lankaon stiltseco hotelslender lorisnature reservegolf buggynight walkbathroom areaopen plan
Filter
Updating list...
1,316 - 1,321 of 1,693 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2011

This was a lovely property of individual villas set in either paddy fields or by the lake, only 6 km from Sigiriya. The rooms are huge and it looked like all came with a private plunge pool. The main pool is not spectacular although it has a lovely view of the lake. The food was good, with Sri Lankan being better than European here (quite different from our experience at other hotels, surprisingly). However, compared with our favourites in SL (Ulagalla and Tea Trails) this place paled in comparison. Service was average - not rude but slow and rather incompetent. The bathroom was completely open, which is a very inconvenient set up for traveling with friends. On the plus side, the grounds are lovely and we enjoyed a pleasant early-morning walk around and saw some wild peacocks which was very cool.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BornVivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. It was nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Jetwing Vil Uyana.

It is true that this place is very convenient for all who wish to climb Sigiriya and also Jetwing Vil Uyana has been a most featured hotel among them.

Our design and architecture of the property plays a completely different role as we wanted a unique property which could blend in with nature. Therefore even the style of the bathrooms adapt be a thoroughly different ambience. And I’m sure you enjoyed your morning walk by spotting many birds and other wildlife in this magnificent environment that we are blessed with.

However, we do apologize for any inconvenience caused, as our hospitality is generally considered excellence par none. We apologize that we fell short of these standards during your stay and we sincerely hope you will return to Jetwing Vil Uyana in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

This was our last stop on our trip through Sri Lanka & it was definitely leaving the best to last. After having less than great accommodation in Kandy, I can't rave how great this hotel was. We had a room in the paddy fields which was just superb. Beautiful bed & facilities were second to none. Plunge pool was great & the actual hotel was beautifully appointed. Really nice pool overlooking the lake, & it was just great to sit & watch the birds fly by. We had excellent meals at the restaurant & the staff were fantastic. We had laundry done there & each item was wrapped in tissue paper. I would have loved to have done one of the nature walks but we ran out of time. We were only here for 2 nights but you could easily stay here for longer. Just to walk around the hotel is a pleasure as it is so beautifully laid out. Our driver loved this hotel as it provides excllent accommodation for the drivers also. It is definitely on the expensive side for hotel accommodation in Sri Lanka but if you are going to splurge anywhere on accommodation in Sri Lanka, I feel that this is the place to do so. And of course you're really close to all the cultural triangle sights. If we were going to Sri Lanka again this would definitely be on our "go back to" places list.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeffA55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Dear Guest,

We are truly gratified to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Jetwing Vil Uyana and we appreciate your most gracious review on Trip Advisor.

We will share your comments with the rest of the team and you’re kind words will definitely inspire them to reach newer heights and set even better standards.

The nature walks are a truly unique feature that Jetwing Vil Uyana has to offer, with the incredible array of wildlife that our little man made eco-reserve has attracted since its creation. There is also no better situated hotel in the area with the Cultural Triangle just minutes away.

We are overjoyed that you will be coming back and we hope you will stay longer to fully appreciate the wonder that is Jetwing Vil Uyana. It was a pleasure having you and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Our title says it all. However: Amazing, Tranquil, Indulgent, Luxurious, Green!

Room Tip: Ask for the ones with the large private pool
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray_Susen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to see that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us at Jetwing Vil Uyana and we appreciate you taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

We will share your comments with the rest of the team and they will love to see your feedback. We consider ourselves incredibly lucky to have such a dedicated and hospitable team and it makes job a lot easier.

I fully agree that when you stay at Jetwing Vil Uyana you can easily explore the Cultural Triangle as we are centrally located. I would recommend a longer stay for your next visit, so you can truly indulge in the distinctive Jetwing hospitality.

We eagerly await your next visit to Jetwing Vil Uyana as it was an absolute pleasure having you.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

This is a truly wonderful hotel aimed at providing comfort and serenity while enjoying nature quite close to you. We stayed at a forest dwelling and truly loved it. The room was spacious, luxurious and comfortable while the open air bathroom along with the romantic tub and the fish ponds were wonderful not to mention your own private pool where we spent most of our time despite the rain.

Everything was very clean and well maintained by the attentive staff. We really appreciated the speed of response when a power outage happened in the middle of the night and the maintenance guy arrived within 5 minutes even in the pouring rain.

Special recommendation needs to be given to the food and service of the restaurant. The local breakfasts as well as the five course dinner was delicious to say the least and the staff were courteous and efficient.

Speaking of nature, all bird lovers will not be disappointed as a large variety of birds including peacocks have made the premises their home and roaming ground. We found that sitting in the balcony during sunset and watching all the birds fly around a really wonderful experience.

Jetwing Vil Uyana provided a unique experience and we will definitely be back before long to pamper ourselves again.

Room Tip: Forest dwellings are spacious and perfect for indulgence of nature
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayathu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Dear Guest,

It was indeed nice to hear from you and thank you so much for your detailed review on Trip Advisor. We are so glad that your stay was a pleasant one at Jetwing Vil Uyana and you have thoroughly enjoyed all our services and facilities during your stay.

It is always great to hear the positive guest feedback about our dedicated team as they deserve it. It also illustrates the success of our ongoing training and development projects as well as our effort towards hospitality.

Our food is one of the most appreciated features by our guests and the compliments should go to our chef and his fantastic team.

This location has now become a prime location for bird watching and for nature/eco lovers as well. This time of the year we get a lot of migrant birds who are attracted by not only this Small Luxury property but also this incredible wetland eco system. Our latest additional is a Grey Headed Fish Eagle.

We look forward to having the chance of welcoming you again to Jetwing Vil Uyana. Please do contact us for any future bookings/assistance you may need.

Yours Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

This was our first stop in Sri Lanka & it spoilt us. The room was spectacular, set above a paddy field. The wildlife amazing even the 5 bats who were flying around our room one evening! The staff were very attentive & the restaurant was fine dining. Unfortunately due to the rain we couldn't enjoy our plunge pool or the inviting swimming pool but hopefully next time as we would love to return.

Room Tip: All rooms look great
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Vil Uyana, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your patronage of Jetwing Vil Uyana. We are also very proud to have this wonderful environment that we can share with all of our valued guests.

I would like to thank you for your visit and your very kind words, please accept our warmest regards and the best wishes for the New Year 2012; we eagerly await your next visit.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews