We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Private Day Trip To Sigiriya rock And Polonnaruw Ruins
2

Book in advance
from
₹12,845.84
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Gal Vihara
from ₹12,845.84
More Info
from ₹35,488.78
More Info
from ₹6,851.12
More Info
Reviews (858)
Filter reviews
858 results
Traveller rating
599
209
43
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
599
209
43
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rock temple sri lanka statues of lord buddha granite carvings image gal shoes century examples arts relief monument knees vihara
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 858 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2019 via mobile

Worth a look. The entire temple is carved out of the rock and now under a man-made metal roof for protection.

Remember to cover your shoulders and knees. Remove your shoes and hats and don't take any pictures with your back to the Buddha statues...

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank benjamin_s_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 May 2019

This is about a five minute walk from the parking lot. The Buddha's carved into the stone are worth the walk. Be careful when taking a picture standing in front, not to have your back to the Buddha (stand sideways instead). They are very particular about this as they view it as disrespectful.

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank teckman333
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 May 2019

Just keep walking to the end of the ancient city and take the narrow path down to the place in the map. Make sure its an early morning and the crowd around is less..Ideally it would do best to begin the visit from this place in the morning ,which might give you the respite from the crowd walking along the way to make this place their last in the list. I simply cannot think of an ancient place which set the mind in peace as these three statues have ..Sit on the rock for at least 10 minutes

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank kelum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 April 2019

A visit to Gal Vihara is a must when exploring the ruins of Polonnaruwa. Entrance is included within the fee for the wider world heritage site. Here you can see four large stautues of buddha are carved into the rock, all in different poses (1 reclining, 2 seated, 1 standing. The sheer scale of the statues is impressive - you can't help but be wowed.

You don't need too long at the site but do take time to appreciate the lotus pond elsewhere in the compound. As for some other parts of Polonnaruwa, you need to remove your shoes, so consider socks for hot days.

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank H75travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 April 2019

This was probably my favourite of the area, as it is slightly in the shade. Be aware that the sand is still very hot so if you prefer have a second pair of socks to put on when taking your shoes off. I did it bare feet and I was hopping very quickly from buddah to buddah.

Once again the site is enormous so having a driver/guide of self-guide on bicyles perhaps - but with limited time, I think I prefer a guide.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank stark t
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews