We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic home made food”

Hotel Mango Garden And Rastaurant
Ranked #36 of 223 Restaurants in Kandy
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 14
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian, Sri Lankan
Restaurant details
Reviewed 9 November 2018 via mobile

We are at the Mango Garden Restaurant this evening and it's the best meal we have had on our trip so far. If I understood correctly food is made by the owners sister but you can see it being cooked as you enter the premises. The accompaniment that came with the curry & rice stole the show. They were so tasty. The service was attentive and very friendly. Wish we had discovered it the night before as we would have spent two evening there

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank ASJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kandy123, Owner at Hotel Mango Garden And Rastaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sir Madame ASJ1
Thank you very much for coming to our restaurant Mango Garden. We are very happy that you had a nice dinner at our restaurant Mango Garden. Yes our sister Fathima she is a very good cook and and hard working lady for her age all time. I am very very happy with her and her good job.
We do wish her good helth and happness in her life been with us all time.
We are very very happy to have you in our restaurant Mango Garden.
We do wish you all the best and hope to see you again soon.
Greetings from the staff and Sri Lanka.
Malik.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2018

We stayed in the Ozo hotel and popped over to the Mango Garden for dinner. When reading the menu and also being quite new to Sri Lanka the menu seemed very basic, chicken curry etc. However when ordering the curry this also arrives with many dishes and the taste and quality is outstanding. A big thank you to Malik for allowing me to take home the rice spoon. A little momentum from this amazing restaurant. I would highly recommend as not to be missed.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Kerri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kandy123, Owner at Hotel Mango Garden And Rastaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear Madame Kerri B
Thank you very much for taking time to write a very nice review.We are very very happy to have you in our restaurant.
We are very happy to meet you at Hotel Mango Garden Kandy. I am very happy that you took our rice spoon with you.
It was very nice meet you and talking to you. We do hope thay ou had a nice time in the hotel out of Kandy.
We do wish you all the best in you holiday in Sri Lanka.
Greetings from the staff and Malik.
Malik.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

We were staying in a large hotel opposite and wandered out for something more authentic and local.
Seated out on a open air balcony was nice. Food was just lovely, especially the aubergine and curry.
Service was attentive. Great little place.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank JazzyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kandy123, Owner at Hotel Mango Garden And Rastaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear Sir Madame JazzyPerth
Thank you very much for taking time to write a nice review about our restaurant.It was nice to have you on our restaurant on the terrace at Hotel Mango Garden. We are very very happy that you like our Sri Lanka food.
We do wish you all the best for your holidays in Sri Lanka.
Greetings from the staff and Malik.
Malik.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

The setting is very nice on a rooftop terrace. The food was very good except the beef noodles (very bad beef) and the food took quite some time to come.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank rozennr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kandy123, Owner at Hotel Mango Garden And Rastaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Dear Rozennr8
Thank you very much for your nice review about our Mango Garden and our food.We are very very sorry about beef.
Sri Lanka we do not have good beef like in europe. But in Sri Lanka beef is very hard we have o cook for a long time.
May be the new cook did not know about this beef.We are very sorry about it.
We do wish you a good holidays in Sri Lanka.
Greetings from the staff and Malik.
Malik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

This place was situated behind our large hotel and was a good option for relaxed local food. We had tasty noodle dishes which were freshly cooked and the atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. A good choice

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank kgm040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kandy123, Owner at Hotel Mango Garden And Rastaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Dear Sir Madame Kgm040
Thank you very much for your review about our place Mango Garden.Yes we always cook fresh food all the time.
We are very very happy about your review.
We wish you a good holidays in Sri Lanka.
Greetings from the staff and Malik.
Malik.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hotel Mango Garden And Rastaurant also viewed

Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 
Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 

Been to Hotel Mango Garden And Rastaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing