We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money and delicious Sri Lankan food”

Hotel Mango Garden And Rastaurant
Ranked #34 of 222 Restaurants in Kandy
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 14
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian, Sri Lankan
Restaurant details
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

My family and I visited this restaurant a number of times during our stay in Kandy. The “buffet” is the best option, where they will bring to your table a number of Sri Lankan dishes that you can enjoy family style. This includes a massive bowl of Rice and dessert (ice cream or fruit salad). They will cater your buffet to your desires - as we have some Vegans in the family they were able to accomodate us no problem. Great food for a great price.

1  Thank Zev and Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malik A, Owner at Hotel Mango Garden And Rastaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear Sir Madame Zev and Sam F Family
Thank you very much for taking time to write a very very review about our food and
the restaurant.Thank you very very much for coming many times to our restaurant.
We are are very happy about our rice curry what we make as home made cooking.
We all wish you all the best your holiday in Sri Lanka with your family.
Greetings from our staff and Malik.
Malik.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2018

We were staying at Ozo so popped over for dinner one evening - we both had the buffet which was very good food and excellent value for money. The waiter explained what each of the dishes were. Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Emsworth89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malik A, Owner at Hotel Mango Garden And Rastaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Dear Sir Madame Emsworth89
Thank you very very much for taking time to write a nice review about our small
restaurant.We are very happy that you had a very good dinner Mango Garden.
We are looking forward to Se you again in Sri Lanka and in our restaurant next
time when you are in Sri Lank.We all wish you happy new year for 2018.
Greetings from the staff and Malik.
Malik.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

Unfortunately, we are very disappointed of this hotel.
First, the rooms weren’t clean, bathroom also. A positive thing is, that we had warm water for showering.
The wifi didn‘t work in our room and restaurant. So we had to go to the common room to get wifi...
Then, we recieved very confusing answers about our question how we go to Ella by train. It was very stressful to talk to them. They maked some jokes about us, but we couldn‘t feel them like a joke. If you ask something, everybody talked another things to us. Its like a bad comedy.
And third, we had problems with our laundry. If you like to wash your laundry
there, you have to book minimum 3 nights because it takes a long time to be finished there. And dont worry it was very sunny in the outside for drying. ;)
What we can recommend is a trip to the Knuckels Mountain Range with the Guide named Ashoke. It was really really great! Ask the manager to get this guide for that trip. It was an amazing memory for us! But we don‘t recommend this hotel. Bad experience.

Thank Ina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kandy123, Owner at Hotel Mango Garden And Rastaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear Sir Madame Ina
Thankyou very much for your review.We are very sorry that you been disappointed
only the wi-fi did not work in your room and you are not happy you room was not
clean why did not you tell us we wood have clean your room. You only write about
bad thinkgs. Why don't you write about the good things what you had in our service.
The best thing we do jokes to make you happy but you was not the 2 think you got
your train tickets from us that all was full we was at 4 am to buy your train tickets
and still you was not happy.You ask us to book a room at Adams peak and at last
moment you told us that you going some where else and we have call the hotel to
cancelle the room.You did not undrestand english this is why you we are bed.
We spend one hour with you to explain how to get to Ella we do this every day.
So we hope that you will have good thime without us.
Greetings from Sri Lanka have good holidays.
Malik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Just wanted to write a note to thank Malik for helping us sort out the sightseeing tour for our trip. We stayed over the road at Hotel Ozu but came in one night for supper - and were completely blown away by Malik's amazing Sri Lankan Buffet. We then noticed that Malik organised trips, and within moments we were organising a sightseeing tour of a lifetime, all within time and budget with driver, accommodation and entrance to places we would never have found otherwise. Our driver Nilantha was calm, cool and very knowledgeable, often taking the place of a guide and constantly giving us great advice. We can't thank Malik and Nilantha enough and hope to come over and stay at Hotel Mango Garden next time! Highly recommended!
With our best wishes - Alia & Joe Carter (Dec 2017)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank aliasyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malik A, Owner at Hotel Mango Garden And Rastaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Sir Madame alisayed43
Thank you very much for taking time to write a very very nice review about our Hotel
and the restaurant and about our tours around Sri Lanka with our driver Nilantha.
We are very very happy about your review and your kindness with our staff at our
Hotel Mango Garden Kandy. Thank you very much for staying with us and eating
in our restaurant and taking the transport with us and with our driver Nilantha.
We all wish you all the best for 2018 Happy new year.
We hope to see you soon again in Sri Lanka.
greetings from the staff and Malik.
Malik.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

Beautiful spot with hanging potted plants surrounding the outdoor eating space.

Curry deal has excellent fried aubergine. Hot chips were really really good

Thank Isaac G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malik A, Owner at Hotel Mango Garden And Rastaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Dear Sir Madame Isaac G
Thank you very much for coming to our small restaurant to have home made curry.
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about our restaurant.
We do hope to keep it up with your help all the time.
Greetings from the staff and Malik.
Malik.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hotel Mango Garden And Rastaurant also viewed

Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 
Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 

Been to Hotel Mango Garden And Rastaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing