We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous trip with friends in the jungle !!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Welikande Villas reception restaurant and lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welikande Villas reception restaurant and lounge
Light and airy rooms The views over Victoria Dam Reservoir
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Welikande Villas reception restaurant and lounge
Light and airy rooms
The views over Victoria Dam Reservoir
With En suite bathrooms
The sun balcony
Lounge enjoy our unique free tea and coffee service
Restaurant where breakfast is served and other meals can be ordered
Enjoy a wander in the landscaped gardens and fruit orchards
Welikande Villas at night
Sunset at Welikande
Sunrise at Welikande
Entrance to the Terrace apartments
Terrace apartments
Balcony aoartments
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kandy, Kandy District, Central Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Sophie O
Montelimar, France
1 review
“Fabulous trip with friends in the jungle !!!”
Reviewed 16 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Welikande villa is a perfect "hotel" rooms are nice, staff are listening and waiting for us all trip long.
The vue is amazing !!
The only thing is the hotel is bit far away accomodities but jungle is here !!!

Thanks again Michael !!!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Non.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2018
Dear Sophie

When are you coming back I think of you whenever we use The CorkScrew !!!

Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody_R19...
Shallotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Natural Beauty Alongside Genuine Hospitality”
Reviewed 16 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

I was at this place for almost two weeks and every day I was well looked after and made to feel welcome by a gracious and helpful staff and proprietor. Not often does one experience such genuinely open and smiling faces from workers in the tourist industry: it does the heart good. Also, Michael, the proprietor, has a refreshing sense of humor that was much appreciated.

The natural surroundings are stunning, with walks you can arrange with the guesthouse, or simply take shorter ones on your own. There are lovely vistas to be seen from either side of the ridge on the walk behind the guesthouse. You can walk 15 minutes or a couple hours back there. Also, a walk to Teldiniya, a local village, through the forest gets you up-close to some stunning jungle-scapes. I saw amazing birds, monkeys, deer, wild pigs, etc. . . the forest abounds with wildlife.

Breakfasts are perfectly adequate, and staff noticeably care about your preferences. There's lots of fresh local fare. Dinners are especially scrumptious, and tea or coffee can be had at any time. After your walk or tuk-tuk ride just kick back and enjoy the remarkable views.

I was traveling alone and the room had all that was needed: good bed with mosquito net (although there were no mosquitoes that I noticed), nice large bathroom with hot water on demand, fan and . .. if I'm not mistaken, all rooms come with amazing views. And importantly for me, a bedside reading lamp that actually does it's job, and plug-points that really work!

I'll be back. I really enjoyed everything about the place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2017
We loved having you Woody come again soon
Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbet Bø...
Holte, Denmark
1 review
“Excellent stay - Paradise on Earth”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Wellikande Villa is an outstanding place, with very nice and clean rooms, a fantastic view, a blooming garden, excellent service and food. We enjoyed the peacefulness and the ease of being there and the host family was very helpful in arranging everything for us. You can use Welikande Villa as your base for a lot of the things you would like to do in Sri Lanka - and when you go there do not miss to arrange a Lake Camping tour with sunrise and bird watching. We would recommend a stay at Wellikande Villa anytime, and are looking forward to come back one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
Thanks you very much for the excellent review it helps us to understand what guests want!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna E
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very helpful owner”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Didn't actually stay here but the owner is really helpful via email. So if you're looking at booking you can get lots of advice on trips, tours etc.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
Thanks joanna
We love sharing our beautiful island.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed 2 weeks in Welikande Guest House, which is a newly established place and just opening up for guests. It is a wonderful and very cosy place.
The location in the jungle mountains about 1 hour east of Kandy is an ideal place for vacation. At an altitude of about 900 meters the climate is wonderful, not too hot, a slight breeze, clouds against a blue sky. There is a true ”botanical” garden on the premises and magnificent views over the Knuckles Mountain Range and the Victoria Dam, and it is also a bird-watchers dream. However, also the ideal place for relaxation and ”watching the grass grow” or just enjoying the views over the mountains and valleys.
The guest house is an ideal base for one day excursions, which they arrange with their expertise as to local, careful drivers, either in tuk-tuk or in a taxi. We did a 3-day excursion to the ”Cultural triangle” up north with a local taxi bus, also arranged by the guest house manager.
There are only 4 rooms, but we understand that a few more will come. They are of nice, stylish simplicity with a large bathroom and coffee and tea facilities, and so is the sitting/dining room. All food served is a delicacy, and we tried almost every fruit and vegetables found on the island.
It is really worth a try and we recommend it wholeheartedly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the mountain location, very homely, lovely food, atmosphere
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
Super review come again soon!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing