We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful, quiet colonial mansion outside of Kandy with great service - though a bit rough around the edges.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manor House Kandy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Manor House Kandy
Ranked #32 of 64 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful, quiet colonial mansion outside of Kandy with great service - though a bit rough around the edges.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

If you like old colonial buildings that have been converted into B&Bs you will enjoy Manor House. Pros - beautiful house, quiet setting, lovely staff, charming interiors. Cons - far from Kandy proper - need a car. Not a lot of people staying here so can feel a little desolate. Rooms and bathrooms are a but dated, but manageable. Overall would recommend it and wondered why more people didn't stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kyoung26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    52
    20
    8
    7
See reviews for
57
77
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We spent Christmas at the Manor house. This hotel is a bit out of the way from Kandy but it offers a quiet, peaceful stay. The room was adequate and felt like being at Mom’s house. The food was excellent, they went out of their way to prepare whatever we asked for. The chef made us a nice eastern breakfast on request. Then we returned on Christmas eve and asked for a last minute dinner as there was too much traffic to return to Kandy before our son would sleep. The chef made us a nice chicken soup for our son to eat before he fell asleep and a grilled chicken, rice and vegetable dinner for us. This must not have been easy as there were only 4 guests and we had said we wouldn’t stay for dinner. I suspect the staff went out, bought the food and prepared it for us in an hour. I can’t thank them enough for saving our Christmas. The butler was so pleasant and helpful. The best part about this hotel, we didn’t need to ask for anything, all our needs were met, they know how to treat guests!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Asiaexpat34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2010

The hotel itself is very pleasant - an old colonial house converted into a hotel. The rooms are large and clean. However, the shower and wash basin taps trickle with water. The shampoo bottles were actually diluted with water!
Dinner was a catastrophe. We were left waiting for half an hour to be seated. This was followed by another one hour wait for food and went it came it was cold and in a completely disorganised manner - the starters came with the main meals, the curry for the rice came half an hour before the rice came! The staff appeared clueless and needed constant reminding. Our room was right next to the main entrance as well so if you're a light sleeper don't expect to fall asleep until midnight when all the kitchen clear up has finished.
This place does have the potential to be better with perhaps better training of staff and better organization. A bit of upgrading of facilities such as showers wouldn't do the place any harm. It is a great place though to relax from all the hustle and bustle as it's very tranquil and peaceful.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L4FC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
in Kandy
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2007

The Manor House in Kandy sells itself as a boutique hotel and certainly charges boutique hotel prices but despite the beautiful exterior of this old colonial house that is where the similarities end, the place is a disaster.
We were shown to our room which was on 2 levels with a VERY steep staircase connecting them. The bathroom was what you would expect to see in a 1* hotel in Paris- an out of date shower, stringy old towels and worst of all a smell of drains coming from the loo that kept us awake all night!
The bedroom was no better, out of date furniture and a wardrobe you could not even hang a shirt in,ants all over the floor and in a position that meant you could hear the traffic starting up along a busy road from about 5am.
However, the best or rather worst aspect of the hotel was the food and the staff. On our first night we were solved cold mash potato with cold fish cakes and rice in the garden. The power kept failing (hence the cold food) so every 15 minutes a generator would kick into action deafening everyone.
The staff did not seem to have a clue what they were doing, hovering around tables when they were not wanted and then nowhere in sight when they were needed. At one point my husband asked for an adaptor plug and one of the members of staff just looked at him blankly and walked off!
The hotel is also a good 15-20 min journey from Kandy centre so unless you have a driver it means a very unpleasant and dirty tuk tuk drive to get anywhere and as it is so far out none of the drivers know where it is.
On this trip we also stayed in The Fortress which is amazing, The Galle Face which is a beautiful historic hotel and very good value and when we finally managed to move out of The Manor House, The Earls Regency which was well run and had large rooms with great views and a beautiful pool. It is also much nearer the centre of Kandy and Tuk Tuk drivers know exactly where it is!!

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2007

Everyone has been lovely at Manor House. The extra kilos we put on are a testament to the fantastic food. Thank you so much for spending so much time looking after our little girl and giving us time to eat all the lovely food!

  • Liked — Care Given By The Staff
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AdamBirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
5.5 km away
View 360
View 360
#34 of 64 in Kandy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
5.1 km away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 64 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
7.2 km away
The Change
The Change
#16 of 64 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
The Richmond House Kandy
6.8 km away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#21 of 64 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
7.2 km away
Melheim Kandy Hotel
Melheim Kandy Hotel
#51 of 64 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Kandy? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Kandy

Property: Manor House Kandy
Address: Katugastota-Kurunegala-Puttalam Hwy | Nugawela, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#9 Family Hotel in Kandy
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,765 - ₹ 8,441
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Manor House Kandy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1884, Manor House is a traditional, stately Sri Lankan landowner's home that has been refurbished in a style that retains its old world charm while also offering common modern amenities. Manor House offers ten comfortable rooms furnished in a blend of colonial and traditional Sri Lankan style. The property has a beautifully landscaped garden and outdoor pool and is located a short drive from the city center of Kandy in a tranquil setting. We provide our guests with a homely experience, through our attentiveness, traditional architecture of the home and local staff and traditional Sri Lankan food. Special requests can be met with advance notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Manor House Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor House Kandy Hotel Kandy
Manor Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing