We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,314)
Filter reviews
1,314 results
Traveller rating
177
450
411
152
124
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
450
411
152
124
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kandy lake heritage hotel wooden floors colonial grandeur tooth relic view of the lake buffet breakfast centre of town tuk tuk temple dalada buddhist
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,314 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2018

Hotel: friendly, genuine, renovated
Rooms: good, little bit noisy, complete
Food: good breakfast
Staff: efficient, friendly
Location: in the middle of the centre, walking distance to Tooth Relic Temple and lake

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bettina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens Q, Manager at Queens Hotel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Dear Bettina,
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. It was a great pleasure to know that you were happy during your stay at our hotel. Once again thank you very much for giving us the opportunity to host you and look forward to host you again.

Best Regards,
Kumara Adikari-Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

Where do I start? The hotel is historic and bang in the middle of the town, right over the road from the must visit “temple of the tooth”. It’s on quite a busy corner and so not easy for large groups to get on/off transport and in/out of the hotel, but with a little patience you get there. On entering the hotel you can feel the history and the foyer looks the part, right down to the ancient metal gate lift that’s still in service. The staff are all very nice and very courteous and check you in without fuss in no time. The evening buffet we had was very nice with plenty of choice as was the breakfast the next morning, though typical of Sri Lanka the coffee was not good, it always seems to be week and full off coffee mud. I asked one of the waiters for some coffee as the pot was empty, all he did was try to fill the same pot with hot water and pour it into my cup! I said no I want fresh coffee, he disappeared with the pot and came Back within seconds with the same pot full of hot watery coffee. During our stay there we had a couple of unfortunate incidents. Firstly my wife was in the bar after shopping with her sister and ordered a couple of beers, when she poured the beer and tried it she noticed straight away that something was wrong. When her sister held up the bottle, three cigarette butts could be seen inside. When she took it back she was just given a new bottle, no apology no explanation, nothing. Later that evening we all (eight of us) thought we would try the Chinese restaurant on the first floor. We should have guessed it was not going to be plain sailing when they could only muster two menus for the whole restaurant. We walked in at quarter past eight and walked out at half past ten having only had a round of drinks and a starter. One of our party had managed to get her meal and had finished it before the rest of the party had even seen a meal, the next couple of meals arrived and were cold and undercooked, not good when it was seafood. Ten minutes after that my meal arrived, the fourth of eight and it was pretty good but also cold, it was at this point I paid for the drinks and starters and went to see the hotel manager.
I have to say from the start, although these were not good incidents the response from the manager and assistant manager was excellent. They made the staff reopen the kitchen and had them bring out plates of club sandwiches and would not let us pay for a drink for the rest of the night, while they took down the details of our complaints. The next day they had security scan all the film footage to understand how the beer with the cigarettes got into the fridge, and then they held an enquiry into the complaints. I’m not sure what the outcome was as we left Kandy that morning, but even with these incidents it is very difficult to dislike this lovely old hotel. My thanks to the manager and his staff for the nature in which they received our complaints, and in which they dealt with them.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Daviedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens Q, Manager at Queens Hotel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Thank you for your constructive feedback following your recent visit to Queens Kandy. We are appreciative of your comments in relation to where we can improve. Please accept our apologies for any disappointment caused and we assure that these issues have been addressed with the relevant department heads for immediate rectification.
Once again our sincere apologies for having failed to deliver the level of service we strive to achieve consistently.
We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you seamlessly as you truly deserve.

Best Regards,
Kumara Adikari-Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

No doubt the location is really central with the temple of the tooth, Kandy Lake, restaurants and shops all within walking distance in this busy city.

However the hotel has not been fixed up nor renovated. I suspect they must be due for a large upgrade, as the hotel was so run down, it's like they don't bother with minor leaks and repairs.

Our shower was leaking so we had a mouldy bathroom. What made it worse was the lack of service. The staff were polite, but not attentive and lacked hospitality skills. Housekeeping left only some towels in the room depending on how they felt, and any requests for extra towels or hair dryer would take a long time to be attended to.

It would be a beautiful colonial style heritage hotel (as you can see in the pic) once a group like Sofitel was to come in and renovate.

Other better value hotels are available, so would not recommended here.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Dianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens Q, Manager at Queens Hotel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

Dear Dianne,
Thank you for your constructive feedback following your recent visit to Queens Hotel Kandy. We are appreciative of your comments in relation to where we can improve. Please accept our apologies for any disappointment caused and we assure that these issues have been addressed with the relevant department heads for immediate rectification.
Once again our sincere apologies for having failed to deliver the level of service we strive to achieve consistently.
We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you seamlessly as you truly deserve.

Best Regards
Kumara Adikari-Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

Outstanding customer service and attention we received from the staff.Staff were friendly and welcoming. The breakfast choices and pools at the hotel were really good.Rooms were pleasant and lovely view over ocean.Highly recommend for a peaceful heaven.Would love to come back some day!

Room tip: Best View , Best Food
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank X1485JXthemistery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens Q, Manager at Queens Hotel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. It was a great pleasure to know that you were happy during your stay at our hotel. Once again thank you very much for giving us the opportunity to host you and look forward to host you again.

Regards, Regards,
Kumara Adikari - Resident manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

This is a lovely old building in a great location. The building itself is pretty tired. The staff were great, as were the cocktails. It’s probably worth staying here, for the history of the building. But don’t expect a luxurious experience.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Emma255106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews