We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical gem or bit of a dump? I loved it.”
Review of Queens Hotel Kandy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Queens Hotel Kandy
Ranked #30 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Historical gem or bit of a dump? I loved it.”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This is another hotel that you'll either love or hate - personally I loved it. My room was noisy with bent Crittall windows that let all the traffic noise in, we only had one bedside lamp (oh no, the hardship!), the hot water was intermittent, the shower curtain insisted on attacking me at every opportunity and the coffee may well have been made with mud! BUT what a place to stay. Great location in the centre of Kandy - use being woken by the traffic as an excuse to get up and wander the streets as the city wakes - fall back into the history of the place and pretend it's the 1930's. Then you'll enjoy it. I would recommend eating out though!

Room Tip: Try 329 - huge room, takes about 10 minutes to walk there, water sometimes doesn't make it. Chec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuttonHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    375
    320
    113
    91
See reviews for
251
374
100
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
East Bay, near San Francisco
Level Contributor
127 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

My husband and I were booked for 2 nights into the Queen's Hotel as part of a pre-paid tour. Therefore I can't address the "value" question. For us, the only "plus" of the Queen's hotel was the location, directly across from the Tooth Relic Temple. That said, there was a "minus" in the location as well, and that is the very very loud chanting broadcast by loudspeaker several times a day, beginning at about 5AM. Earplugs are a must!!!

Yes, the hotel has historic charm. However, with that charm came a small, dumpy room (#222) with a water-stained ceiling. The first night we had no hand towels, no bathmat, no blankets. It wasn't until our tour director complained that these things were brought. The following morning we had no water. None. That was eventually fixed also, but not for many hours.

The restaurant was absolutely mediocre with terrible service and awful coffee.

We stayed in 8 different hotels during our tour of Sri Lanka. Most were excellent. There was no excuse for the problems that we encountered here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MusicMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kandy hotels

Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed at Queen's hotel for two nights during our time in Sri Lanka, it was a wonderful experience, and I have to say that I disagree with the other reviewers who are complaining that the rooms need updating: most of the charm lies with the antique furniture and fixtures in the rooms! The location is phenomenal, with Kandy lake and the temple of the tooth just steps away.

Our room was a standard room on the second floor, the view was nothing spectacular but the size and styling of the room was breathtaking! High ceilings, huge glass door facade in the foyer, spindle-y antique furniture, and a gigantic claw foot bathtub (which was sparkling clean, if a little worn from many years of use, but it was original so we were more than okay with some signs of wear) The water temperature was tough to regulate, but I attribute that to the age of the pipes; after a little work it was fine. The sheets were crisp white and smelled clean, and there were fluffy white towels. We could hear our neighbors, but it didn't become a big issue (though a polite knock on their door did become necessary). Each early morning was greeted with the sound of monks chanting over the loudspeaker across the street, but there couldn't have been a better way to wake up in place where buddhism plays such an important role. Several things that other reviews cited as negatives were the very things that made me fall in love with our room at Queen's hotel.

The staff was polite and helpful, they arranged a half-day at the spa at hotel suisse (which is owned by the same company) for me, along with a driver. They were helpful with giving directions and suggesting things to do. Although the staff members at Queen's hotel are slightly less proficient in English than other places we stayed, we got along alright.

The food was nothing to write home about, but not terrible. Breakfast was good, with both western and Sri Lankan choices (though the Sri Lankan breakfast is a little more bland than less tourist-y spots) a good place to test the waters of Sri Lankan cuisine (which is delicious) while also having the option of a full english breakfast if your stomach can't quite handle the curry that early, and they have the best banana bread I have ever tasted. I would recommend going somewhere else for dinner, dinner is not included in the price of the room and was not great, we ate there our first night after arriving somewhat late and we were starving,it was alright but there are better places to dine in Kandy. The open air bar area by the pool is the perfect setting for an afternoon drink (the Arrack cocktails are creative and tasty) or a nightcap, be sure to check out the small hotel museum while you wait for your drinks. Service can be a little slow, but that the usual in the country, and waiters do have to be signaled to come to your table or bring you your bill, but this is the norm.

If you are looking for a modern hotel with no quirks this isn't the place for you, but if you are looking for culture, charm, and history then you have found the perfect place!

Room Tip: Our room was 234, we looked at several rooms before deciding on this one, and it was the largest sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhitneyWebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greeney5
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Lovely old colonial hotel with both friendly and obliging staff. The hotel and rooms have not been updated, a lovely old fashioned brass lift and dark wood floorboards are still in place, which for us was the beauty of staying here, as it was not difficult to imagine how the colonial hotel orginally looked. The location in the heart of the town was handy and the hotel bar proved a quiet place to relax. Breakfast offered a good choice, and the pool was clean and warm. The only downside was the early morning call to prayer from the load speakers situated on the lake front outside of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greeney5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

The hotel is situated in the busy downtown area and just opposite the Temple of Tooth Relic, which is a revered place for Buddhist. The hotel facade and interior were recently painted but the bathrooms need improvement. The reception staff were great and eager to help and even switched my reserved room which was noisy to another room with a smile. The buffet breakfast had a good selection. As it is situated on a major street intersection, the noise from outside can be a problem for some.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the wing facing the swimming pool which are quieter than the rooms facing the two i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrZeeCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 54 in Kandy
1,032 reviews
0.7 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 54 in Kandy
997 reviews
0.3 km away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#24 of 54 in Kandy
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#40 of 54 in Kandy
197 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 54 in Kandy
1,243 reviews
0.7 km away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 54 in Kandy
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel Kandy

Property: Queens Hotel Kandy
Address: No. 4 Dalada Veediya | No. 4 Dalada Veediya, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,235 - ₹ 12,033
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel Kandy 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO QUEEN'S HOTEL One of Sri Lanka's iconic historic hotels, Queen's Hotel, situated in the heart of Kandy, faces the beautiful splendid surroundings alongside the Kandy Lake. With a history of over 160 years The Queen's Hotel is a 90 room British Colonial style luxury hotel. This former Governor's residence is one of the oldest hotels in Sri Lanka which is managed by the Ceylon Hotels Corporation. What's momentous about Queen's Hotel is that it is situated in Kandy, where the world prominent "Temple of the Tooth Relic of Lord Buddha" is. Every country has its pageants and festivals and so does Kandy which has the world famous "Kandy Esala Perahera Pageant" which is held annually. This pageant proceeds along side the Queen's Hotel's East & West wings, providing the most magnificent viewing facilities for the guests who patronize the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queens Hotel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing