We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (699)
Filter reviews
699 results
Traveller rating
91
252
242
84
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
252
242
84
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool hill top table tennis nice hotel nice pool a la carte menu public areas tuk tuk kandy city great view large room wi fi prayer cooperative balconies transport
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 699 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

This hotel was nice on face value. The room was clean and the bathroom to a good standard. Could have done with more toilet roll and towels.
The main room was well ventilated and had good AC. However the noise that came through into the room was really bad. Kept us up till 1am after trying to get an early night. Then @ 5am the train and the calls to mosque.
The food in the restaurant was good and we even got to try chilly crab, could have done with a crab fork.
Wifi was poor. Over all an ok stay.
Sort the noise.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank HATT202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us. We are grateful for your time and trouble taken to share with us; please accept our apologies on the inconveniences caused.

Please note that the hotel is situated in the middle of the city center of Kandy; hence noise is quite inevitable. We really appreciate your understanding on the same.

Trust that you would come back to Hotel Hilltop to spend another great holiday with us. We assure you our best services at all times.

Yours Faithfully, Senani Perera, General Manager, Hotel Hilltop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Great hotel with a nice views. The hill is a little tricky to get up. The food was really good and people at reception very helpful. A little noisy though as there was buddhist chanting taking place at 1am and then again at 6am

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Macrodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us. We are grateful for your time and trouble taken to share with us your positive sentiments.

Trust that you would come back to Hotel Hilltop to spend another great holiday with us. We assure you our best services at all times.

Yours Faithfully, Senani Perera, General Manager, Hotel Hilltop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Beautiful view from the hotel. Neat and tidy rooms, friendly staff, clean bathroom.
You get free WiFi and international channels on TV. There's a pool so you can chill by the poolside. Fresh fruit and cocktails are available. Walking up and down from the hotel to the main road can be tiring so tuk tuk or bike ride is recommended.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DrSanaYasir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us. We are grateful for your time and trouble taken to share with us your positive sentiments.

Trust that you would come back to Hotel Hilltop to spend another great holiday with us. We assure you our best services at all times.

Yours Faithfully, Senani Perera, General Manager, Hotel Hilltop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

I stayed in the Hilltop hotel for two nights and I had a great stay. The room was really nice and the beds were comfortable. The shower was fine too, which is nice since at some places in Sri Lanka I had trouble with warm and cold water. Only thing that I would have liked better is if I didn't have two single beds, but only one (maybe bigger) bed.

The breakfast and dinner buffet at the hotel were great!!! The best I've had so far for my stay in Sri Lanka. For example, at breakfast they make fresh omelets, pancakes and waffles right at the buffet. I really enjoyed it.

The staff is also really friendly and the hotel has a nice swimming pool. Would recommend it for a stay in Kandy!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Ditalion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us. We are grateful for your time and trouble taken to share with us your positive sentiments as well as the suggestions.

Trust that you would come back to Hotel Hilltop to spend another great holiday with us. We assure you our best services at all times.

Yours Faithfully, Senani Perera, General Manager, Hotel Hilltop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

I was in Kandy for a family vacation and stayed at Hotel Hilltop for two nights. To start off with, the location is on a hill top(Like the name suggests and the view is mesmerising. Getting to the hotel could be quite a challenge if you don't have your own private vehicle. We were given a suite room which was very spacious, well-maintained and with a pool view.

Being a vegetarian family, the dinner spread was quite disappointing as almost 80% of the items were non-vegetarian and also, it wasn't mentioned if a specific item was non-vegetarian or not. But the hotel staff came to our rescue. When we expressed our disappointment about the lack of veg options, the chef came up to us and said they would make us vegetarian pasta. Later the manager came to us and enquired if we doing okay and that they would try to provide more veg options for breakfast and dinner the next day.

Breakfast the following day was excellent. There were a lot of options to choose from, even being a vegetarian. The chefs specially got medu vada(South Indian snack) made for us, and the manager made it a point to come and ask about our stay and the food.

The housekeeping did an excellent job, too. While we were out, the room was cleaned and all our things neatly arranged in place. We were mighty pleased to walk into a room so tidily organised.

Our entire stay at Hotel Hilltop was very satisfying and their hospitality and service was very warm and welcoming. Will definitely go there again if we visit Kandy again.

Room Tip: Go for it if you want a peaceful, secluded place to stay. This place is a world on its own!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank VaibhaviP30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for visiting Hotel Hilltop and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We hope that you would give us another opportunity to welcome you back and assure you of delivering our superior service at all times.

Yours Sincerely, Senani Perera, General Manager, Hotel Hilltop, Kandy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews