We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (647)
Filter reviews
647 results
Traveller rating
353
137
51
46
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
353
137
51
46
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews madame helga alice in wonderland every wall family history coconut soup every inch frank sinatra cinema room mulled wine cole porter sensory overload newspaper cuttings adorn the walls haunted house every surface sri lanka extraordinary place
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 647 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2018

We were told a visit to Helga's Folly was a must if in Kandy and we were not disappointed. We only went for a drink but were made to feel welcome and encouraged to look at the whole property which was a surprise around every corner. It was a great insight into the original owners and subsequent inhabitors. Another side to Sri Lanka and worth a visit. Pleased to hear Helga is still there.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suerB1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blythspirit77, Resident Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much from the Family Helga's Folly for your very kind, true to hart review.
We at Helga's folly always make sure that all guests who come here go back feeling that they have visited a place close to their hart and soul.
For everyone who comes here the tour of the property is a must to complete their visit. And we make sure they enjoy it.
The original owners were non other than Madam Helga's Grand father and Grand Mother. Initially this was their ancestral home, then a guest house and then a hotel.
Madam Helga turned this place into an Art and whimsical Sri Lankan home.

Thank you again for your kind review .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

We were told through word of mouth that HF was a must do whilst in Kandy and it did not disappoint! Everything about the dinner was an experience - from the weird and wonderful decor that looked akin to the rabbit hole in Alice in Wonderland, to the maze of rooms, atmospheric music and friendly staff. The food, a set 20 dollar menu, was delicious! Only fault is the drinks list which was quiet pricey! Overall I will definitely be telling others to go if ever in Kandy!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Siobhan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blythspirit77, Resident Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018

Dear Madam,
Thank you very much from the Family Helga'sFolly for your true to heart and wonderful review.
Surely this place will not disappoint any art loving and adventures person. Years of effort and collection from the time of Madam Helga's grand mother witnesses this unique property.
The staff here (we call ourselves the Family, which we are) consists of ancients who have been here for decades as well as freshers who have joined here for the love of the place, do our very best to give the guests the unique experience.
The food is prepared fresh with care as per Madam Helga's recipe. Of course, yes the drinks might be a little more than other places, but reasonable.
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit here and experienced the extraordinary.
Thank you for the wonderful and encouraging review again.
Hope you enjoyed your stay in Sri Lanka in general. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

When we visited Kandy last month we got a tuk tuk here after dinner for a drink. The place is absolutely amazing. I have never been to such a cool place. The guy that served us wasn’t the most welcoming and told us that they were closing in 30 mins. We had already arranged with our tut tuk driver to pick us up an hour after he dropped us off, so we were a little worried we’d be stranded outside in the storm for half an hour or so. Drinks were a bit more than most places, but it was well worth the money. A different man encouraged us to go and look around, and made sure we went upstairs and had a good look around everywhere. The place is magical. It’s a bit spooky, but seriously cool. Luckily more people that were staying at the hotel turned up for drinks, so we didn’t feel rushed out. Just before we left, we got to meet Toby, the beautiful healthy pet cat. I would definitely love to come here again and highly recommend it to anyone.

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Holliester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blythspirit77, Resident Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking your time during your holiday to have a drink at our bar, and for your most valued review. Really very sorry about the somewhat bad experience with the waiter. Please accept our apologies.
Please be kind enough to note that even though our bar closing time is at 10.00 pm, our lounge is always open till our valued guests finishes their drinks and leave the premises. Under no circumstance we tell them to leave. You can be assured that anyone can stay comfortably until their transport arrives.
Glad that we were able to encourage you to go around the property and enjoy your visit.
Hope you enjoyed your holiday in Sri Lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Helga's Folly is one of the most delightful leisure experiences I have had. It is a place of history, culture and an invitation to let your imagination run free. The friendly staff is well mannered and ear to please - it must be said that the staff has been with the estate for many decades which is the biggest complement to its management. The food is exquisite and hygienically prepared and varies from local culinary delights to international cuisine. A stay at the Folly is highly recommended.

Room tip: Depends on the company you travel with - I had the best view on the top floor and loved it
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blythspirit77, Resident Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for your heartwarming and delightful review.
Yes, as mentioned this is a place to let your imagination run free and in the meantime enjoy the tranquility as well. And also to relax your mind and soul.
As the staff here are called the Family Helgasfolly, we work as family (Old, young and new) and strive to do our utmost best to make the guests who come here happy and to give them a memorable stay.

Thank you for the wonderful review and it is indeed an encouragement to us to do better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

After taking over 30 mins to find the property, it was what seemed to have been locked. This makes one start to wonder if there are actually any guests staying here or if it is deserted due to the strangeness of the property as you drive in. We walked in, saw how cluttered / dusty / smelly the place was. To be honest, I don’t think there is any way many people can stay in a place with a skeleton perched. We were going to have a drink and possibly a meal however when we were asked to sit down, there were no tables. If there was we didn’t see any.... The lounge area was inviting to a degree but to someone already freaked out by the paraphernalia that changes matters. After looking at the menus with limited options, it was seriously time to bail. It made me wonder if salmonella comes free with the dishes on offer.... I would have loved to have taken a photo or two of the property however I was far too disturbed to even contemplate it at the time.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nads71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blythspirit77, Resident Manager at Helga's Folly, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for your really constructive criticism review of which we think will make others curious and want to come and see this place.
However, really sorry to note that you have not at all been comfortable of the surroundings here. May be this is due to the fact that you have not understood the concept of this property or you would have been taken aback with the prices.
As mentioned in our website this is not a place for people looking for the spic and span 5 star experience, but for Art loving, nature loving souls.
Sorry to mention that the place is not locked out, unless it was before 6.00 in the morning or after 10.00 in the night.and in our lobby we do have tables to be served with and they are big not to be noticed.
And as for guests staying here, we are happy to say that even with the off peak season still we have rooms occupied during these period and they are guests who understand this property and really want to stay here.
We are sorry that you did not look into the true aspect of the place and wondered around to really get the feel of it.
All the food served here are freshly prepared after order is taken and served hygienically. We have guests here for Lunch/ Dinners everyday and everyone is fine.
We hope very much that you could have taken as many pictures as you want and published here. However much a person is shocked, anyone tends to taken a picture or two to support their statements, which sadly you have not done so. This makes us wonder if this review is a genuine one.
Thank you again for bringing us to the highlight..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews