We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (700)
Filter reviews
700 results
Traveller rating
484
146
36
21
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
484
146
36
21
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel cottage suite lemongrass room classic cars sri lanka curry egg hoppers poster bed infinity pool the main hotel lovely pool small hotel our honeymoon overlooking kandy stayed longer set menu fabulous views
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 700 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2018

Arrived at Elephant Stables after a long drive. Give the requisite drink and passports taken and then told room not ready and just left! Finally when in search of someone and requested tea ( arrived cold) and lunch menu ‘ a la carte’.. the menu was in a ‘dog eared’ sticky-back-plastic folder. It was pretty much chicken and chips, fish and chips, sandwiches and chips and 2 Thai curries! Really- we’d come all this was for something and chips!? After some ‘discusson’ we were made dahl and rice ( I am gluten free).
The bedroom ( Vanilla suite) was a good size with a side small bedroom w a bunk bed for children ( no air con there). The bathroom was SMALL with a not very clean looking shower, and just overall ‘tired’. There were 4 ‘easy’chairs that looked grubby. There were 2 bath towels and one hand towel- all very thin, worn out and old. In the wardrobe, among the motley collection of dry cleaning style wire hangers and some old shop clothing hangers were 2 VERY old bathrobes, so worn and washed, with a tinge of grey, they might JUST have fitted a small child- they definitely didn’t come anywhere near fitting my ‘standard sized’ partner. The bedroom furniture was pretty mixed but on the cheap side. The Swimming pool was ‘bijou’ and didn’t look clean. Water feature at the front looked just muddy brown. Seat coves grubby- both in the house and garden furniture. Sun umbrellas look like they have never been cleaned. The good thing was an amazing view both front and back. We did go back for dinner- the staff had explained they had an evening a la carte menu- but hey ho, we were presented with the very same something-and-chips only menu.... finally, to bed- the mattress protector under the sheet didn’t cover the whole mattress. In the night i itched. In the morning I awoke with some bites I hadn’t had before. Not good. We were meant to be staying 2 nights- but I was so unhappy there we left- and went to the Kandy House.
For some reason I cant ‘click’ on some of the point sbelow so:

Service. 2
Rooms 1
Sleep quality 2 ( in between feeling itchy)

With a bit of effort, the Elephant Stables could be a really lovely boutique hotel- in th interim I wouldn’t recommend going there.

Room tip: Unless given a make over, I don’t recommend,
Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CVT100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElephantS3, Senior consultant - Operations at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2018

Thank you for your constructive Feedback. I'm sorry that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us. The issues that you mention in your review have been addressed and amended. I really hope you will give us another chance to serve you on a return visit. Best wishes from the whole team at Elephant Stables.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

Beautiful location on top of the hills, with great panoramic views and only a 30 minute walk to the Buddhist temple in Kandy. Boutique style hotel with few rooms giving a warm, personalised atmosphere. Excellent and very clean rooms - 4 poster bed and small touches to make you feel comfortable and provide everything you need. Excellent cuisine including traditional Sri Lankan dining, or if you prefer, Western options. A particular mention to all the staff who were very friendly and attentive, making us feel welcome. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElephantS3, Senior Operations Consultant at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Thank you for staying with us whilst in Kandy. So glad to hear that we met your expectations. Hopefully you will be able to spend a little longer with us on a future visit.
Best regards from all at Elephant Stables

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

what a place!! an oasis in the middle of Kandy with a colonial vibe!!
we spend a night in the cottage with our kids. the place was beautiful, clean and so inviting. the staff where amazing, setting up the dinner and breakfast on the edge of the garden with a panoramic view of the city.
the staff and the manager did everything to make us happy!!
thank you!!!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dotans541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElephantS3, Senior Operations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Thank you for choosing our Hotel and for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your night with us. Hopefully you will be able to spend a little longer on a future visit.
Best regards from the team at Elephant Stables.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

I had high expectations for Elephant Stables in Kandy, because it was the most expensive accommodation we booked in our tour of Sri Lanka. Well - my expectations were exceeded.

First, the view is incredible - you can see the whole city.

Second - the accomodation (we stayed in the Lemongrass room) is pretty luxurious: huge bathroom with a great shower and toiletries, very comfy bed, and - some special touches - a small library of vintage Sri Lankan films to choose from, as well as a couple of folders of curated information about Sri Lanka and Kandy to help plan your days.

Third - the food was great. Breakfast was included in our rate, and was extensive and delicious. I had the eggs Florentine in both mornings. We also enjoyed cocktails in our room one night, and dinner in the dining room on another.

I won’t forget the Elephant Stables in a hurry, and wouldn’t hesitate to stay again.

Tip: most tuk tuk drivers haven’t heard of it, but they know the road - make sure you have a map to show them on your phone!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MelbourneTau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElephantS3, Senior Operations Consultant at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Thank you for the wonderful review and for choosing our Hotel for your stay whilst in Kandy. So glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations.Look forward to seeing you again shortly.
Best regards form the Elephant Stables team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

We had two nights at this great hotel! On the very top with 360 view it is absolutely to be recommended.

Nice room, and really good small hotel vibe, especially with Nihal giving excellent service and local knowledge:)

If you go to Kandy - stay here!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank eirikfolkvordt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElephantS3, Senior Operations Consultant at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad that you had such a wonderful experience. Hopefully you'll be back when you visit Sri Lanka again.
Best Regards from the team at Elephant Stables.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews