We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,331)
Filter reviews
1,331 results
Traveller rating
532
429
230
73
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
532
429
230
73
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river sri lanka presidential suite beautiful hotel swimming pool mini bar great pool rooms are large breakfast buffet is colonial style visiting kandy stayed here for two nights tuk tuk poolside bats driver temple
Filter
Updating list...
371 - 376 of 1,331 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

Beautifully appointed hotel on the banks of the Mahaweli river. Rooms are spacious and clean, balconies open out to a pleasing view. Service is excellent with polite and helpful staff. Lovely pool and gardens. The standard of food was very good and the spread of the buffet is extensive. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank salamati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017


Dear Guest,

Ayubowan!

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach!

It is with great pleasure that we note your endorsement on our product and services. We endeavour to ensure a memorable stay for our guests and are happy that our team assisted you in taking away great memories of your visit. We will continue to develop and improve our product and services in order to ensure an even better experience in the future,

We look forward to your next visit to the Mahaweli Reach!

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

At the last minute our hotel booking was changed to Mahaweli Reach and we were pleasantly surprised. The room (226) was very large with decks all around and view of the river. The buffet were really good, even allowing for the loud Russian tour party.
The pool and grounds were great, the only downside was it's a bit tired and the shower faucet was faulty.

Room Tip: Room 226 was great with views over river
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Ayubowan!

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach!

We are glad that you enjoyed the overall ambience of the hotel, spacious rooms, amenities,  the service provided and the quality and choices of the cuisine available at our hotel.
We will continue to strive and improve our product and services in order to ensure an even better experience in the future.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to the Mahaweli Reach!

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Despite a short stay of just two days this property has given me lasting impressions mainly on its colonial ambiance, wide and large rooms with modern amenities, it's wonderful friendly staff and quick to respond technicians. The food spread was a delight of Sri Lankan fare especially the "hoppers" and the curries that went with it.The great Mahaweli river was a delight to walk by and to see riverine activity.
All the rooms are in a garden surround concept with a large river on one side and a swimming pool with old trees like a Tamarind (Tamarindus indicus) tree in the driveway and even a Jackfruit (Artocarpus heterophyllus) tree bearing fruits near the swimming pool!

Room Tip: The rooms to the left of the reception counter as you enter the hotel are closer to the road. There were hardly any noise disturbances.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shanon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Ayubowan!

Warm greetings from Mahaweli Reach!

We are truly happy to have been able to facilitate a memorable stay for you and take this opportunity to express our sincere appreciation of your gracious recommendation of our product and services offered.

Your comments on the services provided and the choice of cuisine offered are a source of inspiration to us. We will continue to develop and improve our product and services in order to provide our guests an even better experience.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to the Mahaweli Reach!

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Stunning Grounds and welcoming staff who go above expectations to ensure you have a great stay. Hotel, restaurant and pool area are lovely, set next to the large Mahaweli River. The staff are great, the food was good and the rooms were clean, spacious and traditional (could do with a little TLC and update - but this is not major and not off putting from the rest of the lovely surroundings).

Room Tip: Ideally located to visit Sandy - lovely relaxing setting
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Dear Guest,

Ayubowan!

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach!

We are truly happy to have been able to facilitate a memorable stay for you both and take this opportunity to express our sincere appreciation of your gracious recommendation of our product and services offered.

We will continue to develop and improve our product and services in order to ensure an even better experience in the future,

Looking forward to welcoming you again to the Mahaweli Reach!

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

This is a a very good hotel.In my view excellent in the following: service,room amenities, cleanliness, insect control, thoughtfulness in room layout and fittings. Food is good. The overall feel of the hotel captures colonial Ceylon, but in a modern way. Recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Walleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Dear Guest,

Ayubowan!

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach!

We truly appreciate your gracious words in recommending our property. We will continue to develop and improve our product and services in order to ensure an even better experience in the future. We look forward to your next visit to the Mahaweli Reach!

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews