We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Madugalle Friendly Family Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$ 224
US$ 193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 75
US$ 71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 99
US$ 95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nature Walk Resort(Kandy)(Great Value!)
US$ 17
US$ 15
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$ 131
US$ 52
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 118
US$ 90
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 44
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 84
US$ 82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sevana City Hotel(Kandy)(Great Value!)
US$ 33
US$ 25
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$ 43
US$ 39
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
176
93
8
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
93
8
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily photographsfamily dining roomthe ownergreen oasistuk tukfamous templedelicious sri lankan foodstreet noiseminute walktooth templerotibusy kandystayed for nightskandy lakedouble bedguesthousepoliticians
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 282 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
113
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

The owner, Omari, is kind, very helpful in where and when to go. Breakfast is basic but good and filling served on English china. We asked to stay 2 nights but liked it so much we stayed 3. We are a family of 5. The rooms are set in a family house with an inside garden. Birds come in and out as they please. There is a quaint gathering place to sit and read. Absolutely loved this place

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

The most beautiful guest house I have ever been into! It looks amazing! it's in the center of the city but behind the front door it's really quiet. Amazing, stylish - colonial style. Very comfortable and clean.
In the morning we had breakfast, home made. Delicious, especially papaya jam!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dobrohna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

Host Mrs. Kumari is really nice. Homestay is an old house nice maintained and renovated. Rooms are on first floor with a common sitting area to read and relax with indoor plants. Breakfast was awesome and Mrs. Kumari arranged transportation as well for day tours to Sigiriya and Dambulla. Walking distance to famous Temple of tooth and Kandy lake. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank achingupta27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

This is a wonderful hideaway right in the centre of Kandy.
The owner is incredibly friendly and helpful, looking out for your welfare (eg warning you about locals cons, telling you the accurate costs of things etc) and overall being very hospitable. She was also very kind, on the morning of our checkout I was feeling unwell and she let us stay in the room past the usual checkout without charging us, and showed genuine care and concern about me. Such a lovely lady, very motherly.

The rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet. There is a very nice garden communal area to sit in and you wouldn't believe you were in the middle of a city.
The location is fab, only a 10 minute walk from Kandy lake and temple of the tooth. She can always organise tours for you at a fair price if you'd like as well.

Some fellow travellers we met recommended this place to us and we are so glad we went, they were right!
Highly recommend!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank BGcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

The first thing to work about this warm abode is how to find it. The street number is clearly marked on the front near the front door (see my foto), but I did have some confusion about what street it was in until the landlady, Mrs Kumari Madugalle, sent me a pdf of a map with some jottings of her own. My first confusion was the name of the street, which is DS Senanayake Vidiya. (TripAdvisor gives DS Senanayake 'Street'.) This is the main road starting from the Kandy Lake right at the Tooth Temple and heading straight north. It is not to be confused with a street with a, to me, similar name, namely EL Senanayake Vidaya, which also starts at Dalada Vidiya near Kandy Lake and also heads north, in parallel to our DS Senanayake Vidiya. These streets are named after politicians with the same surname, but the street we want is named for the first prime minister of Ceylon after independence from Britain, namely Don Stephen Senanayake. Now, on same maps (e.g. Google Maps), DS Senanayake Vidiya is named the Colombo-Jaffna Highway. This is because it is the southernmost, and terminating, section of this highway (the A9). A section of this highway in Kandy's northern suburbs is called Katugastota Road. So, if you are coming into Kandy by bus from the north (e.g. Dambulla) and you start seeing street signs for Katugastota Road then you are coming closer to the inner suburbs of Kandy, and the street signs will soon say DS Senanayake Vidiya. The second thing is whether it is Senanayaka or Senanayake? Mrs Madugalle's website gives an 'a' ending, but Wikipedia and Lonely Planet give an 'e' ending. I am guessing that these are alternative ways of representing (in Latin script) the same sound (in Sinhala). The third thing that confused me was the spelling of Vidaya, which means 'street' or 'road'. On the local street signs (and Lonely Planet), they give Vidaya, but you will also come across Veediya (e.g. on Google Maps). I am guessing that these are just alternative ways chosen to reflect a long vowel (just as you might see Sri or Shri written as Shree). So if your map has Veediya, it's the same as Vidiya. Mrs Madugalle's guest house is a bit less than a kilometer north of the lake, a healthy walk, but not at all far from the Tooth Temple or the shops around Dalada Vidiya or indeed the shops in EL Senanayake Vidiya. If you are coming to Kandy by train, I suggest a tuk-tuk from the station, because altho the distance is walkable, the narrow footpaths and other people on them make for a bustle during peak periods. Our street, DL Senanayake Vidiya, can be busy during the day (see foto), but street noise does not penetrate into (inside) the guest house. Inside you will find a 'middle-class' family home, with a staircase to 4 guest bedrooms (each with shower/toilet) built over the lower back rooms. This collection of guest rooms is both separate from and integrated with the family home, since you walk through the areas where the family lives to get to the staircase; also you have breakfast, and dinner (if you arrange this) in what would have been the family dining room area, downstairs. This architectural arrangement makes for a dynamic more like a 'homestay' than other guest houses I stayed in, in north-central Lanka, where those guest rooms comprized a separate building detached from the family home and so you did not have the benefit of being able to interact (your Sinhala-proficiency permitting) with the family. My room was basic, but not lacking anything that most 3rd class hotels offer. If you get a room further away from the staircase (i.e. the 3rd and 4th rooms) you have a small sitting area outside your doors. The hospitality was superb. (I stayed for 3 nights late December 2016.)

Room Tip: The 3rd and 4th rooms are further away from the staircase and should be quieter; also they have a sitting area outside them.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Schiltron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews