We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
178
93
8
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
93
8
4
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Let's be honest upfront: if you're looking for AC-luxury, this is probably not your place. Because it's simple and there is only a fan in the room. But if you're interested in a guesthouse with a Family connection, in walking distance of the city centre, affordable and clean, the this is a place I can truly recommend. Unspectacular if not hidden from the outside, along a busy street (like all in Kandy), it is spectacular after the door is opened and the owner will greet you. Antique furniture, old photographs depicting the landlord together with various presidents of SriLanka or with the National Geographical Society or famous rugby/cricket players through six generations, cupboards with valuable glasses and large dining tables - and foremost, flowers and pots of flowers and greens allover. It's like heaven from busy Kandy! Take one of the rooms upstairs, they are more airy. Double bed, small curtain-shower and bath/toilet. Breakfast is a wide choice. We had dinner too, provided by the resident cook: SriLankan curries, lovely Roti (the best in a two weeks stay throughout the country) and mixed salad. Great and very reasonably priced. There are no alcoholic drinks but they will take care of brought ones to store them in a fridge. The lady owner, with a background of being amongst the most reputable and noble families in Kandy, is helpful with recommendations about places and else (where to get the best jaggery from e.g. and how to be careful when shopping) and can tell a lot about the former grandeur of Kandy and SriLankan society. So, it's more like a homestay with someone who makes you feel warmly welcome. Really enjoyable and nice for a change!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Andreas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Its a very cosy family place with a handful of rooms.

For us it was a bit hard to find as there is no sign outside an you just have to ring the bell at the right number.

The breakfastand the dinner was very taste. The dinner a bit expensive though.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Becksboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Madugalles Guest House was perfect for all our family and we had a great stay with delicious homemade breakfast and dinner. Kumari is an incredibly warm and welcoming host and made us feel at home. She was so helpful in organising our stay in Kandy and even some tours around the city. The place was absolutely lovely- decorated so nicely-, clean and full of flowers - even the beds were so comfortable with good quality.
Happy to recommand her to anyone looking for a peaceful and warm stay in a beautiful town.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkH5388TT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Staying here was like coming home and visiting grandma and the family.
The lady was so heartwarming and gave us tipps to discover the city of Kandy and how to travel further.
In total we stayed 3 nights and the breakfast was great and even with homemade jam and juice.
Also the dinner was just delicious. One evening we were the only guests and were allowed to eat with our hand which was a real unique and fun experience.
The rooms a big and clean with a bathroom ensuite.
The guesthouse is located about 10 Minutes by foot from the city center, the lake and the entrance to the tooth temple and also easy to find as you only have to follow the road between Queen Hotel and Temple.
We would love to come back once!!!!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Travelling with 2 teenagers aged 19 and 13, we have just left Kandy after 2 very special nights here. Our host Kumari is one of the most gentle, wise and serene ladies I have met.
The house is 200 years old and the rooms are sizeable. It was hot in Kandy (35c) but fans more than sufficient - we always felt comfortable and slept very well.
My youngest arrived ill and fatigued. Kumari nourished him and we were back on deck the very next day. My son even asked to stay in for 2nd night of delicious home cooked meals they were that good! Very happy to have clothes washed also!
Kumari arranged tour to Elephants/local sighseeimg along with our next leg which was a long drive to Tissa.(Yala)
Kumari would sit with you and talk about culture, tradition and change - my boys were enthralled.
The young lad and lady helping Kumari were ever smiling and obliging also.
Location was very good - walking to Tooth Relic, Lake and all.
Could not speak highly enough of our stay here. Enjoy.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Machasgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews