We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Madugalle Friendly Family Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$ 121
US$ 56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 121
US$ 91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 101
US$ 71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Nature Walk Resort(Kandy)(Great Value!)
US$ 17
US$ 15
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$ 46
US$ 44
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 80
US$ 68
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 43
US$ 41
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sevana City Hotel(Kandy)(Great Value!)
US$ 33
US$ 25
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$ 175
US$ 138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 224
US$ 193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
176
93
8
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
93
8
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily photographsfamily dining roomthe ownergreen oasistuk tukfamous templedelicious sri lankan foodstreet noiseminute walktooth templerotibusy kandystayed for nightskandy lakedouble bedguesthousepoliticians
Filter
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2012

You'd never know it to look at but behind the White exterior there is a lovely family run guesthouse hiding. The owner is amazingly helpful, telling you the best sights, when to go and how to get there. Great home cooked Sri lankan food. Rooms are basic but clean and nice. There is an early wake up call by a train but only the one and it really isn't a problem. Would definitely go back

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shawdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We recently stayed with Kumari. She was very helpful and friendly and her place was perfect for visiting Kandy and surroundings. So much so that we cancelled our stay in a guesthouse in the hills over Kandy and extended our stay with her. You really can reach everything in Kandy on foot from her place.
Don't be put off by the house front which is uninspiring and on a loud main road! The house unfolds Tardis-like behind the front and seems to swallow up most of the street noise. Upstairs there is a great area to sit outside and chat with fellow visitors.
The food was also authentic and delicious and well worth trying, especially as Kandy itself is rather lacking in decent eateries!
All in all, basic but very good homely accommodation at a very fair price.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are better and have less "traffic" from other visitors
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The name of the guesthouse is not just a name- it is the description of the people living and owning this guesthouse. We only stayed for 1 night here and regreted we only allocated one day for Kandy.
The experience in this HOME is incredible. You have the opportunity to meet people who are commited to make your visit unique. They are so kind and so nice that after 5 months from our trip we are still emailing with Mrs Kumary. She is the kind of person you would like to meet everyday and the people in the house are alike. The place is very clean and the food is great. If you have the opportunity to visit Kandy, don’t look anymore for other accommodation- Madugalle Friendly Guesthouse is the best option you have.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oana25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Kumari and her husband, along with their team of helpers run a lovely and cosy guesthouse very centrally located in the town of Kandy. When you enter you are met with a friendly welcome, a cool drink and a calming old-world atmosphere that comes from Kumari's family and past generations having lived in this home for the last 200 years as she told us.

The room itself is very simple and could use a couple of extra bits of furniture, but it was clean and we only used it for sleeping and showering anyway.

The meals were proper home cooked affairs with a real taste of Sri Lankan cuisine using a lot of organic produce. I might suggest a bit more of a Sri Lankan twist on the breakfast though...like egg hoppers!

We had a few chats with Kumari and found her to be a lovely helpful lady who is also involved with a few community aid projects, which we thought great.

All up we couldn't have picked a better base for our explorations of Kandy. As I said, don't expect any luxuries, just a very pleasant and homely experience and you won't be disappointed. Thanks Kumari and team!

Stayed: March 2012
Thank MKunzmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Kumari Madugalle's home is a calm and friendly base for getting to know Kandy and visiting its surrounding sights. Our room in her home was clean and simply furnished, and all around her very tastefully furnished house there are very interesting old family photographs which she is happy to tell you about.

She organised a one day visit for us to Dambulla and Sigirya (a UN heritage site which requires great stamina to climb the massive stair up to the top) with their comfortable car and driver, and on another day we visited the Botanical Gardens (georgous) and the elephant orphanage (cute). Kumari is also a great cook and we had a wonderful traditional Sri Lankan meal one evening.

we had great difficulty in finding an email address to make a booking for this guest house, having seen all the glowing recommendations on Trip Advisor, so if you are in the same boat here is how you contact Kumari: madugallere@yahoo.com

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5Grace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews