We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but very noisy”

The Kandy Garden Cafe
Ranked #14 of 222 Restaurants in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Reviewed 7 November 2018

We'd walked the whole way round the lake in the dark in pouring rain and REALLY needed to get food and shelter so we dropped into the Garden Cafe. The first table we took was right next to the kitchen and we had to move as we were coughing and choking on the spices. Second table was much better

We didn't really know what we were going to get. Ordering fish curry, we found it didn't come with rice so it was a good thing we'd also ordered fried rice with cuttlefish and there was enough rice with that to do the two of us. The food was tasty, freshly cooked and very good value.

We probably should have checked the cost of the juices as these were a lot more expensive than the food. Our bill of 1850 rupees (about £8.50 - I know, ridiculously low) was for the rice with cuttlefish, the fish curry, a bottle of water and 2 juices each. The juices made up 1350 of the total though I have to say they were excellent and well worth the price.

The only downside was the noise level - a combination of heavy rain battering the roof and the kottu man chopping away in the kitchen.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 613 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2018

we had quick dinner on this place. This place safe and beautiful place to dinner. They served delicious foods. We really loved "KOTTU". It little bit spicy but tasty is good.Freat staff with kind

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

Had a quick and easy lunch here on our first day in Kandy. Veggie curry, rice and roti and water for less than 300 rupees! Nothing spectacular, but tasted good and filled the stomachs.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank JayDub07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

We only have juice and a spicy chicken dog which were both nice! It’s very noise when we were there as there was some renovation going on just next store. Staff are nice, trying to get a Tuk Tuk for us when we leave.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank So_Winnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

We found the reviews to be mostly positive on TripAdvisor so we decided it a safe bet when you’re starving and have had a long day travelling. We had no idea what we were up for, but happy to give it a go... and no disappointment here!! The cafe looks like a takeaway shop but we sat down and were given menus.
One of our group was vegetarian and was still able to get a delicious meal with many options.
One of the staff was so helpful he pretty much explained the whole menu where he could in English. He even topped up one of our Curry’s when it was getting low. All the the other staff were friendly too.
If you’re looking for a quiet meal, then this is probably not the place for you, but from our experience, travel shouldn’t be “quiet” especially in a place with so much culture and happiness to give.
When we got the bill we were overwhelmed with how cheap it was between us. A must do for some authentic Sri Lankan food.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Inspire549834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kandy Garden Cafe also viewed

Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 

Been to The Kandy Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing