We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sevana City Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$ 175
US$ 138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 90
US$ 73
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 100
US$ 95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 98
US$ 84
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 80
US$ 43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 297
US$ 74
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Majestic Tourist Hotel(Kandy)(Great Value!)
US$ 26
US$ 18
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 49
US$ 41
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 35
US$ 25
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 20
US$ 15
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (772)
Filter reviews
772 results
Traveller rating
382
315
58
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
382
315
58
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housesmiley facehomemade jamstrain stationclock towerthe ownerbusy roadwithin walking distancesri lankanon acmajor attractionscentral locationhot waterfew minutes walkclean roomstooth templenice breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 772 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We don't see the point of paying high prices for mid to luxury hotels when travelling for you will be out all day and won't be using the facilities that you are paying for. So all we look for is somewhere clean and comfortable (good bed / shower) and location. This hotel delivered fully and exceeded our expectations. We paid the £5 supplement for a deluxe room so as to get air conditioning. The room was large (a double and a single bed with loads of room) and beds comfy. Bathroom was fine, clean and effective. Breakfast was lovely and cooked / prepared right in front on you with all of the family mucking in. Location was spot on, just a short walk (5 / 10 mins) from the centre being downtown Kandy with all of the restaurants (we ate out at a roof top lovely one). Great value for money hotel run by a lovely family - would have no hesitation recommending it.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sevanashantha, Owner at Sevana City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Mark D,

Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. My family and I are delighted to read that you enjoyed our hospitality and breakfast.Thank you for highlighting the convenience of our location. I am glad that we were able accommodate a room move for you.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Thank You,

Shantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We are pleased to have stayed at this little hotel in the centre of Kandy. We arrived by bus from Dambulla , and found our way in approx 10 mins. Upon arrival we were greeted with a chilled towel to cool off, much appreciated! Our room was small, clean with a comfortable bed. The bathroom was tiny, but fine. We booked an evening meal 7$ each, it was so nice! We were the only ones dining and were made to feel very special. The food was delish. We were up early to catch the 8.47 train to Ella, and enjoyed our breakfast which was delicious and filling.
We were aware more building work was being undertaken, but it never disturbed our stay. Highly recommended!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kazbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sevanashantha, Owner at Sevana City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear kazbang.

Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. I’m sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay.
Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Shantha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Sevana City Hotel is a family run business,the owner and his team provided the greatest services during our stay.
The room is clean and cozy with a comfy bed.As a hotel guests,you may enjoy the homemade breakfast and Sri Lanka dinner with reasonable price.
And for the location, it's take about 15 to 20 minutes walking distance to Kandy lake and the temple of the sacred tooth relic.If you plan to visit Royal Botanic Garden,just ride a local bus at opposite road for only 20 Rupee.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ChinDerrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sevanashantha, Owner at Sevana City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear DerrickChinLianWie,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay! I am glad that we were able accommodate a room move for you. Also, thank you for the kind words regarding the breakfast and the dinner.
Thank you for highlighting the convenience of our location.I’m sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Thank You,
Shantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

This place was a great escape from the bust streets of Kandy. The room was extremely comfortable with great air con and a comfy bed full of huge pillows. The staff are all very happy, helpful and caring and I can't praise the level of service enough. Little things like when we came to check in we had had a hot walk with our bags so they gave us chilled towels to cool off with as soon as we arrived! I think they have plans to expand what looks to be a family business and when they're getting so many things right like this I expect them to be a much bigger operation next time I go to Kandy.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sevanashantha, Owner at Sevana City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Chris W,

Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. I’m sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. I’m happy that you enjoyed your stay and I’m looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.

Thank You,
Shantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

We received a warm welcome upon our arrival, complete with a much needed iced tea and a cold towel. Very refreshing! The owners are really friendly and told us much about the city of Kandy.

The room was really clean and comfortable. And the breakfast was fun - who doesn't want to be greeted with a smiley face made of eggs in the morning? But it might leave those with an appetite wanting more.

Overall, we were really pleased with the value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kyle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sevanashantha, Owner at Sevana City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Dear Kyle J,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I’m happy that you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast.
It was indeed our pleasure to serve you.
I’m looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.

Thank You,
Shantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews