We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
173
97
23
1
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
97
23
1
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great view kandy lake the owner his wife clean rooms tuk tuk room's bathroom steep walk sri lanka view of the lake short cut toast and jam perched high laundry service walk into town place to stay recommend staying here
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 301 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

The hotel looks onto the Kandy Lake and is very peaceful. To get into town, you either catch a tuk-tuk or walk which is about 15 minutes. The owners are lovely people and helped us organise a driver and a car for two of the days we stayed in Kandy, as well as recommending a few restaurants close by.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank worldtraveller_8508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Ashan and his wife were very kind and helpful. Rooms basic but clean with ensuite bathroom--towels changed every day. Marvellous lake view from dining room. Up a hill from the busy town so quiet spot. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor room to avoid steps
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fishermensfriend1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2016

Just sitting out on the balcony with a beer and looking at the city was something I could do every day. Try to get one of the rooms with a view. Very close by (but down and up alot of stairs) is the restaurant Sharon which is worth a visit. The owner at McLeod also has contact with a great tuktuk driver, an old man who drove more relaxed and safe than most other drivers I met in Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: There are a few rooms that have excellent views. The cheaper ones don't.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Seco0031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile

Our bedroom and bathroom were comfortable & clean, and more than adequate for our brief stay ( one night ). The balcony off the dining room was a plus - lovely view over the lake. We walked to the Garden Cafe ( very good) which is at the end of the road, less than 15 minutes walk, tuk tuk ride back.
Breakfast was fine - nothing exceptional. This accommodation is very good value for money.

Stayed: March 2016
Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

The couple who owns the place are very sweet, generous and helpful. The rooms are clean, and there is a shared terrace with a stunning view over the lake. Moreover the other guesthouse's in the area were more expensive. We would highly recommend this place!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews