We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great home cooking and view”
Review of Sharon Inn

Sharon Inn
Ranked #18 of 223 Restaurants in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited as a group of four for dinner, was a fantastic buffet that felt so homemade. Mostly veggie curries which included aubergine, dhal, salad, potato. Also had a chicken curry as well. Comes with rice, soup and fruit for dessert, you can buy beer and wine and water too. It’s a fabulous setting on the 5th floor of the building and is quite a climb but so worth it. Cost 1600 rupees per person and there is only one sitting - 7:30 pm so be on time!!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank caligirlinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2018

We did not stay here but ate on our first night in Sri Lanka - the buffet. It was fabulous! We tried so many different dishes and as it was a buffet we could help ourselves to as much or as little as we wanted. The staff were also incredibly friendly (although to be fair, this was true everywhere we went in SL). A really good way to get introduced to the cuisine of this gorgeous country.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlchemistTQ14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018

We were staying at Sharon Inn so the dinner made sense. It was delicious and so much choice. Vegetarians, vegans and meat eaters would be pleased. Very homely freshly cooked food.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Terri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

As vegetarians we found it difficult to find authentic, vegetarian places to eat in Kandy - our last stop before flying home. We were staying next door to this place and it was also in the guidebook so we decided to try it out. Unfortunately, we arrived two hours early for the buffet but had a few drinks beforehand on the rooftop. The rooftop restaurant itself is lovely and has a great view over the city. First, we were served soup - which was delicious and after waiting a couple of hours we were very hungry. We were the first people to 'tuck into' the buffet. There was a huge selection of curry dishes - we had a little bit of each curry and they all tasted amazing!! The only thing we didn't have was the chicken which is served later. We thought the food was authentic and I was full after one plateful (I piled it up!). My partner went back for seconds. We then had a fruit salad for dessert which was nice and refreshing. Definitely give this place a try if you're in Kandy! The food and views are worth the money (it isn't expensive either!)

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank tommytickle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

You sit upstairs on the rooftop with pretty amazing views of the city while you have a drinks order taken.

Food then is laid out in a buffet style and you fill your plates with what you fancy, food was overall pretty decent but was pretty mild.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank DAvedog56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sharon Inn also viewed

Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 
Kandy, Kandy District
Kandy, Kandy District
 

Been to Sharon Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing