We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and brilliant service”
Review of Tourmaline Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tourmaline Hotel
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
London, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and brilliant service”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I only stayed for one night and even though I was a single female (not always ideal in SL), I was treated like royalty. From the moment I walked in, I didn't have a reservation, until I checked out, I was happy! The room was lovely and the bed HUGE. The only problem would be the bathroom as the bath was very small and the heavy plastic curtain was bothersim. I had dinner but I was the only guest there! Breakfast was great with many choices. I would definitely reccomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Lobby Floor are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissCAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    157
    52
    10
    11
See reviews for
79
186
18
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
498 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

stayed here for a night. needed a break and some pampering from the dusty chaos on the motorbike. the hotel is trying to be upscale. it is clearly not. not sure who had the vision of the hard plastic shower curting in the tub. it really makes it claustraphobic. the room had a good view out over the hills that is for sure. fairly close to town, 300 rupee tuk tuk. the bed was confortable i will give it that. but clearly the hotel is trying to go upscale and there are far better places for the money out there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hunglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

this hotel is set on the hills overlooking kandy lake (although your room won't neccesarily).
we had dinner and breakfast here. dinner was a traditional meal which was good, although there wasn't a wide selection of local dishes, most selections being 'western'. i thought, for a smaller hotel, the breakfast was v good, managing to include most of the usual selections in a more modest dining space.
the location is a short drive from the lake and the temple of the tooth, 5 mins.
my parents had a negative experience in that twice when drinks were requested on room service they failed to arrive.
other than that this is a good value hotel with clean, modern rooms.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stotheb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We stayed here for 1 night and we felt very welcome when we arrived. The service is excellent. The restaurant is also great with really good food. We stayed in the new hotel and the room was very nice with a fantastic over so many mountains! The swimming pool needs some new paint and furniture. This was the only hotel during our stay where we had to pay for the wifi, and it didn't work that well. In the hotel lobby the wifi is free. The way up to the hotel is a challenge, but with a driver it is fine.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saskia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

The hotel is good and the rooms were very clean and spacious. Service was good. Staff was hospitable. Location is good. But the place is over priced. Food served was good. There is a very nice swimming pool and the view from the room is good. Overall pleasant stay but over priced.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamsav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.9 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 54 in Kandy
999 reviews
1.9 km away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
738 reviews
0.7 km away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kandy
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
0.2 km away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#11 of 54 in Kandy
367 reviews
3.3 km away
Randholee Resort & Spa
Randholee Resort & Spa
#15 of 54 in Kandy
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourmaline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourmaline Hotel

Property: Tourmaline Hotel
Address: Aniwatte, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,325 - ₹ 20,798
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tourmaline Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished in 2009, Hotel Tourmaline has evolved over the years to portray a resort lifestyle that caters to the discerning traveler. With painstaking attention to detail—from its elegant exterior, cuisine and ambience, the hotel is ideal for both the business as well as leisure traveler. The natural scenic beauty that surrounds the hotel creates the perfect relaxing atmosphere to help you unwind and enjoy the many modern amenities that make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Tourmaline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing