We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
AVANI Kalutara Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$ 143
US$ 107
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 93
US$ 90
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 303
US$ 182
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 98
US$ 95
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Turyaa Kalutara(Kalutara)
US$ 67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 68
US$ 64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 123
US$ 84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,869)
Filter reviews
1,869 results
Traveller rating
897
627
213
89
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
897
627
213
89
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskani lankared lobsterbeach boyssri lankatuk tuklagoon viewour honeymoonhalf boardday tripindian oceanpool area isroom boycurriesturtle hatcheryrestaurant managerevery eveningtwo weeks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,869 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One of the best holiday location in Srilanka. Enjoy the beauty of the nature. Simply Amazing!! The ambience is very nice. One can experience the view of lagoon on one side and beach on the other side. Friendly staff!!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank arasu1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeepani K, Guest Relations Executive at AVANI Kalutara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear arasu1209,

Thank you for your valuable feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your comments on our Hotel, which is truly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you.
Jude Silva,
Hotel Manager,
AVANI Kalutara Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed at Anantara Group hotels a few times (Algarve in August and Thailand) so we were looking forward to our stay.

My husband and I booked to stay at the Avani over the Christmas holiday period. The first two rooms we were shown smelt like damp however after some time we were shown a better room. The third room was lovely and the service from then onwards was good. The Christmas Eve dinner in particular was a highlight.

The food at Avani was ok, we had dinner a few times at the Indian restaurant at the Anantara hotel next door which was superb.

The beach was nice but the water was very rough and there aren’t many sun beds on the beach. The beach is public so there are quite a few people trying to sell you tours etc. The pool area is nice with good waiter Service.

Part way through our holiday, my dad sadly went into hospital in the UK. We therefore decided to fly home early to be with him as soon as we found out.

We had booked and prepaid to stay at the hotel for 5 more nights. We spoke to the manager to see if we could get a refund or part refund as we were checking out early. The manager refused and asked us to email their head office. We have emailed a few times and haven’t received any money back or credit for future stays with the Anantara Group.

For a luxury hotel group we have been really disappointed with this and they were not understanding of our circumstances.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sheena634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeepani K, Guest Relations Executive at AVANI Kalutara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sheena634,

Thank you for selecting AVANI Kalutara Resort. I was extremely disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations during your time with us. However thank you for your feedback which we have looked into and rectified. I most sincerely hope that this will not deter you from visiting us again.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back .

Thank you.
Jude Silva,
Hotel Manager,
AVANI Kalutara Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went to this hotel after a hectic 12 day tour of Sri Lanka. From some previous comments on TA a few months ago we were a little apprehensive. However, we actually found a lovely hotel in a peaceful location which was just what we needed to wind down for a few days at the end of our holiday. From the outset the service was excellent, the staff were extremely friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Our room was pleasant with a balcony and sea view, it was kept very clean and tidy at all times by the cleaning team with the extra touches of fresh flowers and decorations on the bed. They also came in several times with mosquito spray which was appreciated. The food was buffet style with a good variety including local dishes and was of good quality. The only slight negative is the beach where it isn't safe to swim but the pool is very nice and offset the lack of sea swimming. There are one or two locals on the beach seeking to sell things but we found that being polite and firm generally was enough to ensure they left us alone. On the whole this is a nice quiet hotel for a short break at the beginning or end of an island tour.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
1  Thank nickybarrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeepani K, Guest Relations Executive at AVANI Kalutara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear nickybarrah,

Thank you for your valuable feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and the team looked after you so well. Thank you for your comments on our Hotel, which is truly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you.
Jude Silva,
Hotel Manager,
AVANI Kalutara Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very good hotel to relax a few days. Also a very good place to start trips/excursions in Kalatura and environment. The facilities like swimmingpool or healthcentre (gym/Fitness an Spa) are worth to make use of.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank Hans O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeepani K, Guest Relations Executive at AVANI Kalutara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Hans O,

Thank you for your valuable feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your comments on our Hotel, which is truly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you.
Jude Silva,
Hotel Manager,
AVANI Kalutara Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice place to stay. Rooms, food and specially staff is very good, we really enjoyed the stay at Avani. The location is amazing. Rooms were clean and tide. I stayed around 2 days and very satisfied.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank upulvithanage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeepani K, Guest Relations Executive at AVANI Kalutara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Upul,

Thank you for your valuable feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and the team looked after you so well. Thank you for your comments on our Hotel, which is truly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you.
Jude Silva,
Hotel Manager,
AVANI Kalutara Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews