We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place wit yummy breakfast, great WIFI, A/C...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
RECEPTION The Washrooms
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
RECEPTION
The Washrooms
Typical Jaffna Food
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Jaffna, Northern Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Pae_austr...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place wit yummy breakfast, great WIFI, A/C and TV!”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in D'Villa for 4 nights as we were seeking A/C after a few weeks travelling in the heat of Sri Lanka without one. This place is super affordable for what you get. We loved the TV (a real treat after living in the Country for 4 months without one!) - there are a range of English speaking channels. Also, as we need to do one days work per week at the moment, we rely on good WIFI.. this place has fantastic and fast internet, which was fantastic for us!! Dilan, the owner/host is super friendly and very obliging. He was so easy going with all our requests and helped us as much as he could. Dilan rented us his scooter for 2 days to explore the Jaffna peninsula, which was awesome (albeit hot!).
The breakfast was delicious - yummy Sri Lankan breakfasts like string hoppers, pol rotti, dahl, coconut sambol, and fruit too - all for a really reasonable price!
The only tiny, tiny downside is that it isn't walking distance from the city centre, so there aren't really any restaurants around. However, it's only a short bus or tuk tuk ride into town (about 3km or so).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tv, a/c, wifi and breakfast
Liked least: The location is slightly out of town
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2016
Dear Respected Guest, Thanks for choosing my place stay & explore Jaffna. Also, thanks for your valuable review. Best Regards, Dilan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanka-Tra...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excelent accomodation in a nice area with a very helpful owner”
Reviewed 10 March 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the D' Villa Guest House for several weeks during the past two months and can only say that it is probably the best Guest House we could find in the Jaffna town area. . Dillhan the owner is very helpful and can arrange for most of your needs from food to transport. Kettle and tea supplied in the central dining area. Only a short tuk tuk ride from the station and central bus stand. Will definitely go back there again on our next trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The friendly atmosphere
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2016
Dear Respected Guest,
Thanks for your stay at my place and for your valuable review.
Regards from Jaffna,
Dilan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aline Jul...
Placencia, Belize
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great accomodation with helpful owner!”
Reviewed 1 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed 3 nights at D'Villa Guesthouse and we loved it! The room (and the whole house) is very clean! Dilhan was very helpful and could give a lot of information about the are (places to see,restaurants etc..) We would definitely come back!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2016
Dear Respected Guest, Thanks for choosing for my place to stay in Jaffna anf for your valuable review. Regards, Dilan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLM36
Waterloo, London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely simple homestay, great welcome”
Reviewed 21 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We stayed three nights, in a simple twin room, very clean, with air conditioning. Dilhan our host was fantastic, full of ideas and so helpful with lots of different recommendations. The room is one of a few that are part of the upstairs of the property. There's a large dining room with a kettle and tea and coffee, which is a great touch. Dilhan was kind enough to offer us a home cooked dinner the last night, which we were very grateful for and very touched. We felt that his home was our home and really enjoyed our stay. Would return many times!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Lovely host
Liked least: Little bit of noise at nights with the train, the church, but nothing important
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2016
Dear Respected Guest,
Thanks for choosing my place to stay and for your valuable review.
Regards from Jaffna,
Dilan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelbre...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value and food!”
Reviewed 6 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This place has good rooms for a good price and is clean and comfortable. It is a little out of the way but it depends what you are there for. There are food options close-by still and tuk-tuks are everywhere (and the owner, Dillan can organise one for you, with a driver who lives next door and you can trust - Dillan can also arrange for him to give you a tour of the peninsula for reasonable prices). They can also do breakfast and dinner, which are highly recommended, I enjoyed hoppers for breakfast and Jaffna food for dinner (far more than I did elsewhere in Jaffna). I stayed for four nights.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Dec 2015
Dear Respected Guest,
Thanks for your valuable review & recommandation.
Regards,
Dilan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing