We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can stay on the island!”

Neduntheevu (Delft Island)
Ranked #3 of 41 things to do in Jaffna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Delft island is an Island in the Palk Strait, northern Sri Lanka. This island is named as Delft in the Admiralty Chart unlike the other islands, whose names are Tamil. The island's area is 50 km² and it is roughly oval-shaped. Its length is 8 km and its maximum width about 6 km. Delft Islands flat grounds adds to the beauty of its breath taking views.
Reviewed 10 January 2016

I spent hours trying on the Internet to find a way to stay on the island and could not find anything definite. I decided to go over with a minimum number of belongings and try when I got there to find a place to sleep. I've not had much luck adding places to trip advisor when they don't have real mailing addresses but I was able to stay at The Island Hut which is directly across from the ferry dock. Their phone numbers are 0777890620 and 0773707700. He cooks dinner after all the tourists leave and locals come and eat at it. They also are connected with someone who does the autorickshaw tours at the standard price (1500 I think but I don't really remember). My room was basic but did have an attached bath. I think the workers stay in it when there are no guests. The room was clean but the bathroom wasn't very but in the way of village bathrooms…dirt on the walls, clean floor and toilet. The bed was a comfortable foam mattress and they have an extra one so therefore people could fit in the room. There is a ceiling fan so it's comfortable at night. I also met fisherman who used to work as a driver in the Middle East so he speaks a lot of English and has two young sons that are learning English (his second set of children after being away from his family for 10 years in the Middle East). He has returned to buy a boat and hand-build thatch roofed house for himself and, possibly better houses, for his daughters who also live on the island. He invited me to see them and have tea (and/or a full meal except that I had just eaten) with his family. He was very hospitable and invited me to come back and stay with him for free and I told him he should provide a village stay and charge for it. Maybe take people fishing and have his wife show them how she cooks. He has never been anywhere except for Saudi Arabia and Delft Island and found the idea quite surprising but since his nets are old and need replacing I think I have convinced him to accept money. All over the world I have found village stays organized by third parties very expensive but thank goodness for the ubiquitous cell phone. I think he would probably be quite happy with about 1000 per person per night although maybe you should pay them more. His name is Michael Pilla Jesuthasan and his phone number (in Sri Lanka) is 0778567948. I loved to staying the night and walking all over once all the tourists had gone. The Navy people jog on the streets, the bakers bake fresh sugar glazed roles, the light makes beautiful pictures, and people wave and say hi or walk with you for a little while. There are also nice shells to be found on the beach, and interesting though basically modern cemetery, and non-touristic temples and churches. I would like to have stayed several days. It was rainy season but he says the water is very still in the dry season and that there is still a lot of coral and fish to see in the water even though it might look like all the coral has gone towards making little walls all over the island.

Date of experience: December 2015
6  Thank deborahl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wild horses"
in 31 reviews
"baobab tree"
in 11 reviews
"day trip"
in 13 reviews
"tuk tuk"
in 27 reviews
"boat leaves"
in 5 reviews
"dutch fort"
in 13 reviews
"unique experience"
in 5 reviews
"dry season"
in 3 reviews
"mutton"
in 3 reviews
"hour journey"
in 4 reviews
"ferry ride"
in 8 reviews
"coral walls"
in 4 reviews
"sri lanka"
in 16 reviews
"light house"
in 2 reviews
"smaller boat"
in 2 reviews
"amazing journey"
in 2 reviews
"delicious curries"
in 2 reviews
Filter

95 - 99 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2015 via mobile

There are 6 visiting places.
Boat costs 60 rupees per person and its have free boat services by srilankan navy at daily11.30 am......

Date of experience: December 2015
3  Thank Gobal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2015

We went to do an assessment work (oral health) for the children in the convent school there.From Jaffna we took a bus through beautiful waterways and small villages to the end. From there we took a ferry which is run by Sri Lankan Navy and we had to register as foreigners. Ferry ride was free and it lasted about 45 minutes. It was the first ferry in the morning. We took a tuktuk to go to the school and spent the entire morning there working. If you have time, go to the convent and ask Sister Lumina to walk you through the church, chapel and the convent. A wonderfully peaceful pace and she is a remarkable person. After work we had lunch in the only place serving food in the island. It is right in front of the ferry terminal. Usual rice and curry stuff. Tasty but spicy. The entire island is actually an ancient coral reef. People dig out corals and make walls. It is fascinating. The old tree that the Dutch planted is a huge one by now. The ruin of the old Dutch/Portuguese fort, pigeon homes, and a few other assortment of places are fine to watch and so is the beach. Wild horses as well. It is a real piece of Sri Lanka not to be missed. We came back to Jaffna by taking a smaller boat at around 2 PM and then by catching a bus. A great day trip I will recommend highly.

Date of experience: October 2015
4  Thank Purobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015

We visited Delft Island on March 2015 and it was a really interesting journey.
We went there in a long weekend, so the boats to Delft Island were crowded. The boat ride to Delft Island will be somewhat exhausting. The boat ride takes about 1 hour and 15 min but it might change according to the condition of the sea and crowd on board. Normally a boat maintained by the RDA leaves from the Jaffna Jetty to Delft at 8.30 AM and the same boat leaves from Delft at 2.30 PM back to Jaffna. Actually this boat is for the people who live in Delft, but they allow visitors to travel in this boat depending on the space available. Priority is given to the villagers in Delft as this boat is their primary way of day to day travel from/to Delft. Most of the time there will be some private boat service available to travel to Delft. If you have a large crowd you even can rent an entire boat which can accommodate about 60-70 people and as we heard renting the entire boat will cost around Rs 18000/= for the entire round trip.

There are several interesting places you can visit in Delft. To go for visiting the sites you have to hire a small lorry or a jeep. But sometimes when it’s crowded you will not be able to get a lorry since all of them are occupied. In that case you can take a three wheeler which costs about Rs 1500/= for the entire site visit tour which will take about 3 hours. We took 3 of the three wheelers since we had 9 people in our group.
Some places and things you can see during your trip in Delft are the Growing Rock, Delft Market, Pigeon holes (built by the Dutch to keep the Messenger Pigeons), Tree with the huge trunk, Old Dutch fort, Adam’s foot, Delft beach and plenty of horses.

It was really hot and dusty in Delft. Make sure you take enough water as there aren’t many places where you can buy water. There is a hotel near the entrance to the island which you can buy some food items and lunch as well if required. But sometimes the hotel is out of food items in crowded days so you might need to wait until they prepare food. Soft drinks and bottled water is available in this hotel. If you are traveling in a long weekend or in a crowded day it’s good to take your supplies from Jaffna instead of planning to buy them from Delft. Also there are some places where rooms available for stay.

it was a tired day, but it was an unforgettable experience...!!!

Date of experience: March 2015
6  Thank Chanaka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2015

Recommended itinerary order: pigeon holes – court house – beach – Dutch fort – Chola ruins – giant footprint – stables – wild ponies - baobab tree – growing stone - large banyan tree – Queen’s tower. Try and take the 8am ferry from KKD jetty instead of the 9:30am and return on the 3:30pm ferry. This will give you ample relaxed time to go see all the sights. Tour cost is Rs1,500 by tuk-tuk. Ferry is free and takes an hour. Avoid weekends. Overnight stay is possible in non-A/C room near harbour. Not a great place for swimming.

Date of experience: October 2015
3  Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Neduntheevu (Delft Island) also viewed

Jaffna, Northern Province
Jaffna, Northern Province
 
Jaffna, Northern Province
Jaffna, Northern Province
 

Been to Neduntheevu (Delft Island)? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing