We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Neduntheevu (Delft Island)
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Neduntheevu (Delft Island)
from US$ 1,517.95
More Info
from US$ 133.00
More Info
from US$ 249.00
More Info
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
78
64
28
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
78
64
28
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wild horses baobab tree day trip tuk tuk ferry ride bus station coral reef sri lanka dutch buildings pm boat private boat free of charge rupees per person pigeon jetty navy stable
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2015 via mobile

There are 6 visiting places.
Boat costs 60 rupees per person and its have free boat services by srilankan navy at daily11.30 am......

Date of experience: December 2015
3  Thank Gobal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2015

We went to do an assessment work (oral health) for the children in the convent school there.From Jaffna we took a bus through beautiful waterways and small villages to the end. From there we took a ferry which is run by Sri Lankan Navy and we had to register as foreigners. Ferry ride was free and it lasted about 45 minutes. It was the first ferry in the morning. We took a tuktuk to go to the school and spent the entire morning there working. If you have time, go to the convent and ask Sister Lumina to walk you through the church, chapel and the convent. A wonderfully peaceful pace and she is a remarkable person. After work we had lunch in the only place serving food in the island. It is right in front of the ferry terminal. Usual rice and curry stuff. Tasty but spicy. The entire island is actually an ancient coral reef. People dig out corals and make walls. It is fascinating. The old tree that the Dutch planted is a huge one by now. The ruin of the old Dutch/Portuguese fort, pigeon homes, and a few other assortment of places are fine to watch and so is the beach. Wild horses as well. It is a real piece of Sri Lanka not to be missed. We came back to Jaffna by taking a smaller boat at around 2 PM and then by catching a bus. A great day trip I will recommend highly.

Date of experience: October 2015
4  Thank Purobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015

We visited Delft Island on March 2015 and it was a really interesting journey.
We went there in a long weekend, so the boats to Delft Island were crowded. The boat ride to Delft Island will be somewhat exhausting. The boat ride takes about 1 hour and 15 min but it might change according to the condition of the sea and crowd on board. Normally a boat maintained by the RDA leaves from the Jaffna Jetty to Delft at 8.30 AM and the same boat leaves from Delft at 2.30 PM back to Jaffna. Actually this boat is for the people who live in Delft, but they allow visitors to travel in this boat depending on the space available. Priority is given to the villagers in Delft as this boat is their primary way of day to day travel from/to Delft. Most of the time there will be some private boat service available to travel to Delft. If you have a large crowd you even can rent an entire boat which can accommodate about 60-70 people and as we heard renting the entire boat will cost around Rs 18000/= for the entire round trip.

There are several interesting places you can visit in Delft. To go for visiting the sites you have to hire a small lorry or a jeep. But sometimes when it’s crowded you will not be able to get a lorry since all of them are occupied. In that case you can take a three wheeler which costs about Rs 1500/= for the entire site visit tour which will take about 3 hours. We took 3 of the three wheelers since we had 9 people in our group.
Some places and things you can see during your trip in Delft are the Growing Rock, Delft Market, Pigeon holes (built by the Dutch to keep the Messenger Pigeons), Tree with the huge trunk, Old Dutch fort, Adam’s foot, Delft beach and plenty of horses.

It was really hot and dusty in Delft. Make sure you take enough water as there aren’t many places where you can buy water. There is a hotel near the entrance to the island which you can buy some food items and lunch as well if required. But sometimes the hotel is out of food items in crowded days so you might need to wait until they prepare food. Soft drinks and bottled water is available in this hotel. If you are traveling in a long weekend or in a crowded day it’s good to take your supplies from Jaffna instead of planning to buy them from Delft. Also there are some places where rooms available for stay.

it was a tired day, but it was an unforgettable experience...!!!

Date of experience: March 2015
6  Thank Chanaka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2015

Recommended itinerary order: pigeon holes – court house – beach – Dutch fort – Chola ruins – giant footprint – stables – wild ponies - baobab tree – growing stone - large banyan tree – Queen’s tower. Try and take the 8am ferry from KKD jetty instead of the 9:30am and return on the 3:30pm ferry. This will give you ample relaxed time to go see all the sights. Tour cost is Rs1,500 by tuk-tuk. Ferry is free and takes an hour. Avoid weekends. Overnight stay is possible in non-A/C room near harbour. Not a great place for swimming.

Date of experience: October 2015
3  Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2015 via mobile

We combined this with a day trip to Jaffna. We stayed at treatoo beach resort so was a little closer to the ferry crossing than actual Jaffna. It took about 45 minutes to get to the ferry by mini bus, and then we got the 8am navy ferry to the island. There were plenty of seats but no views, but this was free! I believe there was another one at 9am which I think wouldn't have been free, but not sure...

The island itself is beautiful. There are tuk tuks and jeeps waiting for you at the ferry - a jeep was 3000/- and could carry at least 10 people. They take you round all the sights, including the growing rock, the bobai tree which is stunning! The fort, which has a nice coral beach near by, and then the giant foot print, another fort and then we had a couple of hours to relax at the beach, and swim in the sea.
We got the boat back at half 2, and we got there at 2 so had a comfy seat, but this boat cost 60/- as the free navy one was at 4:30, but it was beautiful and sat outside. You can also see parts of nainituvu island if you have some binoculars, but if you have time, you get off the boat around 20 to 4, so could go to that island after. However, we then left for Jaffna and went round the public library, the fort and the Hindu temple and left for Trimcomalee after.

The island is well worth the visit as is very different from southern Sri Lanka, and so peaceful and beautiful.

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank emmat238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews