We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
24
109
69
18
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
109
69
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overnight stay hotel garden pleasant stay perfect base beds were comfortable stayed here for two nights sri lanka tour breakfast and dinner enjoyed our stay long journey dambulla area national park rice wifi buffet spread squirrels
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2018

The toilet was detached from the floor and the door handle broke. You also could not run the ceiling fan and the aircon at the same time. We ordered room service from the restaurant - Fish and Chips and Nasi Goreng. The fish was over-cooked, thinly sliced tuna coated in spice, with boiled vegetables and rice. The staff confirmed that was Fish and Chips in Sri Lanka. The fried rice was like no Nasi Goreng I have ever had (all over Asia), dry, bland with very little protein of any kind. We were told the next morning that we were served the wrong fish dish - and even though we didn't eat it, we had to pay for it.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Quiettrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_OakRayHotels, Front Office Manager at Pelwehera Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

We always welcome constructive and criticism that will no doubt help us to improve our standers. We Have taken immediate action to eradicate all what you have mentioned and no doubt things will be in good shape in your next visits to Pelwehera Resort.We apologize you for the inconvenience caused. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

We were robbered in the hotel during sleeping, all money and a few other things. Also other four rooms were robbered in the same night. They took wallets outside room and took all money from them. They got to rooms through doors. It looks like employees helped to robbe tourists. All rooms robbered were sitting the evening before in the hotel bar...

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank jand4356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_OakRayHotels, Front Office Manager at Pelwehera Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Dear Sir,

We deeply regret about the unfortunate incident which occurred on the 24th morning (at 3.30am

And the management immediately called for an executive meeting and have taken some vital decisions to avoid such incidents in the future by way of beefing up the security personal from 02 no’s to 04 for the night shift patrolling in all 03 wings in every 05 mints and sophisticated CC TV cameras has been ordered to be installed in all the vital areas in the hotel premises including cameras focused in all 03 wings from both sides and to erect a 08 feet tall iron bar fence supported by barbed wire to avoid outsiders entering the hotel premises. And a emergency alarm to go off on such situations in future.
This nature of burglaries had taken place in so many hotels already in the same area and last week the police department caught the culprits. According to the investigation, the police got to know that none of our hotel staff was involved in this incident and they all are from down south of Srilanka . Who have been caught are now in jail pending a court case.
And now we are negotiating with our insurance company as to how we can compensate the losses of the guests and that will be done as early as possible.

And I humbly like to stress the point even though the hotel management informed the guides and the T/Leaders at the time of arrival to inform the guests to use the safety lockers nobody had done so
Had that been used today we would not have to face this situation a facility given by the management free of charge to place their valuables for their own safety.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

We booked this hotel as we had no other option. Just like other Oak-Ray hotels we have visited, this also gave us the same experience. Check-in and check-out was very lethargic and unprofessional. They seem to be giving preference to foreigners which was very rude. Suggest the top management should see how guests are treated in other hotels and learn hospitality.
Room staff was good and friendly. Hotel garden was well-maintained. Rooms are big. Unfortunately food was not at all worth money. (this is very common in all Oak-ray hotels we have visited.) Wifi was just for namesake. Further, we heard some strange noises in the middle of the night. Better look for an improvement from security side as well. Will not recommend for any one and won't come again.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BuddhiTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_OakRayHotels, Front Office Manager at Pelwehera Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear Sir,

Ayubowan!

Greetings from Oak Ray Hotels!

We sincerely appreciate you taking time to provide your feedback on your stay at our property & we regret that certain aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations.

The observations mentioned by you are noted and corrective action will be taken as we constantly strive to maintain the highest standards and give each of our customers a courteous and efficient service.

We once again apologize for the inconvenience caused to you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

They had a decent pool. The wifi only worked in the lobby. Food was quite delicious except for one meal I had l. Great location and great view from pool because you can see like horses and it is very cute.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank 678ollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_OakRayHotels, Front Office Manager at Pelwehera Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Dear Sir,

Ayubowan!

Greeting from pelwehera village resort!!!!

It was indeed a pleasure to have had you with us.

We take this opportunity to express our sincere appreciation of your loyal patronage, and look forward to welcoming you at from pelwehera village resort during your next visit too.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

I stayed with my partner for one night on the way to trincomalee through out our drive just to relax, finally we just stopped over here for a refreshment but decided to stay for one night since the service we got from the staff. We had a nice room overlooking the paddy field which was more relaxed and comfortable. We had the breakfast at the hotel it was tasty and much more enough for our next drive. I would like to thank all the staff who gave their maximum service to make our stay memorable & comfortable. Could be highly recommended for all nationality.

Room Tip: Get the room on top with the Paddy View
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABNUSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_OakRayHotels, Front Office Manager at Pelwehera Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Sir,

Ayubowan!

Greeting from pelwehera village resort!!!!

We are truly happy that every one of our team assisted you in taking away great memories of your visit and thank you for taking the time to express your comments, which is appreciated very much.
We will continue to strive and improve our product and services in order to ensure an even better experience in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you once again at Pelwehera village resort on your next visit.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews