We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
24
109
68
18
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
109
68
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa ground floor roomovernight stayhotel gardenpleasant stayperfect basebeds were comfortablestayed here for two nightssri lanka tourbreakfast and dinnerenjoyed our staylong journeydambulla areabuffet stylenational parkricecurrywifi
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights whilst we were exploring the sites of Dambulla and Sigiriya. Throughout the first week in Sri Lanka we had an absolutely amazing guide (who showed us all the best places and had lots of contacts for great deals) and it was thanks to him we stayed here.

The location is perfect for easy access to Sigiriya, Dambulla and the local national park and there are wild elephants that sometimes pop out of the jungle - the area just by the hotel is called "Elephant Corridor". We saw two on separate occasions just by the road. When we visited the local national park (again our driver/guide called Janaka arranged this) we saw maybe 80 wild elephants.

The hotel is well appointed, the rooms are generous in size and boast all the mod cons, the food is excellent and the customer service is outstanding - the staff throughout our stay couldn't do enough for us. They really made our stay so special.

After a hard days exploring it was great to return to the hotel and take advantage of their spa treatments - we had massages on both days. The treatments were excellent, very reasonable and the therapists very professional.

For those that need wifi it is available in the main lobby and is strong enough for emails, social media and FaceTiming family.

All in all I would highly recommend this hotel and would certainly return. Thanks again to our guide Janaka for recommending this hotel.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gullivers7ravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_OakRayHotels, Manager at Pelwehera Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Ayubowan!

Greetings from Oak Ray Hotels!

We wish to express our deepest gratitude to you for the kind sentiments expressed by you. We are truly happy that you enjoyed the overall ambience of the hotel, its culinary offerings, other facilities and service proffered.

It gives us great pleasure to note that you had a relaxing break with us.

We look forward to welcoming you once again at Pelwehera Village Resort !

Thank you
Manager_OakRay Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. It is a beautifull place to stay. The room was big, nice beds and everything was clean.
The swimming poole is large, so you can swim easy.
The dinner and the breakfast were good. The only thing is that at dinner the courses very quick were served.
They hav a beautifull garden and the staff is friendly.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Hans d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_OakRayHotels, Manager at Pelwehera Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Ayubowan!

Greetings from Oak Ray Hotels!

We are truly happy that every one of our team assisted you in taking away great memories of your visit and thank you for taking the time to express your comments, which is appreciated very much.
We will continue to strive and improve our product and services in order to ensure an even better experience in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you once again at Pelwehera Village Resort on your next visit.

Thank you,
Manager_OakRay Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Overall, we found the place, the amenities and the people to be fine. The view from the balcony was good (open to a large field, with peacocks/peahens). The spread at breakfast was good.

Large open spaces and places to sit make this ideal for couples and families.

There is provision for free driver stay - so if you are planning to use a taxi, you will save on driver stay costs.

Wifi is an issue (as was with all my stays in Srilanka). Only available in the lobby. Plan to buy an Internet pack.

Recommended.

Room Tip: Top floors.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_OakRayHotels, Front Office Manager at Pelwehera Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear Sir,

Thank you for share your stay experience on our trip advisor page and thank you for your time, I have taken great note of your comments as it always allow to improve our services & looking forward to welcoming you back to Pelwehera village in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

landed late night and after the check in and an average dinner we settled down in our room on second floor. There was a major issue with the air conditioning which could not be fixed and it was stifling hot. Finally got the room changed at midnight and shifted to the ground floor. After a long journey we finally settled down for the night .
After a refreshing sleep we headed for the buffet breakfast which good but the place has too many flies . Overall the place is okay for a stop over ..

Room Tip: check the air conditioning before check in
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KSB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_OakRayHotels, Front Office Manager at Pelwehera Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

Dear Sir

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us.We regret any inconvenience that may have been caused to you during your stay with us.In the meantime I can assure you that we will definitely look into the areas you have mentioned & looking forward to welcoming you back to Pelwehera village in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

Central location for both Dambulla and Sigiriya. However, the title of 'resort' is a little far -fetched; there are no amenities other than the pool. The rooms were average, but the gardens and the layout of the hotel were really impressive. Staff were very friendly, but what really let this place down was the food. We had to return a 'steak' which was completely inedible, and everything else tasted as though it was cooked in a dirty frying pan; really an awful experience. Breakfast was OK. With some changes, this could be a really good hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travelmore112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_OakRaySenani, Front Office Manager at Pelwehera Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us.We regret any inconvenience that may have been caused to you during your stay with us,Any way we will definitely look into the areas you have mentioned

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews