We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
24
109
68
18
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
109
68
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a ground floor room overnight stay hotel garden pleasant stay perfect base beds were comfortable stayed here for two nights sri lanka tour breakfast and dinner enjoyed our stay long journey dambulla area buffet style national park rice curry wifi
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2017

Central location for both Dambulla and Sigiriya. However, the title of 'resort' is a little far -fetched; there are no amenities other than the pool. The rooms were average, but the gardens and the layout of the hotel were really impressive. Staff were very friendly, but what really let this place down was the food. We had to return a 'steak' which was completely inedible, and everything else tasted as though it was cooked in a dirty frying pan; really an awful experience. Breakfast was OK. With some changes, this could be a really good hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travelmore112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_OakRaySenani, Front Office Manager at Pelwehera Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us.We regret any inconvenience that may have been caused to you during your stay with us,Any way we will definitely look into the areas you have mentioned

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

This is a nicely located hotel, just off the highway and spread over a good space. The rooms are appointed reasonably well and the ambience is quite nice. On the downside hospitality is poor. The person at the reception it seemed was totally disinterested and it took us an hour to check in. Unusual considering that we were the only only ones at the desk. The on-site rates quoted by that same guy was 130 usd. We booked through a booking website right there for 44 usd. The whole charade was ridiculous and exasperating. The brief stay was pleasant enough. Decent buffet dinner and clean linen. Recommend for a 50 usd stay.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank perpatetix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_OakRaySenani, Front Office Manager at Pelwehera Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us.We regret any inconvenience that may have been caused to you during your stay with us .The rate issue is because we do not offer travel agent rate to walking customers unless your come through a travel agent, unfortunately the voucher was not received at the hotel ,hence we had to keep you waiting to check in until the voucher is received and we are extremely sorry for the inconvenience caused

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We stayed at this hotel on a 2 day trip to Dambulla and Sigiriya. We were welcomed with a cold drink and towels, which was very nice. We had a ground floor room with a terrace. The room was really good, spotlessly clean and had water and tea making facilities. We had dinner at the hotel which was buffet style. Unfortunately I was unwell so I didn't really eat but it was mainly curry or pasta.The manager was lovely. As I was unable to make the trip to Sigiriya as still unwell he let me stay in our room until my husband returned to collect me. I am really grateful for his kindness and would not hesitate to recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LondonChrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_OakRaySenani, Front Office Manager at Pelwehera Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Dear Madam
, We sincerely appreciate to your wonderful review on Trip Advisor and thank you very much it is a pleasure to note that your concerns of our facilities and services provided at your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another memorable stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Stayed here for two nights on a tour of Sri Lanka. The rooms are nice enough with air conditioning and the like (though strange window into the bathroom). Wi-fi wasn't working but they didn't know why.

We ate there one evening and the buffet (1100Rs) was decent, few different dishes but chicken curry was actually pork!

If you are a Brit looking for a three pin plug, unplug the kettle!!!

Is an ok place to stay.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank WelshPhys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_OakRaySenani, Front Office Manager at Pelwehera Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Pelwehera village resort. We appreciate your valuable comments, In the meantime, I can assure you that we will look into the point you highlighted & looking forward to welcoming you back to Pelwehera village in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

The resort is very well maintained and We liked the ambience. Rooms are spacious and the resort also offers a good buffet spread for breakfast.
The resort management will have to check the room locks as I found them to be very unsafe and loose.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank SRSHOBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_OakRaySenani, Front Office Manager at Pelwehera Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Dear valued Guests, We sincerely appreciate to your wonderful review on Trip Advisor and thank you very much it is a pleasure to note that your concerns of our facilities and services provided at your stay and I can assure you that we will look into the point you highlighted

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews