We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveller rating
214
77
16
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
77
16
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews banana fish a la carte restaurant sri lanka special thanks buggy service main restaurant this beautiful resort dressing room total relaxation resident manager front office manager our honeymoon huge bathroom swimming pool jacuzzi bath restaurant staff kandalama lake
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 325 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2018

We booked a lake view room but it transpires no rooms have lake view as there are so many trees. The hotel is getting rundown eg one third of all light bulbs on lengthy dark walk ways did not work. The safe gave out etc the food was very poor by Sri Lankan standards and the wine by the glass undrinkable .
He hotel is catering now for mass tourism , large coach groups etc and i would not reccomend it to the discerning traveller

Room tip: All about equal. Best away form a restaurant
Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Gillian707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The K, Customer Relations Executive at Amaya Signature, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Ayubowan from Amaya Resorts and Spas!


We are deeply saddened by reading your review. Clearly we have failed to achieve our usual standards when you visited us and for this we are greatly regretful. Please be informed that, the concerned parties will be informed of your valued feedback for rectification. Your feedback is deeply valued by us and will certainly be looked in to as areas where we could better our standards.

Thank you for taking time to post your feedback and we certainly hope to have you at any of the Amaya Hotels again in the near future.

.
Thank you for your valued patronage.
Warmest Regards,

Deepika Dissanayake
Customer Relations Executive
Amaya Resorts and Spas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018

We stayed has a couple in this beautiful hotel for three nights, we wished it was longer, we had a Signature room which was very well appointed, The hotel over looks the lake, has two pools and two restaurants, we had food in the Signature restaurant every night, food and drink quality was to a very high standard some of the best food we had in over three weeks in Sri Lanka, service also very good, once again friendly and helpfull staff.
We had a great three days in this beautiful hotel and we wished we could have stayed much longer.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SomersetTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Relati... E, CRM at Amaya Signature, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Dear Guest,


Ayubowan from Amaya Resorts and Spas!


Thank you for sharing this positive review with us. We are glad that you had an overall positive experience in our hotel and had a great time during your stay with us. Thank you once again for your compliments and we look forward to welcoming you back real soon.

Warmest Regards,

Amaya Rersorts & Spas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

We booked our stay as part of the Amaya Lake Kandalama which is located in the same lake side position as the Amaya Signature. We couldn’t comment on the quality of the rooms, but the food and service at the Signature restaurant was absolutely fantastic. The alfresco style dining opening on to a beautifully twinkling pool, with just the sound of the wildlife made for a truly unforgettable experience. The banana fish is a must try and the puddings real Sri Lankan delicacies.
Enormous thank you to Aruna and his team!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank charlotteemilyj90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Relati... A, Customer Relationship Manager at Amaya Signature, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear charlotteemilyj90,

Ayubowan from Amaya Resorts and Spas!

Thank you for sharing your experience at Signature by Amaya on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your dining experience and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Thank you for your valued patronage.

Warmest Regards,

Sheahana Wickramasinghe
Customer Relationship Manager
Amaya Resorts and Spas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

We were here on 2nd jan and we were here for 2 nights.. and the stay was very comfortable.. room was spatious and nicely done.. service and food was excellent we recommend this hotel to people who love nature and historical places. Those are near by.. loved it for every single inch

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank malcom d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Relati... A, Customer Relationship Manager at Amaya Signature, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear malcom d,

Ayubowan from Amaya Resorts and Spas!

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Signature by Amaya on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed a wonderful stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Amaya Resorts and Spas!

Thank you for your valued patronage!

Warmest Regards,

Sheahana Wickramasinghe
Customer Relationship Manager
Amaya Resorts and Spas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

This is a large hotel catering to tour groups or budget travelers. It had some good pool. Our room was large and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. aside from the lovely large bathroom area and lounge area, was a fabulous, large walk-in luggage area cum wardrobe/dressing room. It is rare to be able to spread out 2 large suitcases these days, but we had plenty of room. The housekeeping was good as was the buggy service.
The A La Carte Restaurant, a complete disaster!! Service was very slow. Cocktails were warm and watery, the barman did not seem to know what he was doing. Our Tom Yung Goong Thai soup was the highlight of our meal, it was excellent. The Sri Lankan Fish Curry was dreadful. I think it had been prepared days ago and reheated - badly, it wasn’t even hot. And the special Fried Rice, well it certainly wasn’t!!
The breakfast choice was ok, food ok. No Espresso, plunger coffee and tea all ok. Not to be recommended if you are looking for luxury.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Christineaf1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Relati... A, Customer Relationship Manager at Amaya Signature, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Christineaf1955,

Ayubowan from Amaya Resorts and Spas!

Thank you for sharing your experience at Signature by Amaya on Tripadvisor. We are glad that some aspects of your stay were to your satisfaction. We deeply regret to learn however that your dining experience did not live up to your expectations and are looking into your comments in great detail in order to address the same.

Thank you for your valued patronage. We do hope that this experience does not impair your trust in us and look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back to Amaya Resorts and Spas for an enhanced experience!

Warmest Regards,

Sheahana Wickramasinghe
Customer Relationship Manager
Amaya Resorts and Spas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews