We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (632)
Filter reviews
632 results
Traveller rating
242
252
89
26
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
252
89
26
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mango trees paddy fields sri lanka rice long pool cricket ground buffet style nice pool two nights first floor lovely setting main building very nice hotel swimming pool welcome drink a lovely stay rooms are large
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 632 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2018

We stayed here for 3 nights during our Sri Lanka tour. The hotel is set in a beautiful, tranquil natural surroundings amidst rice fields. We had one of the new rooms, which was spacious and comfortably furnished with a good sized bathroom.. The service in the restaurant and, particularly, the bar was always good, the staff at the reception desk were rather lacklustre in comparison though and need to welcome visitors more warmly. The food (in buffet form) was plentiful and generally tasty; it would have been nice though to have had a few more Sri Lankan dishes on offer. Unfortunately, our dining experience was marred by the rowdy and, quite frankly, unhygienic behaviour of a busload of Chinese tourists at the buffet. As this seems to be a frequently occuring problem, it might be advisable for the hotel either to abandon the concept of meals in buffet form or have two separate sittings for dinner in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SarahL8694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thilankah, Front Office Manager at Thilanka Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Dear Sarah,
Thank you for choosing your stay with us at Thilanka Resort & Spa - Dambulla, and for taking a moment to review your recent stay. We are glad to hear that you highlighted about the property, and we hope you had a good stay with us.


We are thankful for your feedback. We hope that you will visit us soon again and that we can make it better next time. Have a safe journey back home and all the best. With kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

My bf and I had a lovely stay at Thilanka Resort and Spa. We were at the resort for 4 nights, the staff were more than accommodating, helpful and friendly. The pool is clean with amazing/relaxing surroundings. Food was varied and tasty, 3/4 of the nights the food was good.
We used the tuk tuk driver that has a shop across the road from the resort (sadly can’t remember his name) he was fantastic and took us to all the sites.
Our room was in the newest part of the complex, room was spacious, clean with very good AC.

If you book a massage do it in advance as when we tried to book the lady massager doesn’t massage men.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Louise303030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thilankah, Front Office Manager at Thilanka Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

Dear Louise,
Thank you for choosing your stay with us at Thilanka Resort & Spa - Dambulla, and for taking a moment to review your recent stay. We are glad to hear that you highlighted about the property, and we hope you had a good stay with us.


We are thankful for your feedback. We hope that you will visit us soon again and that we can make it better next time. Have a safe journey back home and all the best. With kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

We stayed here late in July (2017) as a group, on our way East. We had the evening meal, which was excellent and breakfast also, which was very good. The room was huge and well equipped and the pool was just right. Loved the cashew nuts with curry leaves (snack in the bar) - have tried this at home since!

Room Tip: We had several rooms as a group and they were all excellent.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thilankah, Front Office Manager at Thilanka Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

Dear Howard,
Thank you for choosing your stay with us at Thilanka Resort & Spa - Dambulla, and for taking a moment to review your recent stay. We are glad to hear that you highlighted about the property, and we hope you had a good stay with us.


We are thankful for your feedback. We hope that you will visit us soon again and that we can make it better next time. Have a safe journey back home and all the best. With kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

Very peaceful quite environment..Surrounding of the hotel is stunning. Restaurant was good and the traditional rice and curry for epic. The staff were very pleasant and knowledgeable. I will definitely come back to this property.

Room Tip: rooms with balcony
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nirshaanth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thilankah, Front Office Manager at Thilanka Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2018

Dear Nirshaanth,
Thank you for choosing your stay with us at Thilanka Resort & Spa - Dambulla, and for taking a moment to review your recent stay. We are glad to hear that you highlighted about the property, and we hope you had a good stay with us.


We are thankful for your feedback. We hope that you will visit us soon again and that we can make it better next time. Have a safe journey back home and all the best. With kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

Very good hotel close by to the lion rock of Sri Lanka. Good location as well as good price. Staff was very kind enough to arrange us the trip to the safari and the lion rock. Very close to the traditional sight seeings as it’s in the cultural triangle.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Udantha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews