We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
125
35
12
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
35
12
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nature walk paddy fields resident naturalist plunge pool chef dinesh floating room birds including perfect hideout luxury service glass roof regular shower head water monitors home grown sri lanka local villagers small lake vegetable garden
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2018

We stayed as a couple for four days in August.

One of the best experiences we've had in our travels across Sri Lanka. If you're after peace and quiet surrounded by amazing bird life and beautiful scenery then this is it. So unique and a great vision by the owner to make available this vast estate to local villagers for farming activities that surround the chalets.

The space is beautifully designed blending perfectly into the environment and surrounds.

The team is always available to assist and requests are dealt with promptly. Meals are at another level but this is where patience is required. We read some reviews expressing frustration at the slowness of serving meals. However every dish is made fresh from ingredients sourced locally. In fact they have the most amazing vegetable and herb garden. Chef Dinesh is outstanding and takes care with his creations. You are here to relax and take in the surrounds so time stands still and so what...its well worth it.

Breakfasts were perfect with the option of Sri Lankan as well.

Kalundewa is 45 minutes from Sirigiya by tuk tuk and well located for much the cultural heartland offers. Only come here if you want to take it all in and unwind. This is not the place for frantic schedules. Its unpretentious, exclusive, tucked away and very quiet. That is its beauty and attraction. Its called a retreat for a reason.

Highly recommended.

Thanks to all the team for looking after us especially Chef Dinesh and Samantha.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alexanderfz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

The Kalundewa eco resort offers a rare full immersion in what nature can offer at its best. We rented the lower Bailee chalet. The place is very nice. We regret that the Jacuzzi could not be used due to the freezing temperature of the water. The outdoor shower was not very enticing too as it was not very well maintained. The upper balm me chalet had some guest on our last night. It is true that the insonorisation is not very good. Apart from this we really enjoyed the place. The staff is very nice. The food was good but required quite a long wait at dinner.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank Theplacewelive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

I don't think we will ever stay in a place quite like this again! Set in huge grounds, growing a mass of produce and full of wildlife, the 7 or so chalets are spread out through the grounds so you have plenty of privacy. Bikes are provided to allow you to cycle round and explore. It really is beautiful.

We stayed in the water villa which was a unique experience! We had to have a boat take us and collect us every time we wanted to leave. It was cool to be somewhere so private but as a minor note, we did feel it would be better if we could access land ourselves instead of always having to call someone, particularly as sometimes we did have to wait awhile.

The quality of the food was superb. We had a great breakfast with some lovely fresh juice and very tasty egg hoppers! The curries in the evening were really, really good! Much of the fruit and veg is actually grown on site.

Great staff- very friendly and happy to help. They provided us with a great breakfast picnic when we were setting off early to climb the rock.

There is a new pool which looks to be a decent size but we didn't use it as the weather turned. It is quite far (10 min walk) from most of the chalets though.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LauraC012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KManager, Manager at Kalundewa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your recent stay at Kalundewa Retreat. We are truly happy in reading the favourable comments.
It's glad to note that you have enjoyed your accommodation in the Nil Manel, Floating Villa.
It is our duty to make your stay a memorable and an enjoyable one.
The new Natural springwater swimming pool will be fully ready by September and we can always give a buggy service to take you there.

We hope you would come back again and again to Kalundewa.

Thanking you
Heshan Ranaweera
Manager
Kalundewa Retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

As a family of 5 we stayed in the Bakmee chalet (upper and lower). From the moment we were transported from the entrance, via a golf buggy, we sensed that we had arrived somewhere special. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and we were made to feel very welcome.
We ate meals both in our chalet and in the restaurant and the food was superb. The chef discussed with us what we would like for dinner each day ... and ensured that all our needs were catered for. We would recommend the amazing curries and the breakfast hoppers!
Travelling around the site is a joy on the bicycles that are waiting for you at your chalet. If, however, you prefer to take it easy then there is always a friendly member of staff on hand to drive you in a buggy.
Our chalet was simply amazing ... beautifully decorated throughout and very spacious. Pictures cannot fully capture the breathtaking quality of the place.
The main swimming pool was not totally finished when we stayed there but that did not prevent us from having a swim. It is a lovely place to relax and lie in then sun and it will be even more amazing once it is fully completed.
Overall were had a wonderful time at this relaxing tranquil retreat. It is a fantastic base for exploring Dambulla and the surrounding areas and we would definitely recommend it to anyone travelling that way!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KManager, Manager at Kalundewa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2018

Dear valued customer
Thank you very much for selecting Kalundewa Retreat into your travel plan in Dambulla, Sri Lanka. As you have mentioned Kalundewa is a hub to experience all the activities in Dambulla, Sigiriya, Minneriya, Anuradhapura and even East cost.
"Kalundewa team" is very happy in reading the favourable comments specially the chef, kitchen and service staff. Our team always wanted to enable the promises to our customers and they always go the extra mile to make our customers happy.
The Spring water Swimming pool will be fully ready by mid September and it will be a great value addition.

Once again thank you very much for all the recommendations. Please do visit us again

Thanking you
Heshan Ranaweera
Manager
Kalundewa Retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

We travelled as a family of 5 staying in the Bakmee Chalets, perfect for us as we had both the lower and upper. The set up is perfect for families or friends, it's two separate rooms with a large common area, plenty of terraces overlooking the scenic grounds / lake and a private jacuzzi. The kids treated this more like a plunge pool as it was cold, but it was perfect after a hot days sightseeing.

The place is remote, very quiet and discreet. Don't expect any entertainment, the pleasure here is nature, the amazing service and the food. We had some of the best food here during our entire 2+ week stay in Sri Lanka. Both the curry and the BBQ were mouth wateringly good, wish we could return for the food alone! The grounds are delightful! We saw several varieties of birds along with many peacocks and a water monitor. We used the bikes to tour the estate looking at the rice paddies, sweet potato fields, vegetable gardens and lakes. We had an impromptu nature walk with the estate manager (unfortunately the naturist was ill that day) and a boat ride on one of the lakes where they indulged our children and let them do the paddling!

We used Kalundewa as our base to visit Dambulla Cave Temples, Sigiriya, Polonnaruwa and Minneriya. It was perfect to come back to this peaceful retreat after a hot day of what can be crowded, chaotic sightseeing.

The only complaint we had, and it's minor, is we really struggled with the lighting and blinds. We had so many light switches and yet still couldn't get all the lights in the living area off at night. And the blinds, although when working properly did a great job of keeping the light out in the morning, were very tricky to operate.

All in all, a lovely 4 night stay and we'd recommend this to anyone in the area. It's a fabulous, small, boutique hotel that is doing an amazing job trying to be sustainable and working with the local village.

Room Tip: Bakmee chalets (upper and lower) for a family or group of friends.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trislo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KManager, Manager at Kalundewa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Valued Customer
Thank you very much for staying at Kalundewa Retreat and sharing your holiday experience.
We are very happy to here the excellent comments made about food, accommodation, Nature walks and excursions. Our entire team has been motivated by the positive comments.

As you have mention our main theme is to provide a personalized service while operate in a sustainable framework with corporate social responsibilities

We will look into the points that you have mentioned about the light switches and curtain blinds.
Thank you again for the lovely review

We look forward to welcoming you once again
Thanking you
Heshan Ranaweera
Manager-Kalundewa Retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews