We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
85
56
10
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
56
10
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews busy sightseeing first floor cooking lesson sri lanka small hotel base to explore monkeys playing in the trees rooms are big tuk tuk cultural triangle surrounded by nature dambulla area swimming pool nice pool spent nights short stay wonderful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2015 via mobile

My family and I had a trip to Dambula and were accommodated in Arika Boutique Villas, where we found ourselves in the midst of nature and incredible calm and relaxation. Hearing the sound of the river and beautiful birds just assured us to wind down and reflect on ourselves admiring nature's gift. The hotel staff and its administrator were all hospitable that they took care us as we were in our own home. Food was so delicious that the chef prepared it to our choice and liking. From that location, its easy to drive to great tourist attractions, Sigiriya (the rock) for those who like to climb, the different old and historical temples, the beautiful lakes (amaya, kandalama.). All in all, We had a great stay and will surely come back when we return to Sri Lanka.

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Azeb Asrat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zinc Hotels and... S, Director of Sales at Arika Boutique Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2015

Dear Madam / Sir,

Thanks you for your review on Arika Villa, Dambulla.

We are honored to know that our services and facilities has exceeded your expectations and our upgraded product is superior. We believe that reviews of this nature are not only for our benefit but also for any traveler who are in search for a better resort/hotel in Dambulla, Sri Lanka.

We look forward to welcome you once again to explore us more !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2015

What a beautiful place to stay. Surrounded by lush vegetation and with a river on both sides of the hotel this is an ideal place to stay when you visit Sigiriya, Polonnaruwa and the Temple Caves. We stayed two nights, the service was great as was the food! The Sri Lankan breakfast was to die for! The hotel has 9 rooms and is built around a central pool. The rooms were big and super comfy. The whole place is just lovely!

Room tip: The room downstairs had an amazing open shower
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank anjaliosetsinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zinc Hotels and... S, Director of Sales at Arika Boutique Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2015

Dear Madam / Sir,

Thanks you for your review on Arika Villa, Dambulla.

We are honored to know that our services and facilities has exceeded your expectations and our upgraded product is superior. We believe that reviews of this nature are not only for our benefit but also for any traveler who are in search for a better resort/hotel in Dambulla, Sri Lanka.

We look forward to welcome you once again to explore us more !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2015 via mobile

This was a last minute booking for us while in the area. We liked it so much we stayed an extra night.

The hotel is just a short 10-15 minute tuk tuk ride from the Dambulla cave temple and around 30 minutes to the Sigiriya Rock.

The place is excellent. It is set off the main road and is a peaceful and quiet oasis surrounded by jungle.

The food is excellent. We were on a half board stay and they ask you to select a couple of options from a set menu late afternoon. You choose what time you want to eat and everything is ready for you. It is clearly cooked fresh and tasted great. Breakfast is also lovely.

In the grounds there is a medium size pool - but perfectly adequate for a swim in the afternoon heat.

The rooms are enormous and clean. The bed is one of the most comfortable I have slept in in a long time.

The staff and management are incredibly helpful and polite. Nothing is too much trouble and they were able to arrange rides to all of the places we wanted to see and give advice.

If it were not for the fact that we have a booking that can't be cancelled for the next couple of nights, we would happily have stayed longer.

This place really is a little gem. We have been lucky enough to stay in some of the best hotels around the world. This hotel fits very nicely into its category and prospective visitors should ignore some of the ludicrously picky negative reviews. If you do stay here I hope you will enjoy it as much as we did.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank iainseville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zinc Hotels and... S, Director of Sales at Arika Boutique Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2015

Dear Madam / Sir,

Thanks you for your review on Arika Villa, Dambulla.

We are honored to know that our services and facilities has exceeded your expectations and our upgraded product is superior. We believe that reviews of this nature are not only for our benefit but also for any traveler who are in search for a better resort/hotel in Dambulla, Sri Lanka.

We look forward to welcome you once again to explore us more !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015 via mobile

This hotel is in a brilliant location. If you want to get away from the usual touristy kind of places, this is where you should be.

It is Bang in the middle of the forest. Nature all around you. It is a beautiful place. Every room have an amazing view, mine was overlooking the stream, enchanting is the word that best describes it.

Note of caution. Lots of bugs and mosquito. Don't you dare forget the bug spray.

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank ZepoDiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zinc Hotels and... S, Director of Sales at Arika Boutique Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2015

Dear Madam/Sir,

Thanks you for your review on Arika Villa, Dambulla.

We are honored to know that our services and facilities has exceeded your expectations and our upgraded product is superior. We believe that reviews of this nature are not only for our benefit but also for any traveler who are in search for a better resort/hotel in Dambulla, Sri Lanka.

We also would like to assure you that some of the detailed notes on your review has been brought in to the attention of the Chairman and the Management Team and to assure you of possible actions where ever possible.

We look forward to welcome you once again to explore us more !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2015

We went to Arika with some reservations having read some of the reviews, but we found them all to be unfounded. We had rooms 103 and 104 which were right next to the pool. The rooms are fantastic, the nicest we stayed in in Sri Lanka and we don't share the concerns some had with the shower being open to the elements, it was actually nice to have it open, but then it didn't rain when we were there. The front door to our room opened straight out onto the pool and the back door onto a private terrace overlooking the river We found the food to be good if not the best we experienced on our holiday. We were on half board but because there were not many guests we had a la cart the first night. In general I don't believe the food in many of the hotels in this area is as good as in other parts of Sri Lanka.

We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, and whilst the pool was a bit cloudy on our first day it was clear for the rest of our stay, although it is a bit close to the hotel and restaurant. I do wonder why whoever deigned the hotel left so much lawn and gardens to the front of the hotel that are never used and essentially squeeze the pool in between the hotel and the river making access to the terrace and sun loungers more difficult than it could otherwise have been. If you go with small children ask for a room upstairs.

Room tip: 103 and104 are great if you don't have very young kids. Both open on to the pool and look out over the river at the back.
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zinc Hotels and... S, Director of Sales at Arika Boutique Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2015

Thanks you for your review on Arika Villa, Dambulla.

We are honored to know that our services and facilities has exceeded your expectations and our upgraded product is superior. We believe that reviews of this nature are not only for our benefit but also for any traveler who are in search for a better resort/hotel in Dambulla, Sri Lanka.

We also would like to assure you that some of the detailed notes on your review has been brought in to the attention of the Chairman and the Management Team and to assure you of possible actions where ever possible.

We look forward to welcome you once again to explore us more !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews