We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey, but worth every penny!”

Sun Rise Ballooning
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Premier hot air balloon operator in Sri Lanka with experience dating back to 2003 when commercial ballooning started. We are The Ballooning Family of Sri Lanka with UK certified commercial Pilots. Our Chief Pilot Justin Moore has over 5070 commercial hours. Our pilots are hand picked for the absolute safety of our passengers. All Pilots are legally validated to fly by SL Civil Aviation Authority. All ground handling crew are fluent in English to serve our passengers and give them a unique and memorable flight. Our rates are US$ 210/- per adult and US$ 160/- per child as we do not compromise safety and our standards are high delivering what we promise. Community Responsibility is one of which we do in the area we fly "sharing and caring for the next generation" is one we believe in. Sun Rise Ballooning is also known as SRI Lanka Ballooning.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

At first glance, this excursion will seem pricey compared to others in the area, but is fully worth the time and cost! Our pilot, Pasindu, and his staff were very professional and competent. You have an early start (~5:00 AM) from your hotel, but this is to enable you to see a spectacular sunrise as the balloon sails over paddy fields, lakes, and mountains. We saw several peacocks and other birds and hear the crows of roosters dawn progressed. After landing, we were served with champagne and juice to celebrate our trip and given certificates.

Thank Dileau P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mareena P, Owner at Sun Rise Ballooning, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you very much for choosing our service, we are in deed happy to have flown you. Your review is much appreciated and hope you enjoyed touring our homeland.

Best wishes.

Pasindu, Justin & Mareena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"glass of champagne"
in 6 reviews
"a hot air balloon ride"
in 3 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 6 reviews
"paddy fields"
in 4 reviews
"wedding anniversary"
in 2 reviews
"balloon flight"
in 3 reviews
"toast"
in 3 reviews
"experienced pilot"
in 3 reviews
"great hands"
in 2 reviews
"professional team"
in 2 reviews
"felt completely safe"
in 2 reviews
"whole process"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful country"
in 3 reviews
"these guys"
in 3 reviews
"sri lanka"
in 16 reviews
"mareena"
in 13 reviews
"landing"
in 21 reviews
Filter

15 - 19 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

Our group joined Justin and his team on 18 Feb for our ride. We were really impressed by the professionalism and friendliness of the team. The flight itself was so memorable - from the fabulous views from the air, to the excitement of people on the ground waving hello. Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend. Thanks again!

Thank Emma-C-L-2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mareena P, Owner at Sun Rise Ballooning, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you Emma for flying with us. It was lovely to have you do a balloon flight with the Sri Lankan Balloon Family ! Hope you enjoyed your stay in our country Sri Lanka.

Best regards.

Justin & Mareena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

I don’t have words to explain how amazing it was to be in the basket up in the air, see the morning broke, follow the sunrise and admire the surroundings. Can warmly recommend Sun rise ballooning, if you have any doubts or fear, just drop it behind and go ahead, do a reservation, you will not regret.

1  Thank Ann-Catrine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mareena P, Owner at Sun Rise Ballooning, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Hi Ann-Catrine,

Thank you very much for flying with us, it was in deed a pleasure for us. Your review is highly appreciated and happy you choose to visit our homeland Sri Lanka !

Best regards.

Justin & Mareena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

From the initial communications with Mareena to the pickup, flight, following toast and final dropoff everything was perfect. Absolutely recommended

Thank LJT88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mareena P, Owner at Sun Rise Ballooning, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Thank you very much for your sentiments and we are happy that you did fly with us "The Sri Lankan Balloon Family".

Best regards.

Justin & Mareena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2018

This was my first hot air balloon experience but I am determined it won’t be my last. I absolutely loved it. I felt totally safe at all times. Justin is obviously an experienced and professional guy who loves doing what he does.

Thank vicky42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mareena P, Owner at Sun Rise Ballooning, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Hi Vicky,

Great that we are etched in your mind for your first balloon flight. Care and safety is vital for us the Sri Lankan Balloon Family, Hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in our tropical island.

Best regards.

Justin & Mareena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sun Rise Ballooning also viewed

Dambulla, Central Province
Dambulla, Central Province
 
Sigiriya, Central Province
 

Been to Sun Rise Ballooning? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing