We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (696)
Filter reviews
696 results
Traveller rating
222
259
146
40
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
259
146
40
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front office swimming pool restaurant staff buffet breakfast cultural sites welcome drink triple room decent place to stay a la carte menu sri lanka rooms were very clean lovely hotel satellite tv set menu comfortable stay tasty food excellent stay
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 696 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

One morning I was making coffee in my room and accidently dropped and broke the coffee mug and had to get someone to come to my room to sweep up the pieces.
I was shocked when I was checking out that I was being asked to pay for the broken mug. And pay a hefty price, at that, for a mug that was clearly bought in bulk, at what I suspect would be a reduced cost. I was told that if I didn't pay, it would come out of the pockets of the staff. The front desk called the assistant manage to discuss this with me and he laboriously went over their accounting practices and procedures, explaining In detail the process to balance hotel supplies and costs at the end of the month.
I told the assistant manager that I thought this was very poor customer relations, but in the end, of course I paid.
A very small negative experience in the scheme of things, but one that shocked me. Other than this, the staff was excellent and the hotel was nice.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Maureen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakshitha S, Public Relations Manager at Rajarata Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Rajarata Hotel and indeed it was a pleasure to have served you.

We are thankful for your appreciation of our staff and the hotel which is always motivating for us.

With regard to the experience that you had with the broken mug , please allow me to elaborate on the situation;

a.. As the usual policy practiced in all hotels around the world , we too have a property damage policy as well.
b.. As per our understanding the damaged amount that you were charged was very nominal ( as low as 3.25 USD )
c..The charge was applied purely for the basis of recovering the damaged cost in order for the replacement and not in any intention of making a profit.

However , we are sorry that you were in a uncomfortable situation during your check-out and we sincerely apologies for the same.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Excellent Friendly service as always by the staff and yummy food. Beautiful pool and garden. Quite location though easy access to Buddhist temples and the lake. Nothing like staying few hours at Ruwanweliseya in the afternoon calm you down stress in big cities.

Room Tip: Easy access to Buddhist temples - wonders of Sri Lankan ancient period.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Vkottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakshitha S, Public Relations Manager at Rajarata Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable comments which we value with much interest.

We are glad that you had wonderful stay with us.

We look forward to have you stay with us once again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

The hotel is decent but is not value for money. We had a fine experience in terms of the accommodation - the room was fine and the bathroom was clean, which was our primary expectation. Rest was just okay - the hotel seems to be very old, and needs maintenance. However, considering that Anuradhapura is a small town, this hotel was a good recommendation from trip advisor travellers.

Hygiene: The rooms were well maintained. The hotel was not.
Staff: Clueless and disinterested
Accessibility: There’s not lift for the rooms on the first floor and beyond
Approach road: Good approach road to the hotel and easy to find on Google maps
Food: Worst - we preferred to stay hungry than eat at the hotel. Waste of money.
Overall experience: Just okay. Would recommend only if you are planning to stay only a night or two.

Context: We travelled for 8 days across Sril Lanka in a rented Toyota van. The driver gave us an excellent service from the time he picked up at airport till the time he dropped us at the airport. He became our friend and guide - introduced us to the local cuisine, culture, history, and folk tales. If anyone is looking for a driver for a tour in Sri Lanka, my recommendation is contact Sanjeewa at 0094-77-756-6400 or Ashoka at 0094-77-604-4409.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Vantika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakshitha S, Public Relations Manager at Rajarata Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for staying at Rajarata Hotel and it was indeed a pleasure to have served with you.

We take note of your comments with much concern and interest.

Rest assured that the management will investigate and apply corrective measure where applicable.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We stayed two nights at Rajarata. We found the staff pleasant enough; in particular the restaurant staff were very professional and efficient. The room needs improvement though. We found the bedsheet had an obvious stain on it and requested it to be changed which they obliged straightaway. Upon entering the bathroom there was a stench which was quite unpleasant. We informed them and they attended to it but the smell was still present afterwards. No quilt was given, only a flatsheet, so either you turn off the A/C and the room gets very stuffy but then you cannot open the windows because of mozzies, or feel a little too cold to sleep because the A/C could not be turned down enough to a comfortable room temperature. The bed was terrible, it made creaking sounds constantly and the mattress was very old and offered no support; it flopped here and there wherever weight was put on it.
Food was good, we were quite happy with the dinner a la carte selection and the breakfast buffet. The Sri Lankan food was particularly good too.
Overall, we thought the hotel was overpriced, cleanliness needs improvement but food was satisfactory.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank apfc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakshitha S, Public Relations Manager at Rajarata Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Rajarata Hotel.

We take note of your comments with much interest and concern.

We are sorry that you faced some inconveniences during your stay and rest assured that your next stay with us will be hassle free and much more comfortable.

Where applicable , we will be addressing the issues which you have mentioned in your post and we thank you for highlighting the same.

We look forward to have you stay with us once again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

A very pleasant surprise, giving the selection of hotels that you can find in Amuradhapura. A very good compromise between quality and price.
Food is excellent, the dinner buffet costs only about 1700 LKR, but the selection is wide and is really worth the price.
I strongly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
3  Thank Bui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakshitha S, Public Relations Manager at Rajarata Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valued comments which are most important to us for the betterment of our services.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Rajarata Hotel

We look forward to have you stay with us once again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews