We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
46
22
16
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
46
22
16
7
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2019

There were many good things about Solaris but it really wasn't the four start resort that it claimed to be.

Our primary purpose of being in this part of Serbia was to visit friends and relations but we wanted to spend one night and one morning in Vrnacka Banja. We asked for bed and breakfast but were told that a full board package was cheaper so went for that. We arrived at 8pm but the restaurant closes at 8pm, so we have no comments on the dinner there! As we had already eaten it did not matter for us but visitors should be aware. The spa facilities including the swimming pools close at 9pm. We have been to other spas in Serbia where a late evening swim has been a particular pleasure.

We were expecting a normal hotel room but in fact had a very spacious apartment comprising a large bedroom, a sitting room with a balcony, a kitchen and a bathroom. It would have been possible to stay comfortably for a long holiday on a self-catering basis. The hotel had been refurbished recently and the place was clean and bright. The furniture was new as were the tiles on the floor. The apartment was clean and well appointed with plenty of wardrobe space and cupboards. There were a small number of drawbacks however. The carpets were old, dirty and poorly fitted. One of the cushion covers had a burn mark. It could easily have been changed. The bathroom was of a good size but the bathmat was threadbare and the shower did not drain properly. In the sitting room there was a file of information about the hotel but only in Serbian. On the positive side there was a full size fridge in the kitchen, plenty of storage space and a good table which would seat four people round it. Generally the apartment was comfortable and we would have been happy to spend time there.

Breakfast was served from 7.30 to 10. We got there at at about 9.30 and it looked as if the fried eggs had been out since the restaurant opened. Many of the cold offereings, however, were very good (including the kajmak - a local speciality). At about 9.50 the staff started turning equipment off and removing the labels stating what the various dishes were. It seems that "breakfast until 10" means "you must be finished by 10".

There are three pools within the hotel area, one indoors the other two outside. Because of the poor weather at the beginning of June we were able only to use the indoor one. Although it was advertised as being salt water it was in fact the usual chlorine-treated swimming pool water. It was small: with six people it felt crowded. The other facilities we used were a Turkish steam room, a Finnish sauna and a Russian sauna. We very much enjoyed all of these. The changing rooms were clean and well-equipped and the system for using the pool and saunas was good.

The gardens around the hotel were very pleasant and well tended. Visitors should be aware that the Solaris is tucked away in a residential area and so the outdoor pools and areas for relaxing around them are overlooked by blocks of flats. The centre of Vrnjacka Banja is a ten minute walk away. It looks like a pleasant place to visit with plenty of cafes and restaurants but we only saw it in the dark.

The car parking area was covered which would give useful shelter from the rain or the sun.

In conclusion there were some very good things about this hotel and spa but the drawbacks meant that it did not deserve a four star rating. Many things could easily be improved. And it was expensive by Serbian standards and so not good value for money.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jpcheshire1615
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
marketingsolaris, Guest Relations Manager at Solaris Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2019

Dear,
Thank You very much for staying in our hotel. We have read everything you said and regarding food that you for telling us that, so we can know and try to fix the timing of serving food.
Regarding everything else, we truly try our best so that is why we have here and on our web site true photos of the resort.
Everything you said we will forward to the owner.

Hope we will see you soon next time you visit Serbia.

Warm regards,
Solaris team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2019

Solaris is very good equipped with extremely polite staff. They thought on every detail so your stay could be the best possible. Parking is large enough despite that almost all rooms were occupied during our stay there. Also the most parking spaces are covered. The food is correct and you have varied menu. SPA is comfort and in our opinion you have for everyone something (Finish, Russian sauna, Cold sauna, Hamam, several different showers, Salt room, massage ,...)

One special touch was that I had a birthday during our stay, and my wife and I were pleasantly surprised when we came back to room after our walking on the near mountain Goč, and saw a birthday cake on the table with a note! Bravo Solaris!

Room tip: Building no.13 :) but really nice one
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lex7305
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
marketingsolaris, Guest Relations Manager at Solaris Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2019

Dear Lex, we are so happy you left our resort happy and satisfied. We truly hope we will see you again soon.

Warm regards, Solaris Resort team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2019 via mobile

4 star hotell with food that is worst then hostel food without stars. The food was so poor that it is difficult to understand how they make it taste so bad. Potatoes did not taste potatoes, fish did not taste fish. Soups tasted water with salt.no salat, no green. The Greek salad was full of 70% onions and some tomatoes with a little feta and olive decoration. I stayed there 10 days and it was the same food each day. They would help and I was told I could order something else, but it didn't taste either. Swimming pool I didn't visit because it was full of kids all day. At 6pm it was open for adults, but dinner was served at 6pm. But boys/menn who worked there was extremely professional. They was not pretending. They was professional. If one day I open a restaurant again they will be the first one i ask to work for me. The apartments were fine but didn't realize what is the point with the kitchen and the oven as there was no equipment to heat the soup once. The bar was for smokers only. One could smoke ham in it without any problems so much smoke it was. Everything was nice and clean. For most tourists in the world, good food is most important. In Solaris they will not get it.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank mrgud78
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
marketingsolaris, Guest Relations Manager at Solaris Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2019

Dear, we are truly sorry to hear you were not happy with our food. We are giving extra care to make sure the restaurant and kitchen are serving everything great. We wish we knew that you are not happy. Please, next time you can always ask for the manager to make sure we find a great solution.
Regarding our employees, yes they are amazing. And we are making sure they stay with us for a long time.
Public relationship, as well as everything else, is very important for us.
We wish you visit us again so we can show you true us.
Solaris wishes you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

Very nice hotel, with very friendly stuff. Food is excellent!!! Rooms are comfortable and clean. Wellness centre provides you with awesome baths, saunas and massages. I liked being there and I'm coming back again.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank PirateLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
marketingsolaris, Guest Relations Manager at Solaris Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2019

Dear, we are so happy to hear you very happy with our service. We truly hope you will visit us soon again.
Your Solaris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

One of the nicest places we've spent our time at, as a family. Now, needless to say that the resort has been build few years ago and at some tiny places it does show. But those are only for nitpicky, you won't be able to notice it unless you're really looking for it.

The complex is at the perfect place - it's not far away from the city centre, nor is it located in the centre. It's a mere 10 minutes walk from the city centre, nearly 1km from it. It's nothing to be affraid, and considering that the hotel offers free usage of it's bikes when you're there - it's even easier to go to the city. It is located in a suburban area, which we didn't mind as there weren't too many people outside too. There's noone which will look at your room, so no worries.

Hoetl is a combination of about 9 low size buildings, nicely put together in a parking / greenish / walking area. Parkings are mostly covered so no need to worry in case of sudden hale storm. There are three pools, one a regular one with a pool bar, the other (which we preferred) is bio designed (as they call it) - which was PERFECT for us and children, had enough sunshades and was really cozy. The third one is an indoor with a salt water, a bit small but good non the less. That one can get crowded if there are say more than 8 children in it...

We stayed at the apartment, which has a big full size bed for a couple and a living room with small kitchen and a table, suitable for smaller children. Bathroom was good, but just there you can see a few sign of the times and how the room worns out. But the rooms were really good. IT also has a terrace, which overlooks either one or the other side of the resort.

Wellness & Spa was also nice, not all services are included in the time you stay there, but we did get a 10% discount for those services that one needs to pay. I can recommend salt room, it was a great refreshment for me. I also believe that sauna is included in the price.

Restaurant was a small low-down. We were on a half-board, which is the only service resort offers beside B&B, so there's no all-inclusive. Restaurant wasn't too crowded, which we really liked. Breakfast was a bit repetitive, but with enough food that's... well... repeating :) What we didn't like was the juice which tasted mostly like coloured water with sugar. But other than that breakfast was ok. Dinner wasn't repetitive, but one can't assume why the resort wouldn't offer the same drink at the dinner, as on breakfast. Only water was avaialable. And at some points you needed to wait for to obtain a clean glass. Food for dinner was ok, not too repetitive. But can't say that I expected a bit more, nothing else. We weren't hungry for sure! :)

Staff are probably the best thing here too. Nice to have a chat with, they want to help and most of all - they're always smiling and they really seem to know their job and enjoy it.

We were also offered a discount the next time we book there, which I think we will do next year.

Would really recommend. There aren't too many places with such a great things to offer, nice location, and not too costly.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews