We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 star hotel, once upon a time perhaps...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hunguest Hotel Sun Resort
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Herceg-Novi
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“4 star hotel, once upon a time perhaps...”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Overall it was a good stay for the money we paid. Good location, right on the promenade, we had views of both the mountain and the sea from our room. The location is great if you want to be close to the sea and the Sports Centre. Otherwise, there are lots more centrally located, imagine this one is on the far side of the bay. The rooms were fairly clean (there was a long time's dust piled up on the basket with the soaps) and more contemporary than the external appearance of the hotel. Humidity has done lots of damage not just to this hotel but to all the hotels on the promenade. Made me feel like I'm in the 60s...Perhaps during high season they shape up the place, who knows. The staff were helpful, we were even allowed to use the reception's computer to check into our flights, being that the computers for the public did not work... We had breakfast and dinner included in our room rate. Both buffet and many options were offered.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackadder1002002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    54
    50
    19
    11
See reviews for
54
56
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We just came back after a week at this hotel, charter trip arranged by Solresor.
In general more a 3-star than 4-star hotel.
Lots of stairs, but that's pointed out in advance by Solresor.
Very beautiful setting, but our balcony view was completely obscured by all the shrub.
The cleaning maids don't seem to inform the management of obvious problems - in our case one of the bedroom curtains had come loose and couldn't be closed properly.
Main objection is the breakfast - food OK as long as it lasted but it wasn't replenished when there was still close to an hour left of the breakfastt time and there was mostly a very long line for coffee, they should have at least one more coffee machine.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roland L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The hotel is very well positioned overlooking the bay with sunshine all through the day. Lovely pool and plenty of sunbeds though rather threadbare cushions. Our villa room overlooked the pool area and bay with a pleasant balcony but the air conditioning was not working and this applied to many of the rooms. The carpet was very worn and shower doors were difficult to close. There was a good selection of food available on a buffet basis but the dining room was quite chaotic. Too many people chasing too few tables and no one seemed to be in charge. It was sometimes necessary to clear the tables yourself. The hotel is not very suitable for some people as there are lots of steps. Nonetheless we enjoyed the holiday.

Room Tip: Villas overlooking the pool are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sudburybob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Herceg-Novi hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockholm
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This hotel was supposed to be 4 star but if you ask me I dont think it even deserves 2 stars.
Herceg Novi is a small but charming city but this hotel was taken straight from the communist era.
We booked through a swedish travel agency and they had really beautiful pictures of the place, and it said 4 stars.
Here's what we experienced of the hotel:
- there are stairs EVERYWHERE, about 100 stairs from the room down to the pool, poorly lit stairs that will make u break a toe or two (I did).
This place is NOT built for anyone under the age of 10 and over 50. The staircases are slippery and badly lit.
- The pool is nice and cool but u have to get there by the crack of dawn because at 6 am all the chairs are taken and sometimes people reserve chairs with their towels and stuff and dont even visit the pool once that day!
- The wellnes centre is a JOKE, the russian woman working there is agressive and rude.
- The rooms are filthy and the carpets are stained, the airconditions are full of black dust and work very poorly. The beadspread were staines, the sheets were changed ONCE during our weekly stay.
- When we took a shower it was like a flood had struck our room and the water wouldnt go down.
- The towels were changed everyday but they were old and stained
- The TV is small and the volume is locked so low that you could barely hear anything.
- Awfully dry and ugly tennis court... like something taken from world war 2.
- We had BATS on our balcony
- The breakfast room is small and croded with sweaty cheese slices and bees all over the food.
- Be aware of eating at the hotel and having them putting the bill to your room since we had several couples doing that and the things added to their bill was NOT what they ordered..

The hotel had one good thing though, free parking!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ariooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelsunresort, Director of Sales at Hunguest Hotel Sun Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Very sorry for the inconvenience. Our Hotel Management and staff are doing their best in improving services to the satisfaction of our dear guests.
Thank-you for your comment - it helps us realize the situation - maybe lacking from time to time.
Best regards,
Sales Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The room is not cleaned daily, the maids does not change the sheets . I bought the cable for internet and I don't have internet unless I complained for 2 days. Maids do not check your shower gel. Maids do not put enough towels in the bathroom, not wash and clean ashtray glasses.From the reception we didn't received an iron, by request.
Receptionist did not speak English well and did not understand what I mean. Food is plentiful and good, but the waiters are nervous all the time and cross plates and cutlery.Parking is not guaranteed. Nor is it cheaper on how bad are the services.
The town is beautiful but I do not recommend this resort

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herceg-Novi
2.3 km away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#1 of 18 in Herceg-Novi
224 reviews
5.1 km away
Hotel Xanadu
Hotel Xanadu
#4 of 18 in Herceg-Novi
63 reviews
0.4 km away
Apart Hotel Kukoljac
Apart Hotel Kukoljac
#5 of 18 in Herceg-Novi
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
Casa del Mare
Casa del Mare
#3 of 18 in Herceg-Novi
109 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Novi
Hotel Novi
#14 of 18 in Herceg-Novi
28 reviews
11.4 km away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#1 of 2 in Bijela
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunguest Hotel Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunguest Hotel Sun Resort

Property: Hunguest Hotel Sun Resort
Address: Ul. Sveta Bubala bb, Herceg-Novi, Herceg-Novi Municipality 85340, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Herceg-Novi Municipality > Herceg-Novi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Herceg-Novi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Herceg-Novi
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,128 - ₹ 20,318
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunguest Hotel Sun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hunguest Hotel Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunguest Hotel Sun Herceg-Novi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing