We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (984)
Filter reviews
984 results
Traveller rating
279
328
195
102
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
279
328
195
102
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviews avala resort outdoor pool private beach old town sea view aperitif bar large hotel walk in wardrobe prime location breakfast and dinner fantastic location half board week stay superior room a stones throw bars and restaurants walled town
Filter
Updating list...
270 - 275 of 984 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2016

We stayed here in May 2016 and enjoyed our holiday but it was not without its problems. The first problem we encountered, as independent travellers was an attempt by a taxi driver to rip us off on the trip from the airport. We took a metered taxi only to be told on arrival at the hotel that the fare was 85 euro! Having visited Montenegro before I disputed this as I knew a fair price would be around 15- 20 euros and after a protracted argument when i offerred 20 euros the atmosphere became threatening so I suggested I would ask to hotel to call the police to settle the matter at which time he said he would accept 20 euros but continued to be unpleasant. However this was not the fault of the hotel.

As we had had an early flight from the UK we arrived at the hotel at around 11.00 am and were informed that we could not get into our rooms until after 2.00 pm but we could leave our luggage and go into the coffee lounge. The only problem with that was there was a conference in the hotel which was using this lounge so we had to wander round looking for somewhere to sit having been up since 3.00 am to catch the early flight.

We were given a good room and enjoyed our first evening but the next day after our morning shower the bathroom flooded with water. I reported this to reception who said someone would be up the sort out the problem. As the state of the bathroom indicated this was a long term problem I requested a change of room only to be told that there were none available until the next day. I insisted and was eventually offerred a room in the Villas. This was a pokey apartment over 2 floors with the bedroom downstairs which felt like going down into a dark cellar so we rejected that room. We were then told the conference was leaving the next day so to go back after 2.00 o'clock to see if anything was available. We did eventually get a decent room but as there were few guests in the hotel at this time of the season I could see no reason why a decent room could not have been offerred at first instead of leaving us unsettled for 2 days out of a 7 day stay. The female staff were very pleasant but ineffectual but the male member of staff with whom we dealt was determined not to accept that there was a problem with the room and not to offer an alternative until he had made us jump through a few hoops, like having to keep going back to reception to enquire rather then just allocating a room or contacting us. It wasted the first few days and left us with a poor feeling to the hotel especially as we had paid for a 'superior' room.

We were staying B&B and found the breakfast adequate on a par with many overseas hotels, but definitely not 5 star.

The corridors were dark but you soon got used to it and was not a problem but the badly stained carpets on the corridors really let the hotel down and created the wrong atmosphere.

The coffee bar lounge was excellent when we could eventually get in it after the conference had finished and the position of the hotel was superb overlooking the old town and a short distance from the sea front promenade.

The beach was hit and miss as a lot of early season work was being done so we were never sure when cafes would be open and sun beds available. Leave any visit until June at least.

Overall, would we visit Montenegro again? Yes, but later in the year. Would we visit this hotel again? On the strength of our experience, no, as there were too many issues and niggles to enjoy the hotel and its surroundings and that is why i would class our stay no more than 'average'.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mickhewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvalaResort, Front Office Manager at Avala Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2016

Dear Mickhewitt,

Thank you for review!

We are sorry that your holiday started with such a bad transfer experience. Incidents like this one sometimes happen but we all , as a hoteliers and as a part of the community , fight for elimination It s causes. We usually operate and recommend to our guest only verified companies with clearly visible price lists and standardized level of service.
At the other side , we are sorry that you visited us during the peak of congress season. In this time the hotel is fully occupied by different groups and mice happenings and that could be a part of explanation for omission of the reception to react for resolving of your complaint as fast and efficient as is prescribed by our standards.
Once more, we are very sorry if we did not full fill all your expectations but we are learning on mistakes and trying to become better in common level of service for your next stay.
With the best regards
Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Encouraging reviews when we booked this hotel but several poor ones when we about to departed. Yes the place was gloomy, grey slate, black marble, dark wood and dim concealed lighting. The vehicle entrance (through which most people arrive) is totally un-inspiring while the pedestrian entrance (towards the Old Town) is very grand. The brightest thing in reception are the staff, friendly, welcoming and helpful as were all the staff we met in the hotel. A problem with our safe was reported and fixed in 10 minutes, good service! The rooms are of average size with plenty of stowage space, however 'hanging space' was poor. Wardrobe too narrow for a long rail and the 15cm rail has been put in the middle of a lengthy space, two rails would fit there increasing hanging space by 100%. Good size bathroom, with bath and a separate 'walk-in' shower. WI FI and TV Reception was fine. The extensive information book in the room is slightly out of date and contains an off-putting page of hotel's 'Does and Don'ts'. The furniture, in the room is large and 'chunky' and probably makes the room a bit crowded. Breakfast was fine, a selection of hot and a good selection of cold food. Two outdoor pools and a large indoor pool, with the lower pool only having shade for half the sunbeds. The hotel's, shingle and pebble, beach has ample sun shades and is reached by a small lift, accessed on the walkway to the Bruno Restaurant. The hotel supplies pool/beach towels. The hotel has more good points (location, one beach, right next to the Old Town) than bad. We have stayed in better and a lot worse and did enjoy our stay there. Personally I think the hotel suffers a bit from poor hotel design and architecture left over the Soviet period of influence.

Room tip: Go for a sea view room.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvalaResort, Front Office Manager at Avala Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2016

Dear Antony,

Thank you for review!
We appreciate all advices that you gave to us and we will try to figure out the best option and, of course, to make implementation in the case of need.
By our side we are trying our best to fill out any possible minus we can not change ( architectural solutions, city centre traffic crowd etc.) with the best we have - our staff and the high service level.
We are very glad that you noted it.
Hoping to see you soon again
Hotel management



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016

I love this hotel! Unfortunately I was only there for one night but I could easily have stayed muh longer since the location is great - just by the beach outside the old town! It is also walking distance to the "modern" part of the city with shopping and restaurants, as well as other beaches. The hotel offers indoor and outdoor swimming pool, spa center and really modern, fresh and nice rooms! Also free wifi, parking and breakfast is included. I'm also really satisfied with the service from the staff in the hotel. I was in contact with Danijela in the front desk via e-mail before our stay and she helped me fix balloons, cake and fruit plate for my sister's birthday when we arrived! We both enjoyed our stay in your hotel and would love to come back!

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank olssonmalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvalaResort, Front Office Manager at Avala Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Dear Olssonmalin,
Thank you for warm recommendation of Avala!
We hope you will come again and spend more time with us.
Holliday at Avala is perfect solution for approaching warm summer days at Mediterranean coast.
With the best regards
Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

This hotel is very nice situated on the beach and next to the old city of Budva. The room are amazing, I had the chance to be upgraded on the 7th floor which are not room but apartment with huge terrasse living room dining room and very spacious bedrooms. The view is fantastic. This hotel is completely fitting for business or private trip purpose. Buffet for breakfast and lunch are proposing you a great various choice and healthy food. On top you have a fitness room full equipped with modern equipment.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Renaud14691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvalaResort, Front Office Manager at Avala Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Dear Renaud,
Thank you for affirmative comment!
Avala is kind of unique hotel in many ways: It is congress, business and city hotel and also it is a beach resort located at one of the most popular beaches of the Montenegrian coast next to the Old town fortress.
Mix of all of these advantages makes the stay with us full feeling.
In our manner is upgrade of our guests whenever it is possible and doing our best for guests satisfaction.
We are glad for your nice time with us and we hope to see and host you soon again
Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016

Friendly, helpful staff. Good choice from buffet breakfast and dinner. Wonderful views from restaurant, cafe bar and rooms overlooking sea and old city. Rooms clean and well-equipped. Lovely spa facilities and outside pool.
However, the room allocated to us although a good size and an amazing view over the harbour when you were standing up, paid extra for side sea view,had a stone wall surrounding the balcony which was in a very poor state of repair, paint peeling and yellowing etc. Certainly not up to 4* standard.The furniture was so low on the ground that all you could look at was this stone wall. There had been no thought to match the type of furniture to the rest of the facilities. We drew this to the manager's attention, who immediately offered to change our room which we accepted and were very happy with but had the feeling that in busier times, this would not have been the case.
I would not recommend this hotel for anyone with a mobility disability. There are steps up or down to all the facilities with no hand rails and only one ramp throughout the hotel. Approx. 17 steps down to the restaurant and 17 steps up to the hotel entrance. I would strongly advise the management to look at installing a disabled lift down to the restaurant as we watched many elderly visitors struggling their way up and down. The only other way in is to go outside the restaurant down and up more steps which
tend to be slippery when it is wet. Impossible to get a wheelchair around the facilities.
Having said all that, the location is perfect being right on the sea front with a long promenade past the harbour and opposite the gate of the old city.

Room tip: top floor facing the sea would have best views but most expensive
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yp_zadeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvalaResort, Front Office Manager at Avala Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2016

Dear Zadeh,

Thank you for the review and for the advices for further improvements!
All of these advices help us to keep permanent growth and to achieve full equality between your expectations and our offer.
Finally, we are glad that you had pleasant time with us and we truly hope to host you again.

With the best regards
Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews