We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
1
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
5
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 7 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2017

We slept 1 night here. Nothing fancy, but had a bed and a shower with hot water and a private bathroom while the price was really cheap
The first question I asked before we booked the hotel was, `if we could leave our backpacks here, while we go spend 3 days in Buscalan, Kalinga`, and they acepted without any hassles.
The staff where really helpful

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed here one night going to Sagada. For only P700 for a room with private bathroom (with working shower and heater but manual flush), fan, TV, table and chairs, it's neat, clean, and very quiet for a night's rest. They have coffee machine in the morning and hot water for free. They also serve meals, but we didn't try them. It's situated not on the main road (where all sorts of stores and restos are loacted and that's why it's quiet) but it's not far. Plus points for the Sagada-Bontoc jeep parks right in front of Walter Clapp.

My only suggestion--and I don't take this a negative because the hotel staff are very helpful-- is to have a bell to ring on the front desk so it's easy to call attention. Other than that, I believe we choose the best hotel to stay in Bontoc.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank scheksi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile



We stayed as a couple at the Walter clapp hotel for one night while making our way to the Kalinga province village of Buscalan. We paid 500 php for a private fan room with a shared bathroom. The rooms are very basic but do the job if you are only staying the night. If you are squeamish about an extremely basic bathroom (bucket shower, no toilet seats, manual flushing) then I would suggest you upgrade to a luxury room that has an en suite bathroom because you will NOT enjoy using the shared bathroom.

The best part about this hotel are the staff, who physically walked us to the jeepney station bound for tabuk the following morning and agreed to watch our big backpacks while we did an overnight trek in the Kalinga province for no extra charge.

Bontoc is really only an area where you would connect via jeepney to Banaue or visit the very informative museum before starting a trek in the mountain provinces. If you must stay over night, Walter Clapp is a strong budget option

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed just one night on the way through to the kalinga province. The staff here were extremely friendly. Got food for us, showed us where to get the jeepny and even help our luggage for us so we didn't have to trek with our big luggage. For 250 pesos a head you can't argue with that. The room is very basic but has a fan and is spacious. The toilets also very basic (bucket showers) but I'm not convinced anywhere in bontoc would be any better. If you have to stay over here then this is a safe and convenient place to do so.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Wanderlustlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Walter Clapp Centrum hotel is located close to stop of jeepneys plying to Sagada. The local restaurant and internet-cafe are the next door. Walking distance to market, local stores, bus stop ( to Tabuk via Tinglayan along Kalinga Highway ). Quite big clean room, old furniture but comfortable bed and pillows, nice blanket. There's no air con but it was the fan enough, TV, the table with 2 chairs. This hotel isn`t on the main road therefore quiet in rooms. Very hospitable staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Trahtur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews