We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Below expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El MaPi by Inkaterra
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Below expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012 via mobile

Having read reviews of this hotel we were expecting much better. While the foyer, bar and restaurant are attractively designed and the staff are very friendly, our room was very marginal. Accepting the hotel is 'ecological', the room was spartan with few inclusions with old and chipped bedside tables. What caused us the most grief however was our room (306) was directly next to the pathway for the workers doing construction alterations. They constantly walked back and forth peering inside and talking loudly forcing us to close our curtains. This occurred during the afternoon when we were there and began again at 6.45am the next morning. No sleeping in for us! Add to this, the incredibly loud banging of room doors and dragging of baggage as early risers left for sunrise at Machu Picchu. The acoustics in the hallways is terrible. Despite this it didn't spoil our stay in Aguas Calientes and our amazement of Machu Picchu.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Schwampdonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    777
    771
    247
    74
    32
See reviews for
350
841
136
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

I was a little nervous about this place as i had read reviews that seemed to describe this place as kind of run down. well, someone was mistaken cuz this hotel was freakin amazing. The grounds are expansive and beautiful, the rooms are huge including the bathroom. Beds were queen size, the bathroom had a towel warmer and they had umbrellas on hand at reception for when it rains.
Some people might like the smell of a wood burning fire, it wasnt my favorite, but for some reason the whole place smelled like it, which i think can also be comforting.
Be sure to head to the bar after check in for your complimentary Pisco Sour (signature drink in Peru-reminded me of a margarita)
The restaurant was soooo good and fancy. We had some time to kill before our train ride back to Ollantaytambo and we were able to relax near the bar and it was quiet and calm.
Drinks are a bit expensive, but they would be at any higher end hotel.
The hotel offers small nature hikes on the grounds as well, but we were so pooped from machu picchu we didnt do it. Aguas Calientes is small so even if you wander around a bit you'll still find the hotel.
Our dinner and breakfast were included with our stay, but that may be a deal with the travel company we used.
Great place to relax after hiking MP all day!

Room Tip: Our room was towards the back of the grounds, might be good to have someone show you where it is as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

We spent one night here after a trek to Macchu Pichu & I have to say the overall service was excellent! We arrived and were greeted by friendly staff at reception, and we were upgraded to a more than comfy room. We ate in the restaurant, the food tasty and again service was excellent. To top off our night, we were kept enthralled as we were served amazing cocktails by the boys, Danny & Igor - who clearly have a passion for great drinks and fantastic service. Even if you're staying elsewhere, stop by for a drink!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Euzkadi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, Ca
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

This hotel looks rather non descript from the street but inside it is very modern and clean. It has a great bar and restaurant, with a nice big lobby and free internet area. The room was comfortable with 2 twin beds and a sitting room. Not sure why we got a room with twin beds but they were pushed together so my wife and I still got to cuddle, (awwww)

The hotel picked up our luggage at the train station and delivered it there on the day we left. On the train you can only bring a small gym bag, but even carrying that around town would have been a pain. When we got to the train station at 10 Am we gave our luggage to the hotel (or it may have been the tour organizer Viajes Pacifico) and went to MP. From where the bus from MP drops you off, it is a quick 5 minute walk to El Mapi.

I've seen a lot of put downs about Aguas Caliente on this site, I'm not sure why. To me the vibe of the town was no different than Gatlinberg, Jackson Hole or West Yellowstone. Just a tourist town with lots of young people at the hostels, bucket listers at the hotels, lots of restaurants to choose from. I would reccomend everyone stay overnight as hedge against bad weather if you only go to MP once. We went from 10 Am to 3 PM on arrival day and from 6AM to 10 Am on the second day. We got lots of great photos in different light conditons etc. Had it rained or been foggy on day one we would have been doubly glad we had the chance to go up the second day.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trainman95630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
238 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

This modernized hotel, well located near the bus and train stations (both of which are needed to visit Machu Picchu), has many fine features. Its bar and restaurant are attractive, stylish and good quality. Its outdoor hot tub looked inviting, attractively landscaped with tropical plants all around. Our room was fine (though the ongoing construction of a new annex just outside made us close the curtains during day time. We suggested to the hotel they invest in sheer curtains.)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WarsawWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.3 km away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.4 km away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
0.1 km away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.4 km away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
0.2 km away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picch...
#7 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El MaPi by Inkaterra? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El MaPi by Inkaterra

Property: El MaPi by Inkaterra
Address: Av. Pachacutec 109 | Aguas Calientes, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#4 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,088 - ₹ 14,221
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El MaPi by Inkaterra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the bustling village of Machu Picchu Pueblo (Aguas Calientes), it satisfies the needs of many travelers in search of an easy going stay, a relaxed atmosphere, in a modern place, with a good and warm attention, comfortable facilities and healthy food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your El MaPi by Inkaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing