We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a one night stay before Machu Picchu.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa de Luz / La Pequena Casita Hotel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a one night stay before Machu Picchu.”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Cute little hotel a 5 minute walk from the train station and just next to the bus station that takes you to Machu Picchu. The rooms are basic but clean, staff was helpful, breakfast simple but good. The river is loud outside but I imagine that would be true of most hotels in the area since you can still hear the river up on the mountain! I'm sure that the bus station below would be loud too if you wanted to sleep in, but since we only stayed the night before Machu Picchu, we were up before the busses started running.
Staff kept our bags safe while at MP and rented us a room for little cost to shower in before our train back to Cusco.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaci82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    98
    68
    17
    9
See reviews for
44
113
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
D.C. area
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

The location is great; right by the buses to Machu Piccu. The town however is so small that being that close too the buses really doesn't mean much; it might save you a 5 minute walk in the morning. The staff didn't speak English very well, I had emailed them to have someone meet me at the train station. They emailed they would, but no one did. They did have a computer for guests, though when I wanted to use it, one of the staff members was. It was a slow connection. I heard plenty of outside noise in the room. It was very overpriced. They only take cash, and she was very, very picky about the dollars. I know that’s somewhat expected in Peru, but she was completely unreasonable in what she would and would not accept. If you stay here (and don't, btw), make sure your bills are pristine. I'm pretty sure they don't take credit cards. Also, ever since I emailed them, I have been getting lots of Spanish language spam. Not recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artemis021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aguas Calientes hotels

California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This is a small, family-run hotel. It is squeaky clean. The folks running it are reasonably friendly, though we had trouble getting enough toilet paper, and had to ask several times. The breakfast was good, but a little limited. The location is very convenient--- then again, Aguas Calientes is so small it's hard for anything to be inconvenient. Speaking of Aguas Calientes, it's not the greatest town, as it is very touristy. Expect to see mostly other tourists, and the prices are double everywhere else in Peru. But it's the only option for getting up to Machu Picchu. If you're going to stay in Aguas Calientes, this hotel is a perfectly decent place to stay overnight, and we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flipper314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Huge triple room. 4 mins walk through craft market from train station - we took train from Cuzco.

Very close to ticket office and bus to Machu Picchu right outside.

Cafe, restaurants,bars,shops, market all at the doorstep. Bathing spa a walk away - uphill.
Good breakfast, good value packed lunch. Plenty hot water and friendly, helpful staff. Loved it.

Room Tip: Ours overlooked the market and a river. Lovely view but tended to be a little noisy at times. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marycush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galena, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Our stay here was very nice. We had a standard room with a bathroom. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and a perfect place to crash after hiking the Inca trail. The water in the shower was nice and hot and there was a small breakfast included. The location was great for getting around Aguas Calientes.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deadguppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.2 km away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
972 reviews
0.2 km away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.2 km away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
605 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
996 reviews
0.2 km away
Terrazas del Inca Bed and Breakfast
Terrazas del Inca Bed and Breakf...
#2 of 39 in Aguas Calientes
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Luz / La Pequena Casita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Luz / La Pequena Casita Hotel

Property: Casa de Luz / La Pequena Casita Hotel
Address: Av. Hermanos Ayar Mz-13, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Aguas Calientes
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,194 - ₹ 5,743
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Luz / La Pequena Casita Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Casa de Luz / La Pequena Casita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing