We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveller rating
322
11
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
322
11
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshowler monkeyssan ramon waterfallgreat hostshorseback ridingwaterfall hikeoff the beaten trackdelicious foodboard gamesmagical placebeautiful surroundingskayaking tripmangowe loved our staystayed longerbeautiful islandlaid backother travelers
Filter
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 340 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Loved this place, tucked away in the middle of nowhere, surrounded by lush forest and howler monkeys. We stayed 3 nights and didn't want to leave. The hosts, Angela & Ryan made us feel really welcome and were really friendly. When we visited they had friends over from the states who were lovely also which I think added to the experience. There is plenty to see and do if you are feeling energetic or if you just want to relax at the lodge or terrace thats good too. Angela and her staff cook with most wonderful food, western, local food, smoothies to die for and much more. The cabanas are perfect and the scenery stunning. If you really want a unique experience this is the place to stay. Angela and Ryan are the perfect hosts.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yuking1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

I can't say enough amazing things about Finca Mystica!

First, Ryan and Angela love this place, the people, and their community. They are very involved with the local community, engaged in service projects and helping the people around them, who really are friends.

Their property is beautiful, with views of the volcano in one direction, and views of the lake in the other. Beautiful landscapng throughout, with little paths and sitting areas.

The cabins are cozy, and their construction is a great story in itself. Ryan and Angela's commitment to sustainability is evident in all they do. Forget the self-styled "eco-lodges," and stay here in a place where the people really care about finding ways to live simply.

The main building, with its huge covered porch, is the perfect spot to hang out in a hammock with a cold drink, enjoy the company of other adventurous travelers, and relax in a hammock.
The food they cook for meals is the best in the country. No kidding! Fresh matters. The smoothies are amazing!

They helped us arrange activities, which included a horseback ride to San Ramon waterfalls.

It is very remote, which we loved. I was a little concerned that we wouldn't be close enough to other things to do on the island. But the island isn't that big. And frankly, once we got there, I didn't want to leave Finca Mystica anyway. You won't either. We only stayed two nights; that wasn't nearly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bracksrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This place has a great vibe going. The food was always great (and very reasonably priced) and fresh! They even do a pizza in their "earth oven" that was absolutely dee-lish. A great place to relax in a hammock and read a book from their library -- which has a great selection of books by the way. Lots of trees (with monkeys in them at times!), flowers, fresh fruits growing on the property. The eco-friendly cabanas are very clean and have a great design to them. Ryan and Angie were always incredibly sweet and hospitable (as were their 2 dogs Sunny and Luna!). They have built such an incredible place here and we will definitely be back the next time we are in Ometepe :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank playas_and_pitayas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Amazing for relaxation, chill music, and great food. I stopped in for lunch after kayaking and before the waterfall. The meals were extremely good, but nothing compares to the fresh cocoa brownies! I can't wait to return in the future!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Koru88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We loved our stay at Finca Mystica! It is a beautiful spot tucked in the Volcan Maderas, just outside of Merida. The most difficult part of our stay was getting there!!! Even with a 4WD, we questioned whether or not some of the roads there were passable (they were - we never got stuck). We loved listening to the howler monkeys, hanging out in the main veranda/dining room (they have a nice selection of books, games, baseball gloves, etc to keep teenagers busy, not to mention, wi-fi), and exploring the island with Finca Mystica as our main base. They were able to set up a great guide for the hike to the top of Maderas. We would definitely return to Finca Mystica!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews